Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Slime Crusher

by NostraDamon - Compo Entry

!!!!! WEB IS BROKEN FOR NOW !!!!!

Your dreams will be crushed....... well, your slime will be at least.

CONTROLS:
- WASD: Move
- Left Click / Space: Jump
- Right Click: Dash
- R: Restart

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#66Graphics4.07
#243Overall3.47
#278Fun3.40
#292Innovation3.40
#841Theme2.60
#2304Coolness0%

Comments

wtfrara says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:02am

Does your game work in WebGL instead of the unity web player?

NostraDamon says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:19am

I'm working on uploading a WebGL version right now :)

Brice says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:41am

I can't seem to get it to play in the browser. :-( Running on Windows/Firefox

Membrane says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:46am

This game was hard to put down. Very well done.

Brice says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:49am

I can't seem to get it to play in the browser. :-( Running on Windows/Firefox. But I downloaded the PC version.

WHOA! I jumped and then laughed when I was immediately splatted. That was hilarious.

The collision seems a little too sticky. I got frustrated because often I would try to jump up and get snagged on a bush or the side of a tile.

Future improvement: I also think that you should be killed if you get like 3 layers below the top. Maybe some water could be coming up from the bottom. The reason is: I kept getting walled in at some layer at the bottom, and the game was basically over, but it kept on going.

Nice idea, great graphics too!

iSasFTW says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:27pm

It's fun, but it's quite frustrating when the slime gets stuck on bushes and ledges. But overall a fun game :)

iSasFTW says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:28pm

It's fun, but it's quite frustrating when the slime gets stuck on bushes and ledges. But overall a fun game :)

(I don't know how this fits into the theme apart from the world shifting shape and the slime shifting into a bunch of blood, but it's a good game regardless)

Trash_Empire says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:13am

Movement is a struggle to deal with. I get stuck every time I play. Other than that, I had fun with this one. Nice Job! I like the random generation.

Lancelot Gao says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:15am

Fun and beautiful. Great work!

Otis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:28am

One of the few good games I've found. It's a bit slow and took me a minute to figure out, but I had fun. Cute graphics.

Sota says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:47am

The control scheme feels like it's meant for one-handedness. If the jump button was spaced out for the other hand, it would probably play a little better.

zillix says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:34am

great simple design! the sound and visual effects did an awesome job of making the falling stage feel impactful. highest I was able to get as 9m :)

hildegarbage says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:19am

Fun game, but a bit too hard. Slowing down the speed early in the game would have helpt. It also seemed as if I got trapped a lot of the times. An algorithm to make sure there is always a way to continue would have improved it greatly.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:40pm

Nice and original idea, overall the jumping system needs some more work, it gets stuck too often, expecially when there are corners involved, good job anyway!

jhell says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:34pm

Nice, I missed some Azerty controls though :'(. I like that the world builds itself by layers. Like others said though, collisions can be a bit sticky.

RockNRedPanda says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:15am

This is a fun game! Loved the interpretation and the slime character design. Keep it up!

Freank says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:20am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Mordokay says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 1:39pm

Got to 15!!! I loved this game .. the graphics were awesome. the sounds were perfect and apropriate and the overal gameplay fit the theme perfectly and was very fun to play. One thing I would change is the fact that sometimes there is no place to jump to. Great Job +1

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]