Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Watch What You Shoot

by commanderstitch - Compo Entry

You are in a lab. wooooo! who knew?

your goal is to kill all the invaders into your lab.
this happens after a short time.
destroy them all to win, but be careful what you shoot,
some of the properties of the gun change you leaving you
with undesirable results.

Your Gun spawns under the sign that says GUN HERE.

if you find invaders that spawn in the water, you can shoot over the wall at them.

awsd controls. or arrow keys. mouse to shoot.

This game is pretty hard. I wonder how invaders you will destroy?

btw those last two pictures are just production crashes.

Known bugs:
walking up while next to the far left wall doesn't work.
The sounds might be weird all around and on ingame-restart.
the gun should work now on ingame-restart.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#205Humor2.95
#539Audio2.43
#543Theme3.25
#579Fun2.96
#593Mood2.73
#673Overall2.96
#688Innovation2.75
#714Graphics2.54
#1350Coolness45%

Comments

Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:23am

This is my current best score. http://screencast.com/t/zhEbZuM9Z1

Diman says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:34am

The gun doesn't work when I restart the level.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:25pm

I'll Check it when i get home tonight. :O

Faulkin says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:43pm

An interesting concept, but I'd like to see a bit more gameplay around the shapeshifting concept. All it seems to do is slow you down, maybe throwing in some positive effects would make it a bit more interesting and tactical (e.g. if I turn into a big metal tank maybe I move slower but I can also squish the enemy units)

ruchirbapat says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 11:38pm

good game

notime4games says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 10:14am

I like the idea.
I found it hard to aim and sometimes the bullet just instantly hit a wall I was standing next to.
The enemy design felt a bit flawed - it felt unfair that all enemies could shoot me from anywhere while I could not and the "fix" for this was to give the player a ton of health.
Still, good job! This is one of the more complex games I've played so far

adrian09_01 says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 1:30pm

Cool.

SIN Gaiiden2 says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 2:32pm

nice concept, keep up ;)
try our game
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=90749

Telzidar says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 4:13pm

Nice concept! There's a good tension between having to be careful what to shoot and dodging the onslaught of enemies and bullets at the same time.

That your character aims where he walks instead of where you point your mouse and thus drastically changes the spawn point for your own bullets makes precise shots very difficult. But that's the only real issue that I have with your game.

Otherwise, good job! The animations of the computers and tables are nice details, and I think I spotted a reflection in the water?

May 4, 2016 @ 6:07pm

Good concept. I agree with Faulklin that maybe having some positive effects to your shapechanging could make it more interesting. Only other issue I had was aiming was a bit tricky (combination of not necessarily predicting the right spawn spot of the bullet and I think the hitboxes were smaller than I expected). Other than those things, though, nice little game, particularly with only 48 hours into it.

Marc F. says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 7:24pm

Not bad, needs some polishing but the concept is neat. Develop this a little further and it'll turn into a very fun game. Solid entry!

qikcik says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 11:12am

Nice :D

pixelpotions says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 4:24pm

Really interesting concept, one of those entries I would like to hit somewhere on the road, further developed.
The shifting abbilities could influence a little more on the gameplay, but the game is really cool anyway!
Good job!

abcdef65g says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 1:28am

The game is pretty fun! It gets really wacky when lots of enemies spawn in the same room, but it's part of the charm. XD I also like the shapeshifting idea. The only thing that bothers me is how the gun seems to shoot to the right even when you are not facing right, and this happens all too often. Makes it almost impossible to face a bullet swarm when you can't hit anyone reliably, not even the stuff you can transform into!

My best score was only 36.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]