Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shapewings

by eolhing - Compo Entry

You're in command of the brand new shapewings unit !
More powerful than ever with up to three custom high-quality premium finish shapes !
Destroy your enemies by adapting to them and shooting them before the shoot you !

[Controls]
- Space : Shoot
- Arrow keys : Move
- Double Tap Arrow Keys : Barrel roll and shapeshift

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#130Fun3.64
#173Overall3.60
#286Theme3.64
#297Mood3.17
#342Graphics3.32
#370Audio2.91
#403Innovation3.20
#403Humor2.37
#1483Coolness41%

Comments

urfbound says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:14am

Cool game! Great combo of Lode Runner and Ikaruga. The sound effects were a feature I really liked. In combination with the colour use they helped me figure out which shape is effective against which enemies. Big points for the barrel rolls. If you were to keep running with this game, some things I would recommend would be mapping each form to a double-tap in a particular direction, rather than double-tapping to cycle, a crosshair for aiming, and maybe a way that particular forms would give you Ikaruga-style shielding. I liked the ship animations a lot, especially for the enemies. Overall a really fun game! Thanks for submitting! :D

PixelStuff says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:16pm

Really liked the view angle you have chosen ! Would be fun to have it on mobile :)

Z4f1 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:18pm

Cool concept! The game looks great.

sylveax says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:25pm

Good looking and nice touch on the theme. DO A BARREL SHAPESHIFT!

Tatos says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:21pm

Funny game! I found that the aiming system was a bit tricky.

Ken Ichi says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:30pm

Nice game! It´s remembers me the Space Harrier from Master System =]

Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:59pm

Great entry, i like the barrel roll xD.

ployer says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:08pm

Well done. I had a bit of trouble seeing the color difference between green and blue. And i think maybe putting a bit of transparency on your "ship" might be helpful to see better when trying to aim. good job

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:37pm

Great game! Cool graphics (love the shift animations!) and sound. It's a bit too difficult in my opinion, but fun nevertheless.

Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:08am

This is a very good game, immersion after some seconds.

grayhaze says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:10pm

A fun cross between Starfox and Space Harrier with pleasing visuals and good music. I really enjoyed this, but sometimes found the perspective tricky to judge. The barrel rolls were fun, but the shapeshifting seemed a little incidental as the change was more to do with matching colour than shape. Well done! :)

Squarlboy says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:57am

I sometimes shapeshift when i didn't intend to, but beyond that it is a very fun game!

dj_pale says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:02pm

Nice execution. Had a bit trouble beating the enemy and understanding how. Maybe make it a bit more fast phased with weaker and more enemies?

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:37pm

Definitely has a Star Fox vibe going for it. Really clever way to shapeshift.

The music and sound effects were pretty loud, as I was playing with headphones on at 50% volume.

damrem says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:45am

Good vibe!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]