Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Geometry Garden

by Evgiz - Compo Entry

------------------------------------------------------

Hey!

Geometry Garden is a top down shooter with a twist!

Your gun keeps changing between shooting square and triangle bullets.
Enemies hit with the wrong type will multiply! How long can you survive?


Thanks for checking it out!

----------------------------------------

Contact: http://twitter.com/evgiz
My website: http://evgiz.net

----------------------------------------

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#9Fun4.18
#16Overall4.11
#18Graphics4.45
#21Audio4.07
#28Humor3.88
#57Mood3.78
#224Theme3.73
#266Innovation3.45

Comments

Andy_Voz says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 3:31pm

Amazing gameplay and graphics! Cool game!)

Apr 17, 2016 @ 3:36pm

Nice game. Love the sound effects. :)

sirtetris says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 4:52pm

Sound effects awe awesome, gameplay is really fun. :)
Played several rounds and got to a score of 543 so far.

BloodJohn says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 4:54pm

Awesome animation/sound/effects. Good work!

JoeManaco says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 5:00pm

Sweet Art :)

MacDocBros says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 5:19pm

Nice!

ottohak says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 5:25pm

Love the Style, I like the Sounds.

bwalter says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 5:58pm

AMAZING! love all the sound effects too. "spuare" :P

Qrr says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 6:04pm

Good game.
Simple, fun gameplay. Good art stile and animations. Nice sound.

But. Arena is way too small. In addition to rocks collision being bad this makes the game a little less fun then it should be.
It would be also great to have visual indicator of how long it will take to change the gun. Like a bar or something.
Hit box on the guy is in no where accurate. I feel it is ~10 pixels too big in all directions.
Enemy's color feels a tad bit off. There have been several cases of me not noticing the enemy. Some red lining would make them more visible.
Lastly the zoom is too big. It would be nice to see a little bit more of the map.

So all in all: amassing work. Solid submission to the Jam.

stefvanschie says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 6:48pm

The art and the sounds are amazing. The controls were a little bit hard though.

jollyserpent says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 6:51pm

Great audio-visual presentation, love the sound effects!
The game is fun as well.

kyuni says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 7:28pm

Good game, I really like the art and the sound.

norseware says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 7:46pm

This was fun! Surprisingly hard, but fun! I like the concept of switching ammo that correlates to enemies. I did find the rock collisions frustrating though... :P Good job!

qikcik says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 7:54pm

Nice!

CrazY says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 8:34pm

I love the grafics <3

Apr 17, 2016 @ 8:52pm

Really fun, I ended up getting to a point (around 1500 points, I think?) Where I didn't get any more triangles, so I was parading squares around until my gun shifted. But speeding up the gun switch thing is really nice. :)

SmallPhil says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 9:10pm

It's really cool! Sometimes you can get stuck on rocks though:/ Other then that, it looks amazing!

davor10105 says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 9:34pm

great job, really like the sound effects

Evgiz says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 10:00pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone! Since the compo is still not over for another 3 hours I decided to listen and to remove the collision on the obstacles completely. No more annoying rocks, yay!

indieyp says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 10:17pm

Need PvP, nice graphics

unoion says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 10:33pm

Great job! Very nice game!

HawkSandwich says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 10:35pm

I LOVE this game. It's so fun and pretty to look at too.

Apr 17, 2016 @ 10:49pm

AMAZING! i like how all the sounds are low pitched vocals, and its addicting...Im going to hear "square" in my dreams xD

MintArcade says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:02am

Wow really cool game. It's hard to survive, but it is SO COOL!!!

bwalter says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:13am

amaaaaazing!

ConorOD says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:33am

Great graphics, and I like the sound. Possibly a bit too challenging though - I always got swarmed very quickly. Liked the way hitting an enemy with the wrong shape caused them to multiply.

cubegames13 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:48pm

That was pretty fun

cicanci says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:50pm

The art is so cool! Well done!

Pietdagamer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:53pm

The sound effects and audio in general is awesome :D

chobrah says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:01pm

Really nice polished entry, beautiful art. Good fun :D

htspencer88 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:57pm

Very well done! It really sets the bar and you should be extremely proud. Great job!

rubna says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:19pm

good entry!!

redwizard says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:20pm

The best i saw until now. Very Good!
Triangle ... Square!

xclementx says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:22pm

Amazing game! Congrats.

KodingNights says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:23pm

Love the graphics. Very smooth movement.

chriiis88 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:36pm

I really like this. The aesthetics are great and the gameplay is fun. Well done!

Reallysketchy says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:04pm

Really great graphics and I love the voice! The only problem I found is that the rocks sometimes make you get stuck, but otherwise, great game!

cynicalmonkey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:02pm

I really like the art, really smooth controls

Headmade says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:36pm

Top notch presentation, high scores in all departments, good job!
However I would like an indicator when my bullets are about to change. Just play the "triangle" sound effect sooner.

My high score was 1024 :)

thomz12 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:38am

Sound effects are great! love the amount of "juice" in the game! Good job!

kabel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:49pm

simple and cool.

Naca says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:51pm

Really addicting!

JoseArias says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:44pm

Nice Art. Nice gameplay. Nice Audio.

Great job.

Saiodin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:05pm

This was great. Interesting gameplay, I loved the movement that the knockback mechanic provided. The sound and music was also very fitting. My gf compared the graphics to Don't Starve.

seitnerk says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:28am

Great Idea. Love the style and the gameplay!
Would be awesome if you could change between your weapons instead of waiting for it. But had a lot of fun with it!! :)

zillix says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:40am

sooo cute! loved it!

Evgiz says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:11pm

seitnerk: That was actually how it was originally, but switching guns manually became more of a tedious task than an exciting mechanic. The current system is less tedious and more unpredictable and therefore more fun in my opinion! Thanks for all the feedback :)

Freank says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:20pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:37pm

Very enjoyable game, sound effects really made it.

Riftpoint says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:55pm

Very cool game! The gameplay mechanic is very creative and the art is amazing. Congratulations!

LeReveur says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:16pm

Ha Ha funny and challenging. It takes me a little while to understand that hitting mobs with wrong gun would make them multiply... :D

Cerno_b says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:09pm

I got 1474. Very nice little game. I love the aural and visual feedback you get when the shape changes. Also the multiplying mechanic is a very nice touch and feels like a very important decision.

One suggestion would be to add some visual cue about how many hits are remaining on a monster. Since it seemed to me that you need two hits per enemy, I guess a second sprite that shows a damaged monster would be a sensible addition that can help with strategy.

Overall I really liked the game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]