Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shift It

by Herku - Compo Entry

Shift it is a small top down scroller.

Goal:
Collect the items and earn score Points. To collect shapes you have to transform the player into the matching shape.

Controls:
Move left [left arrow] / [j]
Move right [right arrow] / [k]
Transform into circle [q]
Transform into square [w]
Transform into triangle [e]
Transofrm into hexagon [r]
SHIFT IT!!!! [space]
Pause, Unpause [esc]
Restart the game [F5] ;-)

For lag free experience use Chrome :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#394Theme3.47
#537Fun3.00
#785Overall2.80
#881Graphics1.87
#897Innovation2.13
#2115Coolness17%

Comments

SiM2SiM says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:26am

Pretty fun little game, gameplay reminds me of guitar hero. Just wish the graphics were improved, however it's still super enjoyable to play

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:13am

Fun and the audio is pretty funny. Doesn't work in Safari though

Apr 30, 2016 @ 11:39am

Pretty cool. The shift order is a bit confusing though. Fun, but doesn't seem to get any more difficult and goes on forever.

methylenblub says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 1:12pm

fun and entertaining, it took me some time to get used to the keys for changing shapes though

Stending says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 1:32pm

Simple and minimalist, but really well done!
Fits perfectly with the theme, and fun to play.
Nice music though!
Congratulations :)

11Schotter says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 2:50pm

a bit more speed would be fun, and an animation for shapeshifting

yuigoto says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 6:21am

I enjoyed it quite a bit, and the controls work quite nicely, but having to shift between shapes using the keyboard made me feel a bit messed up. :P

The game's quite fun, albeit simple, and the sfx are really well-balanced within the game too.

I love minimalistic games, so keep working and adding more juice into this project! :) I see potential in here! ;D

Cheers! Good Work! :)

LeftRight92 says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 3:07pm

Good fun, but very slow to start, would've liked to jump in more around the level 4/5 kind of mark. The hitboxes are way too small, I missed too many things that passed right through me.
One thing that threw me off that you might not have picked up on was the fact the square was before the circle in the button order. Most of the other games that did geometry based gameplay put their shapes in order of number of sides (ie circle, triangle, square, hexagon, star etc). While it's definitely a minor thing, it really threw me off unfortunately.
Overall, a solid and fun submission, but I would've liked to have seen something more fleshed out from someone with your LD experience.

radmars says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 8:56pm

I'd probably get rid of the shape toggle button (space) since q-r are more precise controls, making space a bit of a trap and complicating the game. A little reminder at the bottom of the screen of the four shapes in qwer order would be nice as a reference for this.

More of a visual indicator of level progression, such as changing background color, would be nice.

The "collect" sound effects were a bit grating to me after a while, but I did play until level 11. I also think the game could afford to be a bit more difficult, as I survived for a good 30 seconds or so on pooled health at that point after I stopped controlling the game.

Felladrin says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 2:19am

Good idea!
Worked all good on Chrome.
Maybe the gameplay could alternatively use the mouse to move and the mouse-scroller to change shapes.
Also, a game is always better when you teach in-game how to play (mainly for those who hit play before reading the game description).

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]