Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

neon:morph 2000

by JonathanG - Jam Entry

Explore the world of neon:morph 2000 with your morphing powers! Unlock transformations which give you special abilities! But what those abilities are is a mystery!

For an extra challenge, collect all 40 neon artifacts!

NOTE - it's a good idea to click within the game and allow the browser to hide your cursor, or play the game fullscreen!

-------------------
Made by: Jonathan, Ricky, Thom, Dunk and Cat

Update 1: Improved the grammar in the end-of-level message
Update 2: Fixed a bug which caused the tutorial controls to remain on screen instead of displaying the correct shape-shifting controls

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#280Audio(Jam)3.38
#515Fun(Jam)3.15
#519Graphics(Jam)3.38
#598Overall(Jam)3.19
#686Mood(Jam)2.91
#776Innovation(Jam)2.77
#829Theme(Jam)2.92
#1248Coolness47%

Comments

ayewyn says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:25am

Rolling controls could be tighter, camera needs work.

WitchBoys says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:11am

Advice: put the game in fullscreen otherwise the camera will be a little bit annoying to move when your cursor reach the border of the game.

Nice game design.

tayl1r says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:53pm

Nice work! Surprisingly difficult!

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:10am

Nice idea and very well executed.

ZirconCode says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:53pm

Loved it, inspired me to try out unity for the next LD. I loved the little surprises, like the bouncing and the jump pads and the like. Music fits the art and game style. Nice =)

kalth.streil says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:59pm

Nice idea and well-made long levels! Controls become frustrating soon and the transformations take a while to appear though

Mikaza says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 2:01pm

Nice game, but it lag to much for me

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:25pm

I seriously superb graphics, nice concept and progression

zondarg says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 6:10pm

Very nice graphics and music, rather difficult in the second level.. but I liked it!! :D

Kerdelos says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 6:22pm

Well, it's a classic game with ludum theme features. It's a little laggy in my PC, and camera and ball controls need to be worked.
But it was a good idea to transform a game like that with special abilities and shape shifting.

zaywolfe says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 6:44pm

Really fun but I wish the controls were a bit tighter like said before. Great music too.

11Schotter says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 6:46pm

Needs more shapeshift, i think. But it´s fun to play.

Apr 30, 2016 @ 7:05pm

Rolling control is pretty OK. Nice game, I spent couple of minutes waiting for some shape-shifting gameplay to play, but game starts to be really hard before you have chance to aquaitance with shape-shifting mechanics. Probably specially designed tutorial level will solve this.

Gord10 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 4:42pm

Nice game! Loved the graphics and musics.

May 4, 2016 @ 3:16am

Nice entry with a cool graphics. The camera is hard to use and feel the game movement at the same time.

The levels are long, it is OK, but they need some balancing to let the player use transformations earlier ;)

derr says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:11am

Oh man I love rolling ball games and yours is very sweet. Music and visuals are very nice and ultra 80s. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]