Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Günther's Abduction

by franklyn - Compo Entry

Günther woke up in a strange facility with nothing but a strange gun.

The gun kills enemies instantly but Günther has to face the consequences.

WASD to move, mouse to aim.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#284Humor2.72
#350Audio2.95
#586Mood2.74
#658Theme3.06
#685Overall2.94
#702Fun2.78
#769Graphics2.43
#813Innovation2.48

Comments

Daws says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:20am

Really fun and easy to pick up! I love the lighting.

roxflame says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:28am

Had some trouble with the controls initially, with the mouse being required I found myself right clicking and bringing up a non-game menu... Nice work on the 2D grid raytracing :)

jdmazz says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:32am

I really, really liked this. The music is great -- 5-stars there! I love the baroque/harpsichord sound of it. Mood is actually very good, too. Feels quite eerie. Quite frankly, the weapon transforming the player as backlash is awesome, too. Graphics are whatever, but overall I like it a lot.

candlesan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:59am

Good music! :) I also like the attention put into having multiple tiles on platforms, edges, corners, etc.

manabreak says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:32am

Played it to completion and enjoyed it! At first it felt a bit odd, but as I progressed, I didn't mind anymore, and really wanted to browse more. :)

ougrouk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:56am

Nice game overall, the music is very appreciated

Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:58am

Nice! Really liked the reveal/FOW effect, and the idea to take on your enemies and their properties is really fun.

Check out my game, Tito's Revenge:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=65699

F4KETHIS says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:16am

I wasn't quit sure what I was doing when I was changing shape? It felt like I was moving/jumping differently but I couldn't really tell how. It was fun though!

Katamori says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:16am

Quite mediocre, but I appreciate the theme and the raycasting!

adamprack says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:17am

This is a really solid entry! I enjoyed the lighting tricks, the shapeshifting is neat (though kind of minor), and the level was quite large! I liked all the different areas, and the one-shot style of the gun made me plan my shots. It movement was a bit wonky, and the character design was obviously not the highlight of the game, but it was neat! I enjoyed seeing (SPOILERS!) Gunther happily escape at the end. I wasn't quite as big a fan of the music as some others because it didn't seem like quite the right mood for the game, but it was a good effort nonetheless. I would've loved to have heard more than just the firing gun! I enjoyed it overall, though!

Jordan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:37am

Neat art and shadows! I enjoyed myself.

Autovelop says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:40am

Well done with the music. Figuring out the controls wasn't too difficult but I also got the right-click issue. I also didn't understand why the shapeshifting happened or what effect it has.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:46am

Nice lighting, and good music.

Yarg says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:47am

Good game. I wish mutations will change not only outfit but some character changes to like speed, aim accuracy, armour, etc

P.S. Music didn't play

Jukepoks1 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:32pm

nice shapeshift mechanic. I wish there would be more to do. got bit stuck at the bottom. I like the see distance thingie.

FerraWare says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:55pm

Fun and simple, could be more fun if you could shoot bullets faster. Great lighting!

AlexLamarche says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:50pm

Made me laugh at the end :)

egos says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:42pm

fun and well realized good job
There are no use of the transformation ?

cynicalmonkey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:18pm

would of liked a more noticeable change with the transformations to the control of the player but really enjoyed the basic concept

vootele says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:32pm

Really annoting shooting sound. But really cool and huge level!

mukult says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:14pm

Damn the lights!! Awesome!! Would have loved some sounds though!!

freeloader says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:19am

Nice... but not much of challenge there..

gurkenlabs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:16am

I liked the music! the sounds, however, were quite annoying.

psychonull says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:15am

Nice game. I really love the music and sounds, great work there. Nice entry overall!

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:36am

The mood was perfect for this game! I did get lost and could not figure out where to go! I like how you made the level change as you were moving. At the beginning of the Dare, I had thought about making a level where you had to press a button to move the platform but I just could not figure out how to make that flow. You did perfect at it though. Excellent job

sharrackor says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:55am

I liked quite a few of the features of this game. The shadows are cool and unique, the music is good, and the cartoony artstyle is interesting! The shapeshifting was a cool idea, but I didn't see any major effects that altered the gameplay from them; maybe include an explanation? More animations would also have been nice for the player, but that's nowhere near a major problem. Two big thumbs up from me! :D

guckstift says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:29pm

If found the FOV mechanics really cool.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:41pm

Solid base to make a good game ! This shadow mechanic suits very well

Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:50am

the music is great, game is quite pleasant (reminds me of "abuse"). field of view is sweet, and the controls are comfortable. only the graphics could be more homogenous, and the levels a bit richer?

kabel says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:59pm

I am not sure, it has both good and bad qualities, the sounds and music were terrible, while the visuals were nice, although it lacked animations

derr says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:43am

Great level design and lighting effect! The fire sound was a bit harsh on my ears, maybe run that through a low-pass filter or EQ out some of the highs.

And that derpy grin at the end made me laugh. xD

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]