Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

DRACUL64

by josefnpat - Jam Entry

#DRACUL64

##Story

Our hero is an unprofessional vampire hunter, and he hears of a shapeshifting vampire in a castle. The only way to prevent the vampire from forming as his friends is to go alone. Unfortunately our hero had fallen into a cloning machine a few weeks back and his clones refuse to leave him alone and follow him into the castle.

Luckily the vampire doesn't have a gun. Our hero(s) treads lightly…


##About This Game:

This game was made for Ludum Dare 35 and Low Rez Jam 2016. Get online with you and your friends in this classic FPS raycasted shooter!

Gamedev & Voiceovers: @josefnpat (Missing Sentinel Software)
Music & SFX: @mistrsinestr (Eternal Night Productions)
Artwork: @ByteDesigning

##Controls:

WASD - Movement
Mouse Left/Right - Turn camera
Mouse Click - Shoot/Stab
Tab - Score (Points / Kills / Deaths)
Esc - Quit

##Tips:

* Kill Dracula (+10 points)
* Don’t kill other players (-1 point)
* If you are Dracula, the game will say “DRACULA” in the lower right left. Also, kill players (+1 point)

##Server Details

* To connect to the public server, use the default IP (50.116.63.25)
* To connect to localhost, move to the IP: section and press enter.
* To connect to a private server, move to the IP: section, and type in your target IP.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness97%
#370Audio(Jam)3.20
#427Mood(Jam)3.25
#469Overall(Jam)3.31
#560Humor(Jam)2.40
#588Graphics(Jam)3.24
#693Fun(Jam)2.94
#724Innovation(Jam)2.84
#1025Theme(Jam)2.46

Comments

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:55pm

Totally amazing idea. I love the concept, tested it a bit with a friend, but ideally you would be multiple people. Will try that later.

Impressive with ray-casting and online multiplayer features in a gamejam.

Outstanding entry!

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:19am

Wow, an amazing idea!

clementd says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:23am

This should have been a lot of work ! Graphics and music are cool, and I love the asymmetric gameplay.

goost says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:55am

Awesome! Even with networking, really cool! Makes me wanna learn Love too.

testzero says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:23am

Wow, this was a really ambitious idea. I would say the voice acting is absolutely awful and annoying. I'm guessing that's you, but I would like an option to turn it off.

Maybe you're used to having your mouse sensitivity set really high, but turning was REALLY slow. I had to really crank it up to get any kind of usable movement, and it seems getting hit by any enemy killed me instantly, but still left me able to attack. I don't know what was up with that.

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:42am

nice game mate good idea and the music is superb!
play and rate my game here: ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

norseware says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:06am

Unique idea! I love the Doom style, it was nostalgic! And to see this done in LOVE, very cool!

Imperial Unit says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:13am

I kept playing longer than I intended so that's a good sign. Music and sound was very good, and liked the retro pixel style graphics - they came together to create a nice 'hammer' era horror atmosphere. The main flaw was the camera controls - it turned very very slowly making it hard to aim and move.

corupta says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:14am

Haha, the game is fun yet it is sooo hard to control. I loved the sound effect "hehehaha" when you kill someone as a dracula. It really motivates you for more killing :D

themadknights says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:41am

Seems like a lot of work, maybe it should be more responsive to the input.

janiq says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:56am

It was hard for me to get the orientation in the enviroment so i ended up running in circles to avoid dracula :-) Also there were some lags during the game. Considering this was done in love with lua networking I still find it amazing (I tried once to create the networked game in lua too :-D). I enjoyed the gameplay. Not so much the graphic but as you say it was for low-rez jam so it is ok.

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:09am

Wolfenstein style online cooooool, the ffa during the stream was fun

gurkenlabs says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:14am

Very fun to play especially with some mates :)

batmanasb says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:19am

The online made no sense, the font was unreadable, but I murdered to many people with my stake that none of that matters anymore...

ShadowTemplar says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:29pm

I really liked the graphics and it's a really fun game to play!

Phaix says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:47pm

Really nice! Liked the Multiplayer aspect of it ;)

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:29pm

I love the wolfenstein look and feel of the game. :D

Odyssey says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:11am

Amazing that you could get multiplayer working in such a short time. I've never seen Löve used quite like this before. Great work!

Kuality Games says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:12am

On the technical side it looks quite impressive. I really liked the old-school Wolfenstein feel, enjoyed beating pixels out of people with a stick. Would do it again.

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:26am

Awesome game! I was dominating though the other one was standing still so yeah. XD

Would've like for the mouse sensitivity to be a bit higher but a very cool game nonetheless.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:48am

The mood is great with the music and the audio effects! And great work on the rendering engine! I am really impressed. I always wondered what it would take to create a wolf3D clone in Love, well done!

On to some technical notes: I could not find Dracula or any clones, and did not get a chance to fight - does it rely solely on multi player? The other technical issue is I have Love 0.10.1, but get the error "bitser.lua:24: module 'ffi' not found", I played the win version in WINE.

blubberquark says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:53am

Making a multiplayer shooter in LUA is a great feat for a game jam!

The wall graphics were all the same and it was hard to tell where I was. It would be nice if the level layout was a bit clearer and more distinctive