Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Capital Offense

by GAFBlizzard - Compo Entry

Theme: Shapeshift

No mouse clicks needed once the game starts.

Shift between forms to use different weapons. Shift into charged form for a CAPITAL OFFENSE.

I ran out of time and did not put in music or audio, sorry about that. To improve your enjoyment, open this in a new tab and launch the game: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GN0LhQRqMEs

Known bugs:
* Key setup does not warn you that only alphabet keys are allowed.
* Key setup does not prevent you from selecting the same key twice, which breaks the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#168Innovation3.65
#190Fun3.54
#320Humor2.62
#322Overall3.37
#380Mood3.04
#561Graphics2.81
#766Theme2.85
#1350Coolness45%

Comments

Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:08am

Pretty fun game. Slightly retro, yet also modern. I like that you can map the keys at the start, since comfortably reaching all 5 keys without looking is pretty crucial to staying alive.

Good job, and good luck!

terop says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:30am

pretty retro graphics.

namrog84 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:36am

pow pow! Shoot down those evil letters!

adamprack says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:41am

This was pretty neat and the key mapping at the start was great. I enjoyed that you eased us into using all five, though the enemy units got hectic pretty quickly. Cool idea with a neat style, though the theme doesn't come through all that clearly.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:51am

Nice one. Very hard, only made it to level 4. :D Too bad you didn't have time for sound, that would certainly have lifted the experience. :)

sol_hsa says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:58am

Interesting.. very challenging, though. Some sound would have been nice.

nopogo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:32am

Cool game, reminded me of defender. Really difficult

MrDave says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:01am

This is a great game, I really like how it looks. Reminds me of the old games I used to play.

I have two small issues; I couldn’t work out how to pick the direction of the redirect. Also I didn’t like how the bombs wouldn’t kill the enemy if it hit them, only if they exploded near them. However those are only two minor problems on what is otherwise a very good game.

Good job!

dunin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:23pm

I'm too bad in this game. s much keys and different weapons! Aaah!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:37pm

@MrDave those were by design, but they are understandably frustrating. :P I figured the bombs would be too easy otherwise.

The redirect happens once the target point is reached, and depends whether you fired right or left at the start. But yeah it isn't obvious.

pjimmy says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:58pm

Cool retro aesthetics

freeloader says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:09pm

Pretty creative and well put together, nice entry man!

tanjent says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:40pm

Awesome execution .. text based yet very graphical. And bonus for the added nostalgia from ancient BBS ANSI games :) It should really have some PC-speaker crunch sound fx for extra feels (but played some dub reggae instead!)

subpixel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:12am

Huge bonus points for the remap phase at the start; international support FTW!

I really enjoyed this. It's largely self explanatory, but there's a really pleasurable learning phase, even if you instantly remember missile command. I thought the character mode graphics were pretty retro neat too.

There are some oddities in the spawn patterns (things spawning on top of each other) that could use some cleaning up perhaps. Have you considered designing the waves rather than going random?

M2tias says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:18am

Nice shooter! I used to love Missile Command. Gameplay is solid, but the small height of the screen and quick ramping of the difficulty makes it a really hard game. Well done, but next time, don't let player bind one key to all of the actions :D

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:44am

@subpixel With limited time I didn't bother designing the waves. It might have been neat to let the player memorize the positions.

@M2tias Yeah, it's a bug that all keys can be the same thing. :(

SPRidley says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:09pm

This is a fun little game, its pretty hard, and its a pity because one second you seem to have the hang of it, while the next your a compeltly oblivierated. I think if the begginign of the game would have been better paced, it would have been a super great game. Something that could help that is presenting the bombs in the thrid or fourth level instead of the 2, as they are a little tricky to use, more than the bouncing letters and the split ones. Also maybe for the first 4 levels start presenting slower this different letters and mechanics, until you get to the 5th and things start mixing up, then you can start ramping up the difficulty super fast. Overall I had fun, the graphics remind me to the old european gaming industry pcs.

mutonizer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:39pm

Very cool and intercepting take on the theme but hard to properly appreciate past the early stages as controls have different kind of responses to input (especially #2 and #4).

Otherwise, very clever idea on the keybinding at the start, simple and yet very effective!

All in all, very nice entry, kudos.

neontropics says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:44pm

This is really good, great gameplay. It gets hard as hell pretty quickly.

Some visual and/or aural feedback when shooting stuff will probably make it a lot more satisfactory as well! Also some noise when losing health would improve the gameplay as well, in the middle of it all you don't really have that much time to look at the health.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:49pm

Very solid game with a great mechanic. It's hard, but it's addicting too.
It's sad that you didn't have enough time to add some sound.
Anyways, great job!

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 6:10am

I like, and the letters graphic remember me good times

May 1, 2016 @ 11:10am

The ascii style was great at giving it that real retro vibe which worked nicely. Also liked that you allowed the player to setup the 5 keys before beginning. Definitely made it easier. The variety in the weapons also helped keep the gameplay interesting.

pixelpotions says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 6:43pm

Pretty fun!! I loved the idea the aplication, the minimalist visual and the freedom it gives to the player!
It's very challenging but also very enjoyable! Well done.

May 3, 2016 @ 2:20pm

This is quite challenging game, I'm playing this all these days whenever I had time, and each time I tend to like it even more. One of the best entries so far.

LukeZaz says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 1:02am

The second weapon was a little confusing for a while as I didn't know it exploded at the mouse position, but otherwise a very interesting concept. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]