Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Happy Shape Shifter

by domrein - Compo Entry

For some reason these shapes can't touch each other. I dunno. They don't like each other or something. Anyways, you're the square in the middle. Shift the other shapes around by pressing the arrow keys. Everyone in the house decided to take a Sunday nap, so this game is what I could accomplish in the 2 hours during the nap. But everyone's up now, so submission time.

Controls:
up - shift triangleus up
left - shift circleys left
down - shift hearteys down
right - shift starreys right

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#246Fun3.44
#338Innovation3.32
#370Humor2.48
#397Overall3.29
#497Graphics2.96
#562Mood2.77
#669Theme3.04

Comments

Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:26am

Pretty fun, but could use a little more depth

domrein says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:35pm

Holy wow! This is the best game ever!

vazor says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:05pm

Woo! After I realized right arrow key DOES do something once the stars appear this game got pretty intense! Nice work!

ragnta says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:57pm

Nice game! Good job! triangleus seems like an other object that I don't want to write down :D

monkeybit29 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:03pm

I wish there was more to the mechanics

domrein says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:54pm

"triangleus seems like an other object that I don't want to write down" haha. What?

zaywolfe says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:46am

Wow I loved this! So challenging. Feels like I'm exercising a new part of my brain while playing.

BTW Cuddle Fish has a mac port now! :P
I can't test it though cause I has no mac.

mikesmullin says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:20am

this game changed my life!

timeshapers says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:36am

Doesn't work for me on chrome or firefox. But it might be server load, not sure.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:57am

Simplistic but fun, found myself playing it over and over to beat my old score.

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 3:40pm

Very interesting concept, nice take on the theme.

neondx says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 3:47pm

fun game, original use of shapes

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 3:55pm

Super FUN! The concept was simple but lend itself to a really cool frantic experience. I liked how happy and smiley the protagonist is despite me terrified and frantically trying to remember which button moved which and pressing the arrow keys like a madman. I was yelling 'SQUARE DO YOU HAVE ANY IDEA WHAT IS AT STAKE!" great game I had a lot of fun. Thank you for making it :)

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:11pm

Very cool concept and gameplay, with some more polish it could be really cool!

mooncalf says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:13pm

Really great idea. I would have liked an on screen indicator of which buttons switched which shapes. At first it was very difficult for me to remember, especially since I don't see many of the shapes for awhile.

Congratulations on a job well done!

leffe108 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:36pm

Interesting game.

I do wonder if it is supposed to have audio as you didn't opt out to be rated on audio. I played in Chrome using the Web-link in a new tab and F12 only listed favicon.ico as a 404.

Studiosaurus says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 9:31pm

oh my, this is such a weird, brain twisting game. I play a lot of difficult games and I'm genuinely surprised it's such a challenge. I love it! so far I always die fairly fast when the hearts come. I see a deeper level of understanding of the game which I haven't even begun to discover: being aware enough to smash shapes into each other, rather than just focusing on the ones that are lined up to hurt you. Let me know if you make this into a mobile game or implement some kind of online scoreboard :)

danieldsj says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 1:44am

I like the explosion animations and the screen shake. I could only up and left controls. Good effort!

DcrDro says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 12:52pm

cool game!

mar3k says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 11:43am

Cool idea, but it's really hard to get used to the controls so I died pretty quickly most of the times.

knason says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 7:30pm

nice graphics and animation, well spent 2 hours and concgrats on your entry.

Joror says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 7:50pm

Nice mechanic that is counter-intuitive! Really had to rewire myself a bit to make it work. :)

BloodJohn says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 7:22pm

Brilliant in its simplicity game. First, you simply watch and then attempt to influence the situation. And then you are immersed in the flow.

yuigoto says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 6:28am

Whoa, this is simple but REALLY FUN! :O That's great for a 2h project too! :)

Controls work nicely and it gets challenging and quite chaotic after some time! :P Good work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]