Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Great Transmuter

by Yarg - Compo Entry

Transmute elements to fill the consumer.

You have to help to move elements from spawner to consumer. Use transmuters to change element type.

You can move transmuter by draging and dropping them.

Transmuters have one or more rules. Rule will be chosen and activated if all elements of required types are came to transmuter.

Every rule consist of 3 parts:
[X][Y][Z]

Where:

[X] - element type that rule accepts. If more than one - elements with all types should be provided to activate the rule. "?" means element of any type is accepted.

[Y] - arrow, where element will go out of transmuter for this rule. 4 direction arrow means that direction will not be changed

[Z] - element type that will go out from transmuter for this rule


Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#155Innovation3.68
#265Overall3.44
#394Theme3.47
#400Fun3.24
#698Mood2.52

Comments

Qrr says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 6:35pm

Nice game.
I love puzzles. This is no exception. Great idea, good execution.

But. Not enough tutorial levels. There is a big jump of logic between most levels. There has to be more levels, that just show what the mechanic of the new element is and player wins automatically or by recreating the setup of one part of the level.

Lastly - collision. You have to make it consistent. Ether make it so you can't cross the streams at all and don't make levels with the crossing streams, or remove the collision all together. But that is just my opinion.

All in all: this game gave me an interesting puzzle. And I love it. Good luck.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:55am

Nice puzzle, but the "main menu" was a bit confusing for me.
Good work!

stephenhaney says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:13am

Very nice puzzle design! Great logic game. I played it for a while and it really challenged me.

I agree that consistent collision would be useful – sometimes I just had to wait for shapes to "sneak" through to beat a puzzle. Not sure if that was the only way to beat those puzzles or if there was a better solution.

Anyway, great game! I'd love to play a full version with sound and a difficulty setting.

Crafting4U says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:32am

Love the idea! But I think there is a bug. When I move a transmuter, the consumer's percentage goes to 0%. Other than that, great game! Also, like @Qrr said, the game has to be constant, and the shapes crossing each other (at first) made me think that the way I was completing the level wasn't the intended solution.

simon says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:41am

good game! graphics are on there way - you could get votes there too...

MrDave says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:45am

I really liked this game but I must be terrible. I like the fact the shapes are destroyed if they crash but I didn’t get very far before I found the levels hard to complete.

qu2 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:17am

I totally agree with "Qrr". This is good fun, a nice idea well put-together, but could do with a gentler difficulty curve.
This is nit-picking for something made in 48 hours though, well done!

mutonizer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:20am

Damn...

I want to like the game (and did for the first levels) but shape collision causing destruction got the better on me frustration wise, just couldn't figure it out on level 4 I think (blue circles are exactly timed up with triangles with no way to alter the tempo).

Not sure if I screw up or something's amiss but otherwise, good stuff.

++

grayhaze says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:21am

I agree with what others have said about the difficulty and lack of clear direction early on, but any game of a certain complexity will suffer with the restrictions of the competition. Perhaps in the earlier levels you could show "ghosts" of the correct positions of the tranmuters so that the player can experiment but can still progress.

I'd like to see this fleshed out more, possibly as a mobile game. Good work on getting something so complex finished in time! :)

jk5000 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:24am

A really great puzzle game.

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:33am

Web version isn't working for me (Safari OSX); I just get a blank screen

Dooskington says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:40pm

I like puzzles, and this is pretty cool. Nice work.

TLansdale says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:40pm

Nice idea! The collision bugged me a bit but other than that, good job!

PinkIndian says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:29pm

Neat graphics and game mechanic. Couldn't get past level 3 though...

brainstorm says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:32pm

Great work, man! I wasn't able to complete the gam, though! Too difficult!

Hempuli says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:42pm

Nice idea and solid execution! I got stuck in the first level with all four shapes because no matter what I did my triangles and circles kept erasing each other. I wonder what I did wrong? A nice challenge.

batmanasb says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:47pm

I agree with @Hempuli , the 3rd level is crazy hard. Can't pass it :(

Yarg says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:17am

Hey guys, I've fixed collision bug. It should help you pass levels. Thanks for reports

saavedra29 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:13pm

Very nice surprise for my this game but i can't pass the 4rth stage.

ooku says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:22pm

nice idea, works well.
a polished version would be awesome

Swynfel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:54pm

This was an enjoyable puzzle game.

I think there is a too steep difficulty curve. If you had more time you could have added more level in between the ones that are already there to help us get more familiar with the mechanics before sending in the difficult level.

I was also very slow at understanding that the two shapes + symbol + shape meant that the two shapes had to come in at the same time (I though it was an or). Now I understand, I could have advised you to add à little "+" in between to help slow-brains like me.

Also, in this situation, the symbol is supposed to not change the direction, but since they are two inputs, it picks the direction of one of the two input. Maybe be more clear on the priority order ?

Apart from that, it was very cool. I enjoyed playing the levels and want to try more.

The design is simple but effective.

A level-selector menu would have been perfect.

Good job !

PS : The Web version didn't work for me. Had to use Windows.

snowyowl says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:52pm

An excellent puzzle idea; I really want to see a more expanded version. The symbols on the machines were a bit hard to read, partly because they were so small.

Partly because there were several mechanics that were never used after their introduction. Only one level had rules that require multiple shapes, for example. But this was clearly just because you didn't have time to make more levels.

The embedded version also doesn't work for me - it just gives an error message. Going straight to the itch.io web page works.

Alphish says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:28pm

Alright, that was rather fun puzzle idea, but sometimes I felt there wasn't enough determinism in the game behaviour; usually when two pieces needed entered the element at the same time, and the output element would then pass in the either direction. Instead I'd prefer if the game was more "discrete", in that all that shapes moving, inserting and outputting would be done on some regular "ticks" or something like that, making the game behaviour more orderly.

Still, it was pretty fun to play for these several levels.

ziege says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 11:22am

I think there is a bug on level 4(?) where the transmuter sends a shape to the right instead of keeping direction making the level unbeatable.

Green Soda says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 5:56am

interesting take on puzzle games :) great design

MayankUnreal says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 2:51pm

The game design and concept is really great. I like the puzzles

M2tias says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 2:53pm

Great tough puzzler. A couple of simpler introductory levels would help a lot getting into the game. Nice job!

May 8, 2016 @ 5:08pm

Object collision caused a massive difficulty spike in at least one level. Overall, felt like a slowed-down puzzle version of Chu Chu Rocket (same basic goals, just less frantic). Good entry

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]