Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Space Exterminator VS Shape Shifters!

by OrangeeZ - Jam Entry

Space Exterminator faces his most dangerous enemy yet... The terrifying shape shifters! They turn into people, hide in the ventilation ducts, and even disguise themselves as boxes and rubbish.

IN THE OUTER SPACE, NO ONE CAN HEAR YOU SHAPE SHIFT

HOW TO PLAY
Controls: WASD to move; LMB to shoot; Space to activate the sonar

Initially the base is full of civilians, and you should avoid shooting them; as noted above, some of them can actually be shape shifters waiting in ambush. Your goal is to destroy all of them, and after that doors in the center of the base will open, leading you to the final battle. If all the civilians die, well, that's another story...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#90Mood(Jam)3.88
#94Audio(Jam)3.81
#190Innovation(Jam)3.58
#232Graphics(Jam)3.91
#326Theme(Jam)3.62
#346Overall(Jam)3.44
#474Humor(Jam)2.57
#490Fun(Jam)3.19

Comments

AuthorX says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:46am

Good graphics and sound, but unclear on how I was supposed to determine which people or things were shapeshifters. When the sonar was click, sometimes I just got lucky, other times I killed a necessary crew member. The darkness was jumpy, but otherwise a really good idea that added a lot to the atmosphere.

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:04pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:24am

Really nice ambience and graphics. Once i discover that I shoulkd be killing all the crew members it made sense. The lighting can be buggy when close to a wall... Good job!

w1n5t0n says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:48am

perfect audio

Benjamin-L says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:25am

Very nice graphics and audio. My main complaint is that the FOV is very buggy but overall I liked it.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:59am

Great concept, cool graphics and thrilling atmosphere, it could be one of the best games that I played during this LD, but the bugged FOV makes it nearly unplayable. I'm really sad about it :(

Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:00pm

I could not figure out how to read the sonar. It looked like it just always displayed the same image upon activation, which doesn't seem right. So losing Security didn't even seem to matter.

But I really liked the idea, and it was very atmospheric. I killed things/crew in the reactor room very early on and that made things a little difficult, and definitely heightened how atmospheric it was ;)

Nice work!

jakass says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:17pm

I love the art! but i think you miss some tutorial...:o

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:33pm

This is one of those titles. The idea is marvellous, but the design is a bit all over the place.

First the good news; the presentation is great. The shadows need some more work, but that's about it. The atmosphere is excellent as well.

Unfortunately the gameplay clashes pretty bad with the simulation. Hunting down the enemy is arduous, random and finicky. Here's why:

- Only one weapon charge at a time. Why would anyone create a weapon like that, let alone use it against a menace like this? Just give me an assault rifle or a shotgun. Do they still make those in the future?

- The shapeshifter can move though vents. A cool feature on its own, very Alien, but it makes the enemy pretty much impossible to eradicate effectively (which is what the Exterminator is supposed to be good at!)

- Different departments of the ship control different parts of the ship. Once again a cool idea which makes sense in the setting, but in its current state renders the game impossible to finish. The sonar is your only chance of locating the enemy, but it's gone in a jiffy (the guys in security seem to be incapable of defending themselves). All doors locking down with the bridge takes the cake though.

These problems are relatively easy to design around, so no worries:

- Add more weapon charges and a melee attack just in case. The exterminator is supposed to be a tough SOB. The fact that you cannot be everywhere is the problem, not crappy equipment.

- No more vents. The shapeshifter's special ability to turn into any object should be its only ability. If you start shooting up the furniture in a room, all (or most) shapeshifters will run away from the room possibly attacking civilians as they go. They only fight you when cornered. Eradicating the enemy should be easy, figuring out where to shoot and what (and being ready to deal with the consequences) is the problem.

- The sonar should not go down with the security department. Maybe they could have camera access and give you hints whenever they see the enemy move around instead. This would be a nice bonus, but losing it is not the end of world. Another possibility is to make them patrol around with guns. A bit of help goes a long way.

- If the doors lock up there should be a manual override (or a blowtorch) you could use to get through. Doing this is very slow to balance it out.
You should also be able to request the bridge to lock down doors to quarantine areas (if the bridge is functional, that is). The downside is that enemies locked into a room with civilians tend to kill said civilians with ease and the room cannot function while locked.

- Less shapeshifters, more civilian activity. The enemy is willing to wait for the right movement for as long as needed. With people walking about, working, eating, etc. there are bound to be many avenues for the beasties to go for the kill. Stepping or sitting on a shapeshifter is a death penalty of course.

With chances like these the gameplay becomes much more manageable and, dare I say, interesting. After all games are about decision making so choosing which areas to secure first and how to do that become the key questions.

I love ideas which elicit lots of analysis. There's potential in this one, so I hope you continue developing it.

kaovhmf says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:23pm

Great atmosphere done with the audio and the lightning. I didnt really know i could die until I did so maybe a better feedback on hp would be nice. The shadows are quite buggy and that doesnt help much, but it was still fun to play!

Aaranos says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:06pm

Nice game, it is a bit hard to see with the way line of sight works, but it is manageable.

jacobturn says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:47pm

i like the idea...
but,the gameplay is wonky

Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:50pm

Cool!

tentacode says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:33pm

Watch out for non azerty friendly inputs next time :) nice concept and graphics

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:21am

Nice art, interface, and audio. They really did their job in setting the perfect mood for this game. The lighting/fog of war was really distracting though, made the game a bit annoying at times. Reminds me alot of those user map setting games from Starcraft!

Uson Chen says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 8:58am

Cool idea~

guoboism says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 10:40am

Wander in a dgn and kill anything that moves?

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 11:17am

Nice game. There are some bugs but good idea.

SUNFURY says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 12:55pm

Nice mood and graphics,
I didn't like the lighting though, I couldn't see anything.
Beside this, a very nice game! :)

sndr says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 1:44pm

Nice entry! I really like the theme idea!! :), although at the beginning I found it a little bit hard to figure out whether I was doing the right thing or not.

TheCain says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 4:51pm

This game had some issues, but it was pretty fun.
The shadows were broken on mine, it made it very difficult to tell where i was.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]