Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

2ShiftDrift

by 01010111 - Jam Entry

CONTROLS:

MOVE:left/right keys
BOOST:X
SHOOT:C

GAME OVER when health or time == 0

REGAIN HEALTH by killing enemies/obstacles
REGAIN TIME by reaching checkpoints

Ugh i dun like it sorry it sucks
music is for Sonny :)

Junk used: HaxeFlixel, zerolib, Sublime Text, HaxeDevelop, Aseprite, FLStudio, Kontakt, Guitar Rig

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#32Audio(Jam)4.09
#111Fun(Jam)3.73
#121Overall(Jam)3.78
#206Graphics(Jam)3.97
#302Mood(Jam)3.41
#526Humor(Jam)2.48
#658Innovation(Jam)2.92
#887Theme(Jam)2.80
#1350Coolness45%

Comments

Eduardo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:35am

This is a fun game. Awesome entry!

Wefiends says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:45am

Damn I feel so cheated! When you said this "suuucccks" on twitter I figured it was buggy or something, but this has been one of my favorite entries so far. Love the colors, and the tactile nature of the animations. The gameplay is a great combination of things. It feels really great to play. I'm sure you had great expectations for where this could go, but where it ended up definitely doesn't "suuuccck".

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:58am

Pretty fun!

First run, I couldn't figure out how the "boost" was supposed to work. Second run, I figured out that you hold it down (durr!) and actually did a lot worse 'cause I got myself killed early by boosting too much.

I didn't realize you can kill the crystals by running into them as your boost-form until mid-way into my third run. I bet my score would've been a lot higher if I'd known that sooner, heh. I'd like to go back again and see how I do, but for now? High score of 7544, for me.

In any case, my main complaint is that the action's kinda slow. Hazards show up too slowly, and checkpoints are too rare. It would have been a lot better with the same basic gameplay if you'd increased the number of checkpoints and caused them to give you less time, and increased the number of helicopters, made them less durable, and caused them to give you less life. Less waiting for things to happen that way.

Also: nice song! It gets kinda repetitive and the mood of it doesn't really fit the game, but it's not a bad little ditty at all.

graebor says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:57am

love the music + sfx :)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:45am

Fun, challenging, intuitive controls and great music. Made me feel like I was a spy on the run or something. I was going to post my high score, but thegoofromspace scored way higher than me and now I'm embarassed.

Overall an excellent entry. :)

danbolt says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:00am

Reading your postmortem, the forcing oneself to "jam for the sake of jamming" really resonated with me for LD35. I felt like I pushed myself into doing something I wasn't 100% prepared to this past weekend, and the lack of polish really shows in my submission. It's nice to hear that from another developer.

But the game though! The spritework is really slick, and I like how the player changes shape when they boost. The little LD35 painted onto the track is a cute touch as well. I felt I never really got that great at steering, especially while boosted, but maybe that was something I was missing. Otherwise, thanks for uploading!

aeveis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:02am

Read your postmortem, was feeling a bit similar this ld too.

Game is not bad though, I like the idea of combining shooter with racing. I also like the road patterns that come up and the boost animation.

neondx says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:39am

good old feeling, so hard to dodge.

jeroenwimmers says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:29pm

read you post-mortem and yeah I can see your struggles. definitely hard to find something for this theme.

It took me some time to figure out the boost and the fact you can actually use all the arrowkeys. Then it took quite a while once the enemies appeared, but that was interesting to deal with using the roads.

and the art/explosions and music are really cool. can't believe you did that music in like 1.5h. I only managed to get a few guitar tones in that time xD

David Cookie says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:20pm

Love it! Reminds me of The Next Penelope in the same genre and feeling. Great visuals and music, fun to control! Really great, well done :)

Lady Beardo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:42pm

Loved the crash-explode effects in particular.

Eshford says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:35am

Very interesting concept, looks fantastic. Difficulty seems to have been tested well. Good job Will!

woodenrabbit says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:34am

"Ugh i dun like it sorry it sucks" JOKES
Its good and you should come back to it in a few days if you really don't like it.

I think the genre is a nice breadth of fresh air for LD and the controls feel good. When I take damage I feel like its my own fault. And of course the music is aaaammaazzing.

Husky says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:12am

The music and graphics is neat and smooth! I like it.

Also read your post-mortem, looks like you had a tough time that week... I had some troubles about the theme as well, just trying my best to make it, hope the theme will be more interesting next time.

Dmitrix says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:18am

Ugh, jamming on a chromebook sounds awful unless it was a Pixel. I think it's good that you still made a game though.

samlo says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:12pm

I've played this way too many times now. Love the doritoz

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:52pm

An excellent entry that combines racing with vertical shoot 'em up! Brilliant work!

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:53am

Great graphics and cool take on theme. Well done! :)

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:48pm

Unlike the rest of the comments, I figured out the controls almost immediately, as well as being able to boost into crystals. That said, I had a hard time discerning what was a health bar.

Personally, I think the idea is good, but some of the implementation needs work. While the side-by-side movement feels good, the forward and back might need a bit of work, as I felt it was a bit difficult to dodge some helicopter attacks. I also think the pacing is very slow, and the hazards could have came in sooner.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:06pm

nice graphics and i like how it respond to the controls, its good its transforming into a bullet dodging game :)

managore says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 3:31pm

A really wonderful blend of genres! I had a LOT of fun with this!

radmars says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 2:27am

Awesome! This is really fun. I found it a bit easy what with the forgiving hitboxes & amount of life you have, but it was still really engaging. Great graphics & music btw. Nice work! :D

francoisvn says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 12:34am

Nice! Really juicy :)

xhunterko says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:22pm

Honestly this isn't bad. Fairly fun. Decent idea.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]