Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Space Shift

by ogre - Compo Entry

Space Shift is a game about flying a spaceshift around a bunch of shapes. The shapes are trying to kill you! You can shoot at the shapes. Shapes are killed by shooting them with bullets of either the same color or the same shape. You can change the color of your shots at will, but changing the shape requires picking up powerups. Different shapes have different behaviors.

This game is written using a custom C++ engine. Bits of it go back several years, but this is the first public release. The core engine is "jagf" which can be found in the extern directory, but there are lots of engine-y things in the main src directory too. Like all the rendering. jagf is a framework for the generic parts of games, I use it for things with different rendering requirements. E.G. this game is 2D, but I've used it for 3D in the past.

A Windows build is coming. I'm developing on Mac first, so that's the preview build I put up, but Windows does work too.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#409Humor2.34
#450Audio2.74
#529Fun3.03
#541Mood2.82
#606Overall3.05
#616Graphics2.73
#733Theme2.92
#777Innovation2.57

Comments

treegemmer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:16am

I liked the big circular explosions. Controls are difficult - not being able to aim without moving, and not being able to aim accurately.

Linver says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:18am

Your Game try to change my Windows register .. and died.
^(

ogre says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:23am

I don't think it does anything in the registry... but I did use several third party libraries. Could be one of them. Have tested on Win8.1 and Win10, works in both.

namrog84 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:31am

explode! kaboom! I liked it!

hijomo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:47am

The pattern matching element was nice. the ship only being able to fly on the orthogonal was kind of annoying. I liked the music.

ogre says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:03am

I do kind of think it would be better on an analog stick. I had it as a dual "stick" shooter for a while using wasd to move and arrows to shoot, but ran into key rollover problems when I got around to trying it on windows! Maybe I should try follow-mouse controls (too late for compo obviously!)

shohs says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:19am

Pretty fun to try to get a high score. I did end up crashing the game by causing a huge chain reaction though. But not before I got the high score :)

martymon says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:38am

That was fun! Nice sound effects!

ohi12 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:55pm

Great, would like a smother movement and aiming, like aiming with the mouse. Is kind of hard to hit the shapes. Great game!

2Bit says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:57am

Cool game. I liked it.

staircase27 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:58am

Very hard to aim. Could do with separating movement and aiming controls and using mouse for fine control

paquinn says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:31am

Had a really cool retro feel, especially with the high scores at the end.

Insederec says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:54am

I'd probably change it so that you select colors with the numbers and fire with space or go use a twin stick layout with wasd and arrows to fire a la Isaac. I like the take on programmer art though. Shapes aren't just a placeholder but actually the enemies.

ogre says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:13am

I actually wanted to come up with some way where both shapes and colors for your shots were selected by environmental factors (such as the current prizes for shapes), not direct controls, but I wanted something other than prizes for colors. I just didn't get around to it. Space bar to change colors was the compromise and I agree it's not great. I think there'll be a post-compo version with analog controls (I already played with follow mouse and it is nicer, haven't tried analog sticks nor WASD plus mouse aim yet) and some additional game elements. Maybe even some lighting effects and such. Who knows?

I also didn't intend for the stars to be stationary, but the circle bullet explosions came in pretty late and they are a lot of fun, so I decided it was alright if the stars were easy to hit.

Megalink says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:31am

This is pretty fun, I loved the sound effects and the game concept. Good job! :)

arhpositive says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:01am

Decent entry. Powerups are a nice thought that kept me playing on for a while. Maybe, the movement could've been more like twin stick shooters (with a gamepad, ofc). Keep on working on it, you might make it bigger and better.

taviandir says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:29am

There is no real reason to get any different kind of shape than square, since thats the only one that can destroy the level. Fairly easy game once u get a hang of the controls.
The way I died was that after about 2500 points I somehow managed to cause a chain reaction that destroyed about half the objects in the level and thus also respawned ~200 shapes all around me (safe to say it lagged a whole lot, and dont let me get into the sound hehe), which proved to be too much.

I feel like the game could benefit more if it had more taret seeking enemies, and some kind of collectible or other incentive to make the player go explore more.

ogre says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:20am

All shots destroy the walls that squares build. The star is actually the best power up imo, because stars cause chain reactions that kill everything else. But the triangle is also not bad to have since triangles are the only shapes that actively seek the player. I do think squares and circles are useless.

Sanka-X says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:28pm

Great game. I thing the control are not smooth enough and makes it really difficult to aim properly.

Strike says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 6:41am

Fun game !

solkar says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 11:17am

Nice shooting game. Controls worked pretty well. The only thing that annoys me is the big blast when the game loads.

ogre says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 3:55pm

That big blast is a total hack. The easiest way to set the enemies up under the glue screen was to actually START the game when the app starts, and then just kill the player. The big blast is just that. Not really intentional, just a side effect of the whole 48 hours thing :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]