Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

I Ordered A Different Burger

by garygreen - Compo Entry

You're fed-up with your job and your involvement in the unmentionable experiments contract for the government, and you're hungry. Go and buy a burger... if it is a burger... and see where it leads you. Be back on-time or there'll be trouble.

This is a piece of interactive fiction created with Squiffy in about 15 hours. I tried to keep it as game-like as possible, rather than just a piece of fiction, by giving options that affect the outcome of the game, and whether you win or lose. Winning results in saving the world... doesn't it always?

I created the images with Pixelesque and Depixelizer. I created the music with Caustic.

I'd like to have included more images, but when you've only got a limited skill in that area it's frustrating. I like the chicken, though.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#38Humor3.75
#211Mood3.31
#385Fun3.26
#419Audio2.80
#466Innovation3.11
#606Overall3.05
#809Graphics2.31
#811Theme2.70

Comments

iendsl says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 6:49pm

Really great art. Weird, short story but I love the diary entry at the end, such a good way to help the player parse different playthroughs in a meaningful way. Totally going to steal that one day.

pythong says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:18pm

after the image of the cow loaded, i couldn't go further :/ tried again with the chicken, but no. maybe it's a scrolling issue of Gamejolt?

Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:18pm

A neat entry, nice job.

FerraWare says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:58pm

lol, really weird and fun game.

Found a bug though, if you keep waiting for the burger, you still get the text "-1 minutes left" "-2 minutes left" :P

pjimmy says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:13pm

You've made me craving for burger. I'm not kidding...

monkeybit29 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:14pm

This is usually just me (or im just really tired), but I wish you had less distracting music

Drusilla says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:26pm

I gave thanks to my veggie burger with lard. Sounds pretty good, actually.

blinry says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:34pm

I also think this is a great piece of art. Very well written. I like the music, too! This reviewer does not complain.

garygreen says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:09pm

Thanks everyone for the positive feedback.

Thanks for letting me know about the scrolling on Game Jolt, pythong. I've discovered that if I set Chrome to view the page at over 100% it has this problem, which is annoying.

Ferraware, I should have done the timer so it counts up, rather than down - it's good that you made sure your burger was properly cooked though. ;-)

Thanks for the comment about the music, monkeybit29. I wasn't sure players would be into it, so I also included the ability to turn it off in the game via the player console.

Mordokay says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:46pm

Nice well made story! got me to question life and most of the things we take for granted ... specially a good burger :)

glitchu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:04pm

On gamejolt I cannot progress after ordering my first burger. I also waited for 2 hours hoping for something else to happen before I ordered my food lol. 'You don't have time to complain. You only have -123 minutes left for lunch.'Which meant I was 2 hours late for work. Oh well. The burger tasted nice anyway.

LudumAnthony says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:07pm

Weird but playful, I like it!

mikedirl says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:20pm

Good work, nice graphics and an interesting plot. I find these text based games very enjoyable, especially after playing more interactive games.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:54pm

Wierd and really great.

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:59pm

Very surreal story and the audio definitely helped. It was very comical especially that the shape shifting bit involved a chicken burger. It felt like it was shoe horned in just to satisfy the theme, but that definitely wasn't a bad thing. It just made the story more hilarious. (Which you might have been going for) Great job! Thank you for making this :)

hildegarbage says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:59pm

Interesting entry! I couldn't get the game to scroll at first, but it worked with the middle mouse button.

Apr 26, 2016 @ 9:05pm

I enjoyed going into the minus numbers as I patiently waited for my food to be made, moral of the story, patience gets you nowhere! :D

Hjalte500 says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 9:12pm

Oh my that was hilarious. The way you admire the burger is just great!

Anyways great music, art was neato yeah good job!

methylenblub says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 1:39pm

Amazing game! I won't be able to look at the burgers the same way anymore

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 7:17am

great idea im hungry now

garygreen says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 7:49am

Thanks everyone who voted on my game. I'm happy with the results, especially for the humor category .... joint 38th! :-)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]