Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

MODE_SHIFT

by RyanNielson - Jam Entry

The year is 2356.

A massive alien fleet is heading towards Earth with the intention of destroying civilization. Armed with Earth Gov's latest model of space combat vehicle, dubbed "The S.H.I.F.T.E.R.", humanity's best pilots head towards the alien fleet, hoping to buy Earth Gov enough time to organize an evacuation.


Gameplay:

Survive for as long as possible, while collecting energy dropped by enemies to improve your weaponry. Your ship's energy level decreases over time and requires a constant resupply. Use your MODE_SHIFT ability to re-orient your ship into a vertically shooting position to destroy more enemies. This game is all about beating your old high scores, so practice makes perfect.

This game plays best with a gamepad, but supports keyboard and mouse input as well. Using a keyboard for movement and a mouse for shooting and transforming is the second best input method.


Controls:

Move: WASD, Arrow keys, Left analog (gamepad)
Shoot: Left mouse click, Space bar, A/B (gamepad)
Execute MODE_SHIFT (Shapeshift): Right mouse click, E, X/Y (gamepad)
Fullscreen: Alt + Enter


If you post a comment consider including your high score along with it. We're really interested to see how long people last.

Keywords: Windows, OSX, GameMaker, SHMUP, mode shift

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#32Audio(Jam)4.09
#47Fun(Jam)3.96
#115Overall(Jam)3.79
#350Graphics(Jam)3.68
#855Theme(Jam)2.87
#908Innovation(Jam)2.57

Comments

dtap says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:44pm

Solid game. It's nice to be able to change up the direction of shooting, and the audio and art style are very nice.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:37pm

Easily the best game I've played so far
Very fun and I love the build up of the gauge mechanic
The shapeshifting may be a little bit to small a part of the game, but everything else more than makes up for that. Great work.

I have an arcade joystick, and the joystick (which simulates a d-pad) does not work? Could you add d-pad support?

ignacioq says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:45pm

Great Game, I don't know where is the shapeshift mode, but I really like the way it moves the spaceship

Anikki says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:11pm

So far the LD35 game I've enjoyed the longest.

nicso says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:24pm

Really cool game, had lot of fun.
A little bit hard to get level 1 upgrade but after that it become quit satisfying.

nicso says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:25pm

Oh and my score was arround 50 seconds (yeah i suck at shmups)

Djapz30 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:28pm

Awesome work!
gameplay is solid and the Sound/Art is pretty good!

As for the score... well... I kinda died a lot trying to build up the power meter --" (+-20~25 Secs)

seanarooni says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:08pm

Very much enjoyed this! The upgraded weapons feel great to use. Enjoyed the art and sound very much.

Hempuli says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:31pm

Very enjoyable! I completely overlooked the shapeshifting feature the first time around, and I'm not totally sure how useful it is in general, but I had good fun playing this. 44 seconds!

Jungle says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:54pm

Very cool game. The second form remembers me Boba Fet's ship... heehue. 56.03s record. Very fun! Congrats! Keep the project on!

Phaix says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:32am

Great Game! Have it on my list to play it again. :)

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:50pm

Got 42 seconds! :D

Really fun and hard game; hard in a good way!

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:38pm

Really cool shmup, it flows, it's easy to pickup and pixel art and sounbdtrack are cool !

Goutye says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:12pm

47sec at best, but was able to fully upgrade two times the shots! Solid game

qu2 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:23pm

A solid shmup. I like it. Hard though (but I never was any good at shmups).

Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:26pm

I am not nearly skilled enough for this kind of game, but in the 20some seconds of survival, I really enjoyed graphics and sound.
Well done :)

Garazbolg says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:38pm

Couldn't get past 39s, damn ! But your game is real good, it's clean, its fun, its understandable. And the animations are really nice. I just wish there were more to go with the theme.

