Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Glyph Morpheus

by Ted Brown - Jam Entry

Glyph Morpheus is a fever dream of a runner game. Morph your three-dimensional bit vessel into the proper glyph so it may pass through the 64 gates of Core Logic, which wind and curve around themselves in a realtime display of graphicstravaganza!*

* only available on Tandy computers

Use H to hack time.**

This was a solo effort that turned into a jam due to a late start. It's not as flash or swell or fantastic as the beautiful concoctions I've seen floating around already, but it's fun! Enjoy! And thanks for playing!

** available on all computers

Made using Unity, Blender, Photoshop, Figure, OS X Text-To-Speech, Audacity, and BFXR.

UPDATE! I exported the web version with a smaller native resolution so it could be embedded. No other changes were made.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#67Theme(Jam)4.07
#82Fun(Jam)3.81
#108Overall(Jam)3.81
#108Audio(Jam)3.78
#117Mood(Jam)3.80
#235Innovation(Jam)3.48
#236Graphics(Jam)3.90
#1579Coolness39%

Comments

luquio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:24am

This is a good one! Top 10 of what I've tried

lanestp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:28am

Overall, rock solid. Everything is smooth and well balanced I don't know what kind of ninja can make it to gate 64 but I'm darn impressed!

IHateATMFees says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:31am

Love the ascetic! The hack feature came in handy

Peter1992t says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:35am

That was really fun. I thought it was interesting how when the level allows you to see what's ahead, you can memorize what's coming up. Nice work!

F4KETHIS says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:03am

Really polished, I like the iron aesthetic and the music is great. The way it drops an additional shape on you without any notification really threw me off though, kept failing at the same spot.

LordKawaii says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:20am

Fabulous as usual! Love the morphing animation and the sound/music fit perfectly.

simon says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:49am

that was fun - thanks for the time hack ;)
on slope down it gets real hard...

great job!

mutonizer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:51am

Very nice entry, good fun, fits the theme, works exactly as intended and is challenging without being frustrating.

Two weird things though:
1) Hack Time? Not sure how that worked, didn't seem to do much, at least not consistently.
2) At some point, the next "shapes" appeared in the upper right corner of the hud, along with the number to press. That made things very easy even at ultra speed and took my eyes away from the main part of the game. Not sure why.

Otherwise, one of the most fun entries so far in my list. Kudos :)

luvShape says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:42pm

Very hard! the graphics and the mood are great

Ted Brown says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:50pm

@Mutonizer and others: great question!
1) Hack time works while you're playing, but I only drop the hint after you die. It basically halves your speed.
2) At high speed, with certain curves and twists, it's nearly impossible to see the gate in time to react. So the next shape appears in the upper right corner once you start to approach top speed. It disappears if you slow down.
Thank you everyone! Glad you're having fun!

ALobker says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:51pm

Very cool game, I really liked it.

Secret Arts says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:05pm

Nice! I appreciate the ASCII art and the studiously done low-fi-ishness. Nice work!

glitchu says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:09am

Very nice take on the theme. Really difficult when you have more than 3 shapes to react to.

cowboycolor says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:53am

Reminds me a good deal of Super Hexagon. Love the literal "shape" shifting mechanic. Aesthetically very Hologram-punk (is that a genre? it is now) Good work!

austinsheep says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:10am

I've seen a few games like this (including my own), where the player has to fit through a hole in the wall. We must all think alike!

ijona says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:32pm

Nice game, I enjoyed playing it!

AnaGF says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:33am

Hard and cool! It is impressive!

recursor says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:11pm

Difficult and very retro. I like it.

AAGH Games says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:42pm

I like the gameplay, and the responsiveness between the controls and the animations was really good. My one complaint was when the track would bend, at times it would block my ability to see what shape the next wall needed behind my ship, resulting in hits I couldn't avoid save for blind luck.

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:14pm

Very well polished game, managed to get past 45 gates before game over. I like the monochrome artstyle as well.

sararyCow says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:58pm

Cool visuals and addicting gameplay. A solid entry overall.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:56pm

Overall pretty decent, good sound, graphics are fitting. @bytedesigning / Ashley

oxysoft says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:55pm

We actually had this exact same idea at the start of the dare but settled on something else! I think you did it better than we would have however, well done

Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:02pm

Hey, nice entry, I loved it! The 80's computer era feel was awesome!

WERT Studio says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 8:15pm

great game maybe on a tablet it would be cool. it is too hard for me

May 10, 2016 @ 12:25am

Really enjoyed the style. Really interesting and engaging game. Pretty difficult (I only made it to gate 16) but an interesting ride nonetheless.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]