Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

It could have been Two Colors

by Phobos001 - Compo Entry

Once upon a time, there was a contest, called Ludum Dare. In Ludum Dare, you had to make a game in under 48 hours, the Art, Music, Sound, Design, and Programming all had to be done by one person within the deadline. It was a fun test of skills, problem solving, and realizing ones own flaws and how to work around them.

However, on Ludum Dare 35, the theme was announced as 'SHAPESHIFT'. And suddenly, in a hypothetical meta-plane of existence, a vortex was spawned, threatening to ruin your submission by distorting your creative though process in such a way to prevent you by doing anything original. Now you only have one chance to fight back, before the deadline strikes and your submission is rated 5/5 stars for theme, but 1/5 for everything else!

To save your submission, you must grab every creative idea that appears and throw it into the vortex, hoping that it will improve it somehow. At the same time, you must avoid bad ideas from falling into the vortex as well, or else you risk time being lost from removing it.

===============

CONTROLS

Mouse to guide objects

LMB to shrink guiding area

That's about it.

===============

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#82Humor3.47
#194Fun3.53
#416Overall3.27
#513Graphics2.93
#916Theme2.07
#2115Coolness17%

Comments

htspencer88 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:30am

Very atmoshperic and I really like the meta humour! Its very tense and the great soundtrack helps crank up the tension.

I feel the controls are a little slippy and I didn't have as much say as I would have liked but once I got in the zone I learnt to stop worrying too much and enjoy.

Good job!

Lancelot Gao says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:33am

The graphics are beautiful. Great work!

wboqm says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:38am

The tension in the soundtrack was fitting with the control scheme, as the inability to finely adjust the size of the grabber and the weak effect it had on the ideas lead to tense moments of trying to ward off bad ideas.

kabel says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:41pm

The soundtrack was fitting and the gameplay was simple and ok, but the floating deforming text in the center was really distracting. I am not even sure how this relates to shapeshifting.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:42pm

Good soundtrack. Fun game. I felt the text should have vanished after a short while since it was a little distracting. Overall good game.

VapeurTeam says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 12:30pm

overall okay, I don't think I got far enough to notice any real shapeshifting ? but I had some fun and the music built the tension very well! nice work !

randomhuman says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 11:16am

I also wish the theme had been "Two Colours" :( I like where you went with this :)

LeReveur says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 7:30pm

I like the uncommon way to grab ideas, and the humour of the description. :)

zookatron says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 9:16pm

Honestly, the most fun game I've played this Ludum Dare! Great job! Audio was on point, and the theme was kinda funny :P

ThommazK says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 10:49pm

I loved your humorous take on a problem everyone faces now and then on Game Jams. The description is very funny too, it's a nice little entry. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]