Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Phil Fortier

by icefallgames - Compo Entry

ForeShift is a puzzle platformer that takes place in a mystical forest. Manipulate the environment to achieve your goals by swapping the shapes of items you find in the forest! This game leans towards the cerebral, but someone with good twitch reflexes may have an advantage too...

There are seven levels. Instructions should be self-explanatory when you play the game, but to summarize:
- left and right arrow control the character
- up arrow jumps
- space bar "does stuff"

Several people get stymied at level 6. Scroll to the end of this description to get some spoilers. It's worth it, because level 7 (the final level) is pretty cool!

The game is meant to be played in 16x9 resolution (so choose one of those if you run the Windows version).

I wrote up a post-mortem here: https://mtnphil.wordpress.com/2016/04/19/foreshift-ludum-dare-35-post-mortem/

Update: 4/19/2016: I uploaded a build with a fix for the multiple ball spawning bug that some people noticed (just a one line change).

Update: 4/21/2016: Additional fix for multiple ball spawning bug, and adjustment of collision rect so player is less likely to get hung up on platforms when jumping.

SPOILERS FOR LEVEL 6: The balls need to collide. You only need to switch the shape that starts on the right side of the screen. You can achieve careful placement of a circle more easily by switching it back and forth.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#118Overall3.73
#120Theme3.90
#141Mood3.48
#149Graphics3.76
#266Innovation3.45
#288Fun3.38
#318Audio3.00
#427Humor2.30

Comments

undefinist says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:52am

Neat concept! I got stuck in the first screenshot level, not sure how to continue

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:26am

Wow, really liked this! Clever puzzle mechanics and a beautiful aesthetic! Well done!

icefallgames says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:41am

@undefinist, yeah that's probably the toughest level, maybe I should have put it last. You need to switch right hand ball to a square after it goes down the shaft and before it rolls off to the left. Then swap back and forth between square and circle to inch it to the tip of the platform. Then switch it to a circle just as the left hand circle flies toward it, it should launch it to the right with just enough speed to make it to the correct spot in the lower platform..

TiRSO! says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:42am

I loved the intro, how the letter becomes the main character!

Cool concept and good visuals. Good achievement for the compo :)

ccglp says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:01am

Beatiful visuals. The intro is one of the best i've ever seen!

Saladon says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:12am

Fun to play. Good work.

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:14pm

Really neat mechanic, and well-designed puzzles. The graphics and sound set a nice mood, too.

I think I got past one of the levels simply because the balls were spawning fast enough that they hit the ramp faster than they should.

icefallgames says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:33pm

@dylanwolf ... oops, I know for a while I had a bug where more balls were spawning than were originally on screen, but I thought I fixed it. Is that what happened? The balls should only spawn when one of them hits the bottom and dies.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:12pm

Great use of the theme, the puzzles are very challenging, nice job.

hellojed says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:42am

Very moody. Great work!

wavertron says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:03am

Really nice game. Feels quite complete. I got stuck about level 5 or 6. Not sure exactly. At one point the repeating rolling ball on the left went crazy and started coming out in multiples (bug?)

icefallgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:44pm

Thanks for playing! Yup, that's a bug. I'll see if I can repro and fix it....

icefallgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:43pm

Multiple spawning bug should be fixed now.

MdotEdot says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:31pm

Great and inspirational.

ratking says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:43pm

Solid entry, but a bit frustrating due to the physics! I like the idea a lot!

McFunkypants says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:19pm

This is a really cool mechanic, and nicely presented with unique artwork. I definitely liked this one! Nice work.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:49am

Intro is super neat. Puzzles can be a bit tricky because of the unreliability of physics, but very good nonetheless.
My only complaint is getting suck on the sides of cubes when jumping.

EpiFouloux says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:29am

Cool game ! A bit short but nice mechanics, few collisions bugs on jumping or sometimes the puzzle resolves itself.. but love it !

Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:11pm

Until the very last level I did not understand there is an order to shifting. When I finally found out, it was obvious, though.

Great game, enjoyed it very much, would like to see more :)

Only issue I had, is that the jumping control and collisions with platforms acts a bit weird in some places.

icefallgames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:53pm

Thanks for the feedback! Yeah, I should have made it more obvious that the shifting swaps with the object in your thought bubble. Maybe by visually moving them towards each other or something.
Agreed that the platform jumping collisions need more work!

psychonull says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:07pm

nice game, loved the audio and puzzles, great concept!

adam says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:14pm

The visual style comes together really well (I enjoyed reading your blog article about creating the textures). The puzzle mechanic seems promising - I wonder how much scope there is for creating more levels with it?

Alphish says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:21pm

Quite a fun puzzle idea. I liked the general mood, animation etc. too, it's a well polished entry. If there's some issue, then maybe that it's too short. ^^'

Still, pretty good job overall!

Shael says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:30pm

It was fun. reminded me of abe's odyssey for some reason.
Great work :)

ploerre says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:07pm

The best entry i've seen so far. Nice ambient, simple and upgradeble concept.
the last level was very tricky, i almost gave up :D
Almost 5 points in every disc. good work mate.

Freank says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:06am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Tacohej says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 3:01pm

Very creative, well done. Love the character animation, and the levels are cool. I got hard fast at "first screenshot level" and I think the left bolder made it kinda stressful. But overall, very good job

Anachron says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:52pm

Fun physics puzzler and great idea! Not quite sure how to beat the last level... Character design is very neat. Would be cool to have a timer or some way to make it possible for people to compete, and give an incentive to replay levels.

Aaranos says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 3:30am

Very creative menu to game transition.

csanyk says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:44am

Physics puzzles! So the first level, you walk to the door yourself, then thereafter you just have to roll a ball to the door, which I didn't understand at first. It seems like rolling the ball to the door is not the most intuitive visual language. But the core concept is pretty solid.

icefallgames says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 6:33am

You can't reach the door in the subsequent levels, because the space around the door isn't large enough for the player. But agreed, the visual language could be clearer.

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 4:13pm

Ok. To summarize my point of view - this is one of my favorite entries for this 35th LudumDare session. I played and achieved all levels which was really enjoyable. There is a good work on the player. Maybe you could fix these problems about sprites (I see a line around) and some bug when the player sometimes jump on colliders. However, it's very fun. Well done ++

Rock Eaters says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 9:57pm

Good puzzle game and nice game design. i stay stuck in the 4th or 5ht. when a ball is falling from top left and top right. I love the scribble man too :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]