Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Tri-Form

by Ryusui - Jam Entry

In the distant future, mankind has achieved peace and repurposed all its terrifying destructive technology to create the cutting edge in gladiatorial entertainment. Unfortunately, these robot gladiators have suddenly been infected with a virus, driving them berserk. You are a human operator given control of the experimental Tri-Form machine - a transforming robot capable of copying the unique abilities and characteristics of the enemy robots and using them against them. How many foes can you destroy before you are overcome?

RED FORM ("Lance") moves swiftly and can charge into enemies to destroy them.
GREEN FORM ("Mace") fires powerful plasma bursts that can destroy enemies at range.
BLUE FORM ("Shield") is impervious to certain attacks and can destroy nearby enemies with a shockwave.

Each form has advantages over others - use the most effective transformation for the situation and survive as long as possible!

Supports keyboard (and gamepad) controls. Arrow keys (or D-Pad/analog stick) to move, Z (or A) to activate abilities, X/C (or L/R) to switch forms.

Graphics created in Aseprite.
SFX created in Audacity.
Music created in FL Studio.

Developed using ZeroBrane Studio.

UPDATE: Made some minor bugfixes (not affecting gameplay)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#252Theme(Jam)3.71
#492Overall(Jam)3.29
#496Fun(Jam)3.18
#548Audio(Jam)2.82
#683Innovation(Jam)2.89
#758Graphics(Jam)2.96

Comments

qikcik says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:00am

Very Good Game :D

monaarc says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:23am

Cool game with very nice graphics, the mechanic is pretty simple but really fun to play :)

Falak says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:00am

Cool Game ^^

Dreschler says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:36pm

Nice :D

XtremePrime says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:38pm

Super awesome game. Really like the idea! I wish there was another way to shift (1,2,3) to make it even nicer and faster to pace!
Great game!

matt beckett says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:24pm

Nice Tri

Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:13pm

The gameplay was fun, but the music was too loud and repetitive.

tweedle says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:02am

Sorry our game froze your computer up, we build it on a super machine, ha. We've exported the same version with an installer so it'll run better on most systems if you're feeling crazy. If your computer then explodes... RIP

MrPhil says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:29am

I thought the music fit the game well and using color for the different forms was smart. Cycling through the forms was difficult for me because I'm dyslectic, using a key per form would have been better.

OrangePop says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:19am

Controls were hard to use, and sometimes turning around was frustrating. But the idea is there. I can see this being something really fun if polished more.

Saiodin says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:17pm

The game felt a bit slow and I think if the ships moved more interestingly (instead of just one of 8 directions) it would have given the game a cool and different feel.

Apr 30, 2016 @ 1:24pm

This was fun to play.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]