Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Wake Up Shaple

by Cosmologicon - Compo Entry

Sliding block puzzle with a small twist. Five levels.

ES6-compatible browser version required (green on this table): http://caniuse.com/#feat=arrow-functions

Chrome recommended over Firefox for performance reasons. Yeah it's silly that a puzzle game should care about performance, but the eyeballs are procedurally generated and I didn't have time to optimize them.

Works on mobile (audio does not work on mobile Chrome).

Hot keys: Backspace = undo. Escape = restart. 1-6 = jump to level. (Looks like keys don't work in the embedded frame. Click through to the site if you want to use the keys.)

Music and sounds procedurally generated during the competition with the following tools: Abundant Music, by Per Nyblom. ChipTone, by Tom Vian.

(I have added a bonus, extra-hard level which you can reach by pressing 0 during gameplay. This was NOT part of my original submission, so only check it out if you're done judging and you want an extra challenge!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#41Fun3.95
#41Overall3.96
#102Mood3.63
#154Humor3.11
#162Audio3.38
#251Graphics3.52
#327Innovation3.35
#385Theme3.48
#1294Coolness46%

Comments

remmy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:32am

Loved it!
The levels where unexpectedly hard, i needed a lot of time for the last one :)
Removing all spaces in the end screen was a soothing reward tho.

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:49am

This is a great game, I really enjoyed it! Good puzzles that gain more depth and character from the story bits and the eye art. Nice work!

psyxose says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:32pm

Very nice game. Intellectual and innovative with nice graphics, I really liked it.

pythong says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:14pm

level 5 took soooo long, but level 6 was really refreshing :)

Llucile says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:09am

Really nice puzzle ! A really refreshing way to play sliding puzzle.
I would absolutely love this game as an app ^^

mahalis says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:35am

This is excellent. Great puzzle design, and while the graphics are simple they seem really polished as well. Nice work!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:50pm

I really liked this. Level 5 was surprisingly hard and the end was great!

raffitz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:37pm

Really hard, sometimes, but very nicely executed!

blubberquark says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:15am

Good puzzle design, easy controls, even a story!

frondeus says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:17am

It's great. But this is compo entry so i can't tell a word about not yours music.

zookatron says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:57pm

Nice game! Nice and straightforward to learn and play. A little low on the innovation, but very solid execution, good audio and graphics. I am REALLY bad at these kinds of games though so I couldn't get very far, but nicely done overall!

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:10am

Whoa, this is really good! :D i really like how everything is so very well put. Congratulations!

May 1, 2016 @ 10:25am

Excellent concept! Great puzzles! Googly eyes! Amazing stuff! The art style feels a bit inconsistent somehow, with a lot of good ideas (especially the eyes) that don't really go well together, but the actual gameplay and controls are incredibly solid. The puzzles are hard, sometimes frustratingly so, but fair. Do consider making this into a mobile game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]