Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Symblyx

by AgentParsec - Compo Entry

Shift rows and columns of different shapes together in order to match and clear them. The faster you clear the board, the more points you earn! Take too long, and it's game over!

(I did everything myself--the programming, graphics, sound effects, and music--within 27 hours, using Unity 5 Pro, Flash, Goldwave, and Project 5. Sorry that there's no Mac or Linux versions this time; Unity wasn't giving me the options anymore for some reason, so I may have to reinstall it.)

(I should probably come up with a name for this character that I keep putting in my games. He was in Dreamshift (LD30) and Downbeat (LD32), and now this. If you have any suggestions, let me know in the comments!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#53Audio3.79
#250Overall3.46
#376Graphics3.25
#395Innovation3.21
#403Theme3.46
#459Fun3.14

Comments

Apr 17, 2016 @ 5:07am

Nice game, great tune!

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:44am

I only get white screen in the WebGL version. :(

vini60 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:46am

So metal !!!!!
Great concept, just a bit repetitive. I had great fun!

holgk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:46am

Nice simple game.

CMLSC says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:51am

It is a bit buggy. The squares keep "connecting" without bordering anything, and sometimes they won't work when they should. .-.

AgentParsec says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:55am

@ViliX64 -- It does that at first, but should load eventually. Otherwise, try in a different browser?

@CMLSC -- I've never had that issue in all the testing I did. Not sure what could be causing it for you...

Arvydas says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:35pm

Fun puzzle game....extremely loud music

mikedirl says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:00pm

Nice gave, pretty addictive. Would work great on the phone.

Pusty says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:20pm

Nice game!

APantaloni says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:20pm

Very neat puzzle game! Love the metal style music. Original interpretation of the meaning of "shapeshift" ;)

FrozenCow says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:21pm

I think I ran into the same bug as CMLSC. Some squares were overlapping (as though they weren't actually part of the game) and some were connecting seemingly without a reason, but probably the tile was only shown in the wrong position.
I used the WebGL version on Chrome.

That said, fun game. The music added quite a lot too.

EstrelSteel says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:24pm

The tune was great! Would have preferred buttons on the sides to move the rows and columns, as I was having trouble shifting them.

Pellanor says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:25pm

For those wondering how the controls work. Click and drag.

Moving the whole row felt very awkward. Still, a decent enough game.

MintArcade says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:25pm

Very nice game. Great use of the theme. Get's hectic at some point, but that's a point! Great!

pixzleone says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:43pm

Really cool! Good job!

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:06am

Nicely done, game is very smooth. Would be awesome if you can change up the rules at some point to break the repetition.
Unity 5.3+ requires you to select all your platform build options during the installation process.

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:49am

puzzling little game, controls are a bit awkward for me but its painfully fun >.<
play and rate my game here: ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:49am

I didn't like the click and slide controls though they would have been ideal on a touchscreen. Nice idea and still pretty fun. I like the literal interpretation of shape shift haha.

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:08am

Very cool match 3 type of game!!! The music just made it that much more enjoyable!!!

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 2:02am

Very fun game. Got a nasty bug though it turned out to be helpful in the end. Music was very nice to listen to, by the way!

Omiya Games says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 1:48am

Had a lot of fun playing this puzzle game. The shapes being in the same column/row never merging tripped me a lot, but it was a challenge worth overcoming.

Personally speaking, I would have liked arrow keys controls rather than the mouse. The mouse would make more sense on touch screen, but I definitely wanted to be able to select the row/column more quickly than what I had right now.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]