Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Another Dimension

by pikmin4000 - Compo Entry

Another Dimension is a puzzle platformer about transforming your state of being in order to move in the direction you want.

Obstacle:
The bar on the bottom of the screen measures how many transformations you have done so far. Every level is different ranging from 1 to 100 transformations. There are 10 levels.
----------------------------------

Controls:
Arrow Keys to move/transform
Up Arrow- Become Circle that can bounce and maintain velocity
Down Arrow- Become Triangle that can has an initial bounce but then slows down
Left/Right Arrow- Moves from side to side as the Square

M - Mute Sounds
F11 -> F10 - Fullscreen mode for HTML5 on my website
F - Fullscreen for windows
----------------------------------

Story:
You are guided by a narrator with an ulterior agenda. He's an experimenter that has tested many other specimens in order to solve his dilemma of being trapped in Another Dimension. He refers to the real world and wishes for a being that is able to break the barrier that is containing him.
Refer to the screenshots for the first and final levels of the game.
----------------------------------

Feedback:
I am aware that my game may be too challenging at certain points, so feel free to ask any questions about the answers to any of the puzzles.

Contact/Subscribe to me at http://www.chillhammer.com/subscribe/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#91Theme3.97
#238Audio3.21
#277Innovation3.44
#392Mood3.03
#457Humor2.22
#504Graphics2.94
#550Overall3.12
#570Fun2.97
#1854Coolness30%

Comments

jacklehamster says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:05am

Interesting entry. The fact that the controls are linked to the transformations makes the gameplay a bit confusing and frustrating. Maybe it would be less frustrating if the excess of transformations didn't kill you.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:44pm

I like the tune and the "eschatological" mood. but the controls are horrible!

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:13pm

);

lonewookie says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:40am

I liked the mechanics. It is hard to get used to and I got stumped after the level with the squares blocking your way. I think if you made the controls clearer and balanced the difficulty a bit this could be a good game.

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:05pm

Ah the phasing level! Yes I agree it is quite a difficult concept. You have to accelerate yourself using the Triangle form(down arrow) to reach a speed that can allow you to phase through the blocks. Good luck!

ginger9 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:55pm

I can't pass that glass :(

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:08pm

Try holding up-arrow key and tapping the down-arrow key to bounce off the wall and speed up.

Thank you for your patience.

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 5:38pm

I managed to beat it after following your advice for phasing. It's not a bad idea for a mechanic, but it very non-intuitive. It seems like a game glitch and if you hadn't specifically said that that's what you're supposed to do, I would have assumed it was "cheating". Maybe if the glass shattered when you went through it instead. Overall not bad. I liked the mood.

tomlum says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 1:51pm

Very very very cool. Took me a minute to get used to shapeshifting but once I had it down it felt really intuitive and very satisfying. Limiting the number of transformations was a surprisingly interesting mechanic, and also the puzzles were all (for me) the perfect amount of challenging and interesting. A+

DevelopTech says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 9:38am

Interesting mechanic and also good puzzles. However at firt I cannot figured out what does any of the shapes and I had to read it in LD entry.
Also controls are a bit tricky.

Nice work!

badia_r says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 12:20pm

Nice game! A few bugs but quite fun to play.

Malvern says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 6:31pm

It's an interesting idea but I didn't have fun with it. The controls were too difficult for me.

broknecho says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 3:51pm

Really nice start here. I do agree that the controls kinda work against you but the whole physics behavior difference for each shape was really neat. Could definitely see more shapes with different properties being fun as long as the controls could be nailed down.

Nice work overall!

nhojrekrap says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 5:32pm

After getting to grips with it I really enjoyed the control system and the way you have built levels around it!

spiffl says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 9:34pm

Good game! I got stuck, but I don't actually think it's too hard; I'm just bad at these sort of games. I do think transformations shouldn't be the up and down keys: in general, it's a good idea to relegate "actions" to other buttons (usually z or x), since the transformations don't directly cause movement. Changing to the triangle to make a big bounce, then back to the circle to maintain height is a great feeling though!

Omiya Games says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:46pm

Most puzzles were pretty good, but any level requiring phasing through solid blocks seems to demand a lot from the player. Not to mention creating a strange bug into a feature. Wasn't a fan of those puzzles.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]