Saiodin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:43pm

Good audio, great music and art! Controls with controller are extremely responsive. The game is pretty hard. It's really risky to go for the energy pickups, but they are so worth it (the 3rd weapon stage is crazy). The mechanic with turning the ship is the shapeshift part I guess, far stretched but neat mechanic. I had a blast playing! My max time was around 35 seconds :X

serp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:05pm

ah its so hard xD

Petya says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:12pm

I loved the music a lot. Very difficult and fun game. I thought the MODE_SHIFTing mechanic could be expounded on more though.

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:46pm

Had a lot of fun playing through the game. Vertical shooting is really useful, but since you can shoot in 2 directions there, why not make the horizontal shooting also shoot backwards? The gold as power-ups was visually not obvious, but I did eventually figure out their function.

djfariel says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:31am

Just under a minute. Dammit.
Oh, and I lied. I said I'd get to this right away, but I got immediately pulled away from my computer. So I played it now!

This is absolutely fantastic. You hit everything necessary - feedback (both audio and visual) for everything, fun music, addicting gameplay. Can't ask for any more, unless you're wanting to add in more weapons and gameplay. Nothing negative to say! :D

cakeknuckles says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:21am

game has a really good feel to it, and the quick restart makes it addictive! overall, a STELLAR game! haha

Manou says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:13am

39s with keyboard.
Loved the retro feeling.
The title screen is well done!

randomhuman says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:50pm

Oh man, I suck at shmups. This was solid though, I liked it.

hadesfury says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:33pm

Really hard but also quite fun ! my score was 34s

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 1:59pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Apr 27, 2016 @ 4:07pm

Nice, well made game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/1j0YT8wm6Kc

schw3de says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 6:36pm

A good solid game!

WERT Studio says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 7:54pm

Neat game. Pretty hard tough

Reisen says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:53am

A really fun shmup. Music is awesome.

Energy system feels like a slippery slope, as in if you can't get to level 3 before a certain point, you're out. Once you get it rolling though, that's where the fun begins.

Energy pickups doesn't move left when they appears, so it feels like the game is punishing the player for being good. (In-universe, they are static objects, and the player is moving to the right, so... yeah.)

86.62 seconds.

Xanjos says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:50pm

Managed to last nearly a minute before dying but I like the mode shifting mechanic a lot.

AnaGF says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 9:54pm

Cool game and polished entry. It is pretty addictive!

Aaranos says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 7:24pm

I don't think it fits the theme. Decent shmup.

3T3A says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 7:02pm

I think it's one of the funniest game i played. It's fast, it's simple, it's enjoyable. And the music is pretty good for the arcad style of the ludum dare.

oxysoft says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 11:16pm

the player spaceship moves a bit slow but a fun shmup nonetheless, music was great also

drazil100 says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 6:24pm

Your ship animation and title were on point. The shots that the smaller ship shot were the same speed as the ship.Which meant that if you kill a ship right infront of you, he might have a bullet inside if him that kills you immediatly.

TheMeorch says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 7:04pm

Super well made shmup with lovely pixel art and pumping music!

I absolutely love how the energy system encourages you to play aggressively.

Given how quickly most of the enemies move horizontally, I found myself very rarely using the vertical shooting mode. The UFOs that stop in place give you a good reason to use that mode, so more enemies like that would be great.

Great work!

Ironhead says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 7:27pm

Great game. Fun but difficult. Art was great, Sounds were on point, and mechanics worked well. Great job!

PS: Thanks again for playing and rating my game on your stream! Great feedback for me to use in my game dev learning endeavors.

Tselmek says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 7:30pm

Really nice and juicy shooter, the beginning feels a little too grindy after as we keep on trying btu other than that I have no complaint. The experience is very polished. I could reach 59.26s on the second try but couldn't go over 30s after that. On a side note, the game works really well with the gamepad controls.

pixelpotions says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 9:01pm

Fun shoot em up! Liked the music though I don't understand how rotation equates to shapeshifting?

May 8, 2016 @ 8:06pm

Very nicely polished game. I only got to 44.23s, I'm not that great at this type of games ^^'

abuzreq says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 4:15pm

Awesome game.. I loved the visual effects .
The shape shift weren't much beneficial though
The game was fun and had a cool mood .

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]