Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

PERMUTATE

by TravisChen - Jam Entry

PERMUTATE. You are the shapes. And the shapes thirst. Shapes are the means of collection, and through collection, the shapes have meaning.

You shift the shapes. The shapes shift you.

CONTROLS
1 2 3 4 - Pulse Shape
SHIFT - Shape Shift
MOUSE - Rotate Cam
WHEEL - Zoom Cam

Follow us on twitter!
@TravisChen
@ShiftlessHobo

WebGL Notes: While the other builds run at 60 fps, the WebGl build runs at about 30-40 FPS. Upon launching, there is a spike that goes away after roughly 5 seconds.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#16Innovation(Jam)4.29
#90Theme(Jam)4.01
#94Audio(Jam)3.81
#95Overall(Jam)3.86
#120Mood(Jam)3.79
#177Graphics(Jam)4.03
#320Humor(Jam)2.90
#365Fun(Jam)3.33

Comments

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:54am

bro this game is SUPERB, it is amazin!! good use of theme and personally i quite like the graphics (art style). this is a good game

Ogniok says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:12am

Well thought game with a great mechanic system!

Noro says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:12am

The game looks REALLY, REALLY well, plays really well, feels well, and sounds well. The whole game is really good except that I got frustrated with the controls because they were challenging, but I think that's what you were going for and it worked. Overall good game.

Ogniok says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:12am

Well thought game with a great mechanic system!

sndr says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:16am

I really love the graphics of this game! The gameplay is quite relaxing, but also requires focusing.
I got 10 rings in total before deciding that it was time to go to bed :)

Aaranos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:21am

I like the idea of it but god is it hard to control. I think I spent 10 minutes on it and only got 3 rings.

kutan74 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:23am

love the gameplay mechanics

Corinator says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:24am

Absolutely fantastic! I love the sound design and movement mechanics!

Wisedawn says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:25am

A cool art style and a very nice take on the QWOP style gameplay!

Ghust1995 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:27am

Hey, very interesting game, the abstract art reminds the one I made. The controls are a little bit frustrating taking a little of the fun of the game.

danieldsj says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:29am

This is very original. I think it's the most innovative game I've seen so far. The mechanics are very interesting, but difficult to learn. Goal and consequences are not all that clear. Great job!

Lancelot Gao says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:33am

wonderful game and worth to play.Love the art!

Lancelot Gao says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:45am

The graphics are beautiful. Great work!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:52am

Definitely an interesting game.. :D

kariamoss says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:03am

Really great! Graphics, audio, innovation... Awesome!
Maybe just the gameplay, too difficult to control the shape..

11Schotter says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:17am

wonderful absurd gameplay, and one of the best audio LD35 games!

jofra says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:20am

I loved the mood and the graphics! Very unique mechaninic but a very hard one.

ponywolf says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:21am

Very nice. I have soem performance problems in full screen mode, but windowed it ran like a charm. Nice work!

edgeofcode says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:23am

Really great game!

Auroratide says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:24am

Pretty cool idea, and nice use of the physics engine! Imagine if you had multiple people playing this at once, each with a different shape.

torcado says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:36am

really really interesting!! i loved the mechanic. the sounds and visuals are great too. awesome game

EthanBierlein says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:56am

The ambiance in this game is very calming and relaxing. The mechanics are very unique and interesting as well.

bellum128 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:22am

The sounds were hilarious! :D

madmarcel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:29am

Love the graphics. Controlling those things was freakin hard though.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:35am

Great game, challenging but rewarding.

huminaboz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:44am

Haha, this is great. QWOP 3D. The sound is great too, really goes with the atmosphere.

eric777 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:04am

Fantastic entry. The work you put into the level design really shows. Excellent concept, perfect with the theme. Audio was outstanding.

Danoli3 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:17am

Awesome :D!

Pestel Crew says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:52am

It is a really good game. Nice concept and realization. It's very hard but I like it. Art style is amazing too

Headmade says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:39am

The mechanic is brilliant, I wonder of I could master the movement so I could actually control where I'm going, instead of me button mashing. Very pleasing aesthetics and sound scape. Great entry!

usonchen says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:31am

grate mechanic system

usonchen says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:00am

good physics system and like the color style. Except the confusing about the goal and force can be more significant

Otixa says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:13am

Really good looking. Loved the sounds and it's pretty fun

varuns says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:55am

The WebGL build takes forever to load. Nice visuals!

