Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

SAMSARA

by Huskitch - Jam Entry

In Samsara you are a crystal shaping monk tasked with defending your Home from the Elder Engine. Shape your defense crystal to deflect the Engine's attacks until the Final Battle is over.

WASD + arrow keys for shield combos
SQUARE: hold color key + down > down
DIAMOND: hold color key + up > up
TRIANGLE: hold color key + left > right > up
CIRCLE: hold color key + right > down > left
HEXAGON: hold color key + left > right > left > right
STAR: hold color key + up > down > left > right

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#182Audio(Jam)3.59
#247Innovation(Jam)3.46
#392Graphics(Jam)3.60
#560Overall(Jam)3.23
#590Mood(Jam)3.04
#722Theme(Jam)3.09
#723Humor(Jam)2.03
#876Fun(Jam)2.68

Comments

zookatron says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:18am

Pretty cool concept, and amazing art and music.

From a gameplay perspective, it definitely needs a bit more fleshing out though. The controls seemed buggy (I think the circle combo is backwards, says left down right in game but is actually right down left?) and sometimes the correct shield failed to block a shape. Also the game appears to have no ending?

With a tutorial and some gameplay polish this could easily be an awesome game. Keep it up.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:54pm

I really enjoyed it! I think it it a very interesting concept. My only complaint would be that it is very difficult to get used to the controls, and the learning curve is quite difficult right from the start! Some progression would make the game a lot more enjoyable.

Besides this, I really like the idea and would love to see this developed further.

Sloof says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:03pm

Visuals, sounds, and music are all fantastic. With a little work, I could see this being a lot of fun. However, in it's current state the gameplay seems more monotonous than anything else.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:03pm

Nice visuals and soundtrack! The gameplay is a bit confusing but the mechanics have potential. Good job guys!

Fierceshadow says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:07pm

i think i broke it, or i just suck, ill let you decide

TEAM-TIGER says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:10pm

Hard as hard can be this one. Art and music really hold up nice! good job

JET says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:14pm

Interesting concept! I think the combos for the shape just needs to be more intuitive.

Fabraz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:14pm

Love the music, and an interesting take on the "shape" shifting.

The controls are tough to get used to and seemingly has no ending. Which means it would need a more in-depth scoring at least right?

Awesome job!

nlbi21 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:17pm

I love the visuals, music and sounds, the gameplay is somewhat confusing in my opinion but this highly successful practice can be achieved. Very good game.

BSODDevTeam says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:18pm

Nice game. Cool concept I like it!

ZeroFaction says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:22pm

The gameplay was very unique. Adapting a shield to stop the incoming shape was really cool.

I didn't see a way to lose the game. It seems like it would just stop sending shapes after a little time passed. Also, the rate at which the shapes came seemed to speed up a little too quickly for me.

At times the correct shield would fail to block a shape. Sometimes shapes would go right through an already active shield of the correct type too.

Crisp controls and great visuals. Overall very well done.

teamross says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:23pm

Awesome graphics and music, but a few things that bothered me a bit:

The X at the right side of every shape made me think I had to press X key to make it work. That was a bit misleading.

The game's too hard for me to enjoy it, trying to combine colors and a key pattern in a flash was too much for me.

Great job!

Atridas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:25pm

It is too hard!!!

I was very frustrated trying to play this. Even though the visuals are great and music/fx is not begind.

VividReality says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:25pm

Wow that was hard haha. Art and music are awesome. I could only destroy the squares though, and I'm pretty certain I used the right combinations for the other shapes. Also, the music is a bit buggy. When I press [enter] the game starts with loud music, but if I press [enter] again the music restarts with low volume.

TeamSoulmyst says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:27pm

This is beautiful and I wish it were easier to pick up. As it is, I quickly find myself overwhelmed as the shapes pick up speed and complexity faster than I can adapt to. Not that it seems to matter if I miss any shapes, anyway. It's a cool idea and the music is excellent, but the gameplay needs some enhancement and tweaking.

SemiColon says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:33am

A very difficult game! The shield does not always work, and when shapes move past the shield you are already too late.
It would be nice if the controls were easier to memorise - the basic 4 shapes could just be the directional keys, and complex shapes could be 2 keys (left-right and up-down for example). This way the game can be challenging through gameplay, rather than challenging because of the controls.

Spotline says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:38am

Very nice idea and realization ! I had multiple issues on the input side though, as if sometimes my shields didn't work ..

Studiosaurus says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:47am

Nice idea but it keeps breaking after a short while. I am able to get the first 10 shapes or so and then it just stops working. Also the music doesn't loop. I'd be happy to come back and re-rate when you've fixed the bug :)

EdoCreate says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:48am

Greate art and sound/music. Excelent job! Good luck!

APantaloni says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:18pm

Graphics and music are really well done! Picking the right shape is hard until you start to memorize the sequences I guess. It crashed for me after a while. Enjoyable and interesting nonetheless :)

muraisama says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:47pm

Cool Idea, unfortunately the game crashed after some time for me.
But I liked the Concept and had fun after I figured how to play :).

Freank says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:07am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

CMLSC says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:51pm

Very similar to a lot of other ideas, and the game gets quickly overwhelming. .-.

blob says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:10pm

Took me a while to understand that I could change color, should have more feedback in the game about that. Cool concept, too bad the game crashed several times so couldn't finish.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]