Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Polydrone

by graebor - Jam Entry

Using a controller is highly recommended if you're able to! Browser version (WebGL) and standalone build downloads can all be found on the itch.io page linked below :)

Reshape your drones to battle enemies and go for the high score! Controls are fairly simple and are explained in the game.

Team:
@graebor - Code
@amymja - Art
@CadillacLoops - Audio

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#31Overall(Jam)4.10
#32Fun(Jam)4.00
#38Audio(Jam)4.04
#40Innovation(Jam)4.08
#41Graphics(Jam)4.47
#130Mood(Jam)3.75
#252Theme(Jam)3.71
#438Humor(Jam)2.64
#1160Coolness49%

Comments

PremadeGames says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:44pm

I really liked the graphics and the gameplay!

Blister says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:38pm

Really nice game and concept !

jdeuce says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:38pm

Controls took a bit to get used to, but plays really nice

rossborchers says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:29pm

Allot of depth in the way you can order the drones to create different effects... but a bit difficult to select the one you want. Nice overall package.

goffmog says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:43pm

Cracking presentation, audio, and gameplay, and lots done in 3 days, well done indeed! This one feels is near the top of the pile for sure.

concalf says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:49pm

Took me a few moments to get the controls, but wow i love the gameplay!

Robber says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:50pm

amazing!! I love the mechanics!! my highscore so far: 19290

pianoman373 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:10pm

Really great concept, fun and fast paced, and top notch graphics. My only complaint is i wish it had mouse support.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:26pm

This is polished and fun. Really freaking cool concept.

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:27pm

That's a cool game with a cool new mechanic!
We just played it on our twitch channel life as one of our games!

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:28pm

Really cool !

David Cookie says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:55pm

Wow! Great visuals and super fun to play! Just hard to really target the enemies properly, cause I'm too focused on getting my ships avoid them. Otherwhise it's preeetty good for a 3 days dev :o

SkullPixel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:45am

This is ridiculously innovative. The graphics are really pretty too. You lucky people who have teams. :D

Wefiends says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:03am

I can't say I really knew what I was doing, but it didn't really matter. It was all so satisfying and intense, the amount of polish you guys squeezed out of this in such a short time is really impressive. I only wish there was some way to control everything a little more precisely, but maybe I just need practice.

luvShape says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:14am

Classicly fun game! Had great time playing it!

Lancelot Gao says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:49am

Very fun. The graphics are beautiful. Great work!

tppr2046 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:09am

Exciting and fun! I like the concept! Keep working, I want to buy it!

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:09pm

Great job, nice graphics and really fun. Challenging too which I like. I'm imagining this on mobile where you can move the drones with your finger, think it would work better :) Cheers!

A333 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:08pm

I DONT KNOW WHAT IM DOING BUT IT'S AWESOME summarizes my experience of the first two minutes.

Paploum says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:13am

This game is really cool, the concept is really interesting. Is fun to play. I wonder what would give this game in multiplayer , it could be funny to have to survive by controlling his drone individually.
Good job!

Husky says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:58am

Wow, this one is really good, nice polished and solid!
It's so interesting to use the theme as a shooting game in this way, the graphics are also stylish and gorgeous, good job :D

managore says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:58am

Fantastic look, feel and gameplay! Really nice build up of action and difficulty, and a very different attack method that means you really have to think about positioning. 58987!

drazil100 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:48am

Fun concept.. very unique.

Freank says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:31pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

TheBreakfast says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:46am

This game looks and sounds amazing, and it's a really cool new take on the bullet hell genre. I love that there are multiple ways to strategize. For example, in one round, I played defensively, keeping my shape small and aiming to the outside. On my second round, I shot towards my inside, and surrounded enemies aggressively. I found the "death net" strategy was a lot more effective.

Amazing job as always!

Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:51pm

Really awesome game with great graphics! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/ZcRqGTT86gc

Ellian says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 10:27am

Woah, that was insane.
How did you guys do this in such a short time? That's an actual real full game you have there! It's great, innovative and super satisfying to play! Amazing work guys, full score. All the kudos!

Zyow says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 11:16am

Fun and graphics are really cool! Well done!

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 4:25pm

Good shooter with a frenetic gameplay. Nice aesthetic. Well done ++

May 2, 2016 @ 9:01pm

Wow, pretty nice entry, a lot of fun, nice music and graphics, and a lot of small details than makes the game feel really polish :) good job

SantiHisteria says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 6:12pm

Wow!! It's fuckin crazy!! :D I like it! Awesome graphics and audio!

thiagowaw says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 4:33pm

Great game! nice graphics and gameplay :D

May 5, 2016 @ 5:00pm

You have been featured on today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9i0IenE6HQE

01010111 says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:33pm

Really amazing concept, extremely well executed! I really enjoyed playing, and the graphics and audio are really on point!

MintArcade says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 8:19pm

Stunning, just stunning. Controls little bit hard at first, but I think that handling is actually wonderful. Nicely done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]