Arnage says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:56am

Love that you switch between such unique shapes.

I did manage to fall out of the world, though I could continue playing with the other shapes :)

Anikki says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:11am

Interesting idea, but very frustrating to play.

Palys Plays says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:15am

Finished whole game. I loved it, but some shapes are too unpredictable. Flying cross rules!

caporaltito says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:09pm

Weird and amazing.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:04pm

The game really shows off that it is something different right away! I feel like the controls are intentionally frustrating, which adds to the mood, but takes away from the fun for me. Great job!

Pickens Inc. says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:39pm

Insanely hard, might be because I'm a tad colourblind ^^.
Really innovative, challenging concept, cute implementation :)

cabezotta says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:41pm

Probably one of the best games i've played so far! Very original use of the theme! Awesome job!

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:54pm

An inteligent and original use of the theme!! Really good!!

jeroenwimmers says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:06pm

Such a weird game :D
I like the "CHICKIWOB" sound. and actually the whole sound sound design. did you do anything special to produce them?

CalmKai says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:32pm

Good game!

pss says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:08pm

What a delightful yet frustrating experience. Spent a good 23 minutes collecting all the rings. It would be easier to see where things are (depth-wise) if the shapes would cast shadows. Great work anyhow!

SeaMonsterGD says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:21pm

The atmosphere is great, feels mysterious and the sound design is just right. You weren't afraid to try something different but I have to admit i got frustrated with the controls and mechanics. I couldn't finish the game or feel that I mastered the controls.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:34pm

I had quite a bit of fun playing this. There are some shapes I prefer over others but it was enjoyable. It felt a bit more like a toy than an actual game, but it didn't diminish the fun. Loved the calm mood and the funny sounds the items made.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:57pm

The audio and 3d UI animations is that polish that I love! Original an innovative, why I didint think about moving rigidbodies by pushing other rigidbodies it for this LD?!

Bacontree says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:10pm

Sick! :)

josemwarrior says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:15pm

One of the most original puzzles of the compo, my congrats!! :D

Blobo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:39pm

This was amazing! I found it a lt of fun to mash buttons and go launching into the sky.

mkghoster says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:57pm

I don't know what I've played but did for a certain period of time! :D

Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:45pm

Very cool concept, liked the graphics and was fun having multiple things to control.

SojaBird says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:15pm

Really well though concept and nice looking art, the mood is there with the audio.

Almax27 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:58pm

Graphics are well done and great thought up concept! Found it funny on collecting the 10th ring if the object is on a certain angle and press the controls, it will forever keep going up in the air, Loved it!

medidog says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:13am

It takes so much time to get every ring but it is really fun and love all the different shapes in the game :) Well done guys!

fullmontis says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:57am

Excellent graphical style, and I like that you have so many different forms to choose from. The controls are terrible, I know it is on purpose but makes up for a frustrating gameplay, and yet it is auite interesting to fiddle with.

pixelgriffin says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:17am

Really unique idea, loved every bit of it!

01101101 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:13pm

Really good-looking game with a pretty original mechanic.
The overall mood is great, with those sounds and ambient music, very unique.
The only thing that bothered me was the controls choices: I can't have my fingers on 1-2-3-4 and reach the Shift key at the same time, unless I use both hands but then I can't use the mouse.
You guys did an amazing job anyway, congrats!

APantaloni says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:59pm

Very interesting. Playing around with the various shapes is fun. The sound effects are great and the background music fits the experience. Some of the shapes are pretty hard to control properly, but I guess that's the point. Well done!

Freank says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:04am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

axoona says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:59am

very innovative! The concept is interesting and the approach to the theme.
I really liked the music and sounds

Molpe says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 4:32pm

Hi, nice game! Love the sound effects and the colors you chose x)

I've made a short let's play video, if you want to check it out: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FhA7TvR1m1w

MementoGames says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 1:05am

Awesome entry! Very charming!
I found the controls a little bit "out of control".

TheCain says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 12:32am

I will never beat this, but it was fun to try.
Good job. Very well polished.

SaintHeiser says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 7:25am

Very good entry! Love the idea!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]