Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Deronois

by Griz - Compo Entry

You are a shapeshifting agent sent to your first mission, where you have to find, and destroy the laboratory AI computer core to disable the automated defenses.

Unluckily the game is not finished, but it still has the basic gameplay features implemented.

**Controls:**
WSAD - movement
Left mouse button - Morph hand to shield
Right mouse button - Morhp hand to thumbs-up
ESC - quit

**version history:**
v0.4b
-Fixed input lag.

v0.4 (Compo version)
-Initial Release.

have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#218Graphics3.59
#293Mood3.18
#345Audio2.96
#416Humor2.32
#596Innovation2.90
#625Theme3.12
#663Fun2.84
#798Overall2.78

Comments

SkullPixel says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:56am

This is really a cool concept. I would love to see it continued into a full game. And I got the weird sprite bug too, which I'll need to look into tomorrow.

Griz says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:12pm

Got it fixed by disabling the texture mipmapping on assets.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:35pm

Very cool idea, the click for shield mechanic could be really interesting if you get more time to expand on this demo. Nice work!


I'd love for you to check out my game, Tito's Revenge!
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=65699

bigpan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:38pm

Really good game, it's a bummer that it's not finished, i'd definitely play a full version. Really good soundtrack and graphics, nice job.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:52pm

Did thumbs up do anything, or did you just run out of time before implementing it?
Nice proof of concept with stylish graphics, would be interesting to see it expanded further

Griz says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:03pm

@MrNyarlathotep
Ran out of time. It was supposed to be shown on the level completed animation. Now it's just an easter egg.

fakeyou says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:03am

Too bad there isn't more, would be cool if you could collect other types of fists to use.

eymrich says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:04am

Nice concept! Audio and Graphics were really good! Also you nailed the theme!

redcubegames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:49am

Nice looking, controls seem to be not working on the inbeded version

Capitals says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:16am

Looks really good. The input feels a bit slow. However this is a good enough concept that if you continued to work on it to could be really good!

caporaltito says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:17am

Cool but really short!

monaarc says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:18am

I'm interested to play the full version, the mechanics looks pretty fun and the graphics are nice !

Daukan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:20am

I hope the finished game is getting along. Nice design.

OddballDave says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:53am

Nice idea. Like the graphics. I wanted to see more which is good.

*Thumbs up*

fullmontis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:06am

The concept is interesting. I like how the bullets fromm the enemies bouce off your shield and you need to tke the right angle to kil them. Right now lacks some challenge but I can see some interesting puzzles coming from this.

One thing that you should fix in a possible postcompo version is the audio. The sfx volume is way too high compared to the music and it was like a jumpscare the first time I jumped :D But I think you have something here that should be developed further.

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:14am

There is a nice foundation here on which to build a game. It's unfortunate that there's not enough content yet. I would love to see where you could take this with more time. The graphics are nice, the platforming mechanics are smooth and works well. I didn't NEED to use any shapeshifting though... I could just run straight past the enemies though. Still a good start that I'd suggest you continue developing.

Griz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:14pm

Just fixed the input lag in the web version. Looks like the black sprites bug in the webgl build can be avoided by just disabling mipmaps. Thanks to that i could re-enable Occlusion culling and lower quality settings, what removed the wonky input.

Swynfel says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:43pm

Very good idea and very good graphics !

And I really mean it ! Especially the graphics, I love this dark detailed pixel art and the particle smoke-ish body, and I think the way you handled the light plays a huge part in this impression.

The gameplay looks promissing, too bad the game was so short.

Some problems happen when you pass the turrets : the bullets bounce on the shield in strange angles, and if you go far enough the turrets shoot themselves.

The physics where very well done. Maybe the jump height is a little low if you want to do some more complex platform movements.

Cool audio, not so good balance thought. Had to listen to the music with high volume, then reduce it to play with the sound effects.

It's really a shame there's so few content.

Anyway, really good job, I would love to play a complete version. Good luck !

calzep says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:49pm

Fun needs more!! and a sword too!

rossborchers says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:00pm

Thumbs up drone! *drone shoots me*
Cool concept, unfortunately very few interesting interactions. Next time I would concentrate more on that and less on the art (art was cool though)

retrograze says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:50pm

I love the concept and the art. I like the incorporation of the theme too. WANT MORE GAMMMMEEEE. You should really make this into a full-fledged thing!

MementoGames says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:50pm

Nice concept! To bad you couldn't finish it. :(

Venneque says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:24pm

Nice demo, soo short but there are good graphic and the shield mechanic is pretty cool :)

Lullaby says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:57pm

The idea sounds great, and the character is funny :) (love the thumb up). I wish I could do more with it!

FanieG says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:01pm

Liked the art. Liked the music. The jump sound's level was way to high and quite jarring for headphone users. Wish there was more here. Was the thumbs-up supposed to do anything? Why did turrets not rotate to follow the player? Well done!

martymon says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:08pm

nice pixel graphics. I liked the morphing and shield block mechanics. Pity the demo was so short. well done!

paquinn says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:40pm

I really liked the particle effects behind the player. The morphing effect looked good too.

Studiosaurus says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:35pm

Promising game :) shame you didn't get to flesh it out a bit more!

Apr 30, 2016 @ 1:06pm

Nice game, I like the graphics

MayankUnreal says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 4:50pm

Nice graphics and great concept I wish it was endless

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]