Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Signed Distance Shift

by netgrind - Compo Entry

Created last minute in 5 hours
Warp your way through a hidden maze and get to the edge of the screen and zoom down the rabbit hole

I have no idea if this works on mac or linux, if you wouldn't mind pinging me in the comments if it does/doesn't that would be great :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#20Graphics4.41
#124Innovation3.76
#197Mood3.34
#466Overall3.21
#470Theme3.35
#606Humor1.22
#819Fun2.53
#1483Coolness41%

Comments

mukult says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:08am

Woah!! Amazing game!! The effects are amazing!!

nickavv says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:09am

This is one of the most visually astounding things I've seen, not just in this game jam but period. I could stare at it all day. Pretty frustrating gameplay when you lose the form and have to start over, but worth it for those graphics

Membrane says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:11am

Gorgeous and curious

rosden shadow says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:14am

great game! really cool!

sepharoth213 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:15am

SICK graphics! i like your other work too.

game doesn't run very well on my computer (mbpr arch linux) but i think that's just because my resolution is so high

BloodJohn says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:39am

beatiful demo

egos says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:39am

Impressive job
The visual is stunning and the idea simple but work very well
Good job

manabreak says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:39am

Really awesome take on the theme! Took a while to really understand what's going on, but in the end I really enjoyed it. Could have used some spooky music, though. :)

ougrouk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:42am

Impressive, really impressive. I shall dig in your source to see how you made that trippy stuff!
Great entry, great game.

swellbastion says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:44am

Super cool. Theres a real sense of anxiety when the sceen gets dark.

Ithildin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:49am

Awesome! Visuals are great, and I love the take on the theme, the concept reminds me of a game we played when we were kids (and I've just learned it's called Hunt the Thimble).

ponk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:06am

OooOOoohh... !! So gooOOoood ! I love it so much ! 5 stars !!

Aaranos says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:29pm

Interesting maze. I couldn't figure out where the exit for 2 was because I just kept going in circles.

Ted Brown says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:28am

Freaky. Total jam game. Loved it.

mitkus says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:20pm

Whoa, trippy!

tompudding says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:47pm

Crazy idea, really interesting and unusual gameplay, and of course it looks mind-glowingly great. Stunning stuff

guoboism says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:35pm

Find a hidden path while watching for changes in the stunning graphics in animation?

Insality says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 6:45am

idea and implementation are beautiful. Good job!

Hjalte500 says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 12:10pm

Gameplay is a bit frustrating but the game is beautiful!

hippy dave says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:21pm

Nice little game, awesome visual effect. The mac version works fine btw.

Naca says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:27pm

It does not work properly on Linux. It runs, but the visual effects don't show up. I mean that on Linux is just a black screen with a white path that you can easily follow :D I'll be playing it on Windows later.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:01pm

An amazing work on shaders. Really hypnotical. Weird. Good ++

Crimson713 says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:09pm

Challenging gameplay, mindblowing graphics. Great job!

SHLFStudios says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:42pm

very impressive visuals. i should have read the description a little better because i had no idea what was going on at first, but i eventually figured it out.

tomlum says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 9:22pm

Absolutely gorgeous game. The mechanic and aesthetic work surprisingly well together. With some music and sound this could be really stellar

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]