Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Rayshifting

by ponk - Compo Entry

Find the initial shape by moving the mouse. Click to orbit camera.

Made by Leon Denise with Pixi.js for Ludum Dare #35 'Shapeshifting'

Effects are made with raymarching shaders

Started lately so there is not a lot of levels.
I will probably do a collab' with friends to help me making interesting levels.

Newgrounds page : http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/673456
Itch.io page : https://leon.itch.io/rayshifting
Code sources : https://github.com/leon196/Shapeshift

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#39Theme4.17
#96Innovation3.84
#210Graphics3.60
#523Overall3.15
#775Fun2.63

Comments

htspencer88 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:19am

Its like an acid trip on tap, I love it!

More levels would be great as well as some randomisation for replay value. Overall, I really like it!

Cerno_b says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:26am

Great one! I love how you represented the different distortion parameters using two axes. Only minor quibble (apart from the obviously missing sound and music) is that it wasn't clear to me whether I have to click a pixel or just hover over it. After the third try I figured it out though.

ThePaperPilot says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:50am

That was really good fun!

ponk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:07am

Thanks a lot !!
If you liked my game, you should try this awesome entry from netgrind :
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=12128

sez says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:18pm

Nice effect! Really trippy :)

crazyrems says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:49pm

That's a great idea, I love those shapes.
Calm and beautiful.

Ovidios says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:44pm

I did not at all get what I was doing... xD
Even though I kinda just moved my mouse in the direction that made the shape seem more right, I did enjoy playing it for a short while.

TheCain says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:48pm

My one complaint is that the shapes were all the same.
Other than that, solid Compo.

thristhart says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:12am

This was a relaxing and pretty showcase of some really cool effects! When playing, I was imagining how rad it would be to look at the shapes I was generating, in VR.

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:33am

Very nice use of shaders!
All of my initial shapes were boxes, would have been interesting to find the distorted shape in the grid.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:15am

Surprisingly hard. Nice effects!

sepharoth213 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:09am

nice shaders! thanks for the input feedback on my project

wish there were more interesting puzzles, but what it is now is really promising!

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:20pm

Really bizarre visuals, but a really clever use of shaders in a game! :)

aemiliu5 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:00pm

the graphics are really cool!
try making more levels!

RoboRob says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:09pm

This one looked really pretty + it was fun to play around with the distortions.

markusfisch says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:00pm

Really interesting game! Love the simplicity! Well done!

tjxx says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:22am

I liked it! Awesome use of the shaders!

SamH says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:20am

Hi dude! Found your entry totally randomly. The idea is interesting and the effects look very demo-ish. Are there only cubes to solve or do you get other shapes later on?

plaguespark says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:24am

So dynamic. And calming

Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:37am

Very cool effects, great work, but when you've done one, you know how to do them all, perhaps put more shapes instead of using only a box, the game could have more variety and difficulty.

ianh says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:24pm

This is surprisingly fun for how simple it is! Nice work.

grayhaze says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:39pm

A really original idea with some eye popping visuals. I found this quite relaxing to fiddle with, although it could have done with some more "shapes" than just a cube to add variety. Good work! :)

Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:05pm

The effect of the shader looks awesome, but i think the player could not have idea how to play or what is the goal of the game, with a little bit of design and gameplay mecanics the game could improve a lot. Anyway, great game and idea!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:08pm

And I thought my game was hard! I thought at first. Then once I learned it, this wasn't that difficult. I like the idea of using raymarching and it fits really well with the theme.

Soron says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:16am

Wow, that is trippy and cool. Well done!

Mr MadCat says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:53am

Wow, very cool use of shaders. I really like the game. Very simple but still fun. Would have been cool if there had been some different puzzles, because at the 6th or 7th level, the interest starts to drop of a little bit.
All in all very cool entry in the short amount of time.

docteurSid says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:15pm

That's awesome ! I like this very new idea !

ponk says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:02pm

Hi!
Thank you so much for all your nice words!
Yes the levels are pretty simple and the shapes are not very intersting.
I can not work on the project for the moment, but I will post an update as soon as possible.
Thanks again for your compliments!!

matt beckett says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:32pm

Woa

glbs says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 2:03pm

You got interesting results onscreen, but more than pure visual effect I like it when you use streetview-like cubemaps. It creates strange places.

Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:58pm

Really cool idea, I love it. However, it would be nice if it was really "memorize this shape" and not "find the cube."

Make more puzzles! It's great.

Llucile says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:54pm

I didn't expect less :D

oxysoft says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 5:38am

fucking brillant use of raymarching shaders. they are still a mystery to me and this feels like black magic but damn I loved this. to make this even more perfect, have different shapes rather than just a box that we're looking for.

marmpa says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:51am

Nice idea!!

torcado says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:59pm

really nice effects! i wish the shape wasnt always a cube though

May 1, 2016 @ 10:15am

Unique concept, liked the distortion effect and was a nice twist on finding the pixel game.

wboqm says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 7:39am

Great idea; thought it might be more effective if some of the transformations were more subtle. Having a timed mode or some other incentive may also be more interesting.

Simon says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 12:46pm

I would love to use it to destroy shapes instead of trying to find it :)

syst3m_ERROR says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 6:54pm

I really liked the concept, had a lot of fun figuring out how it worked and playing with the mechanics.

broknecho says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:51pm

Really cool concept here! Most of the time I did just try to find where the shape merged back into a square and then wiggled my mouse around there to find the right spot. The instructions to memorize the shape covered the shape as well which is probably not what you want.

Nice tech demo and looks great for 48 hours! Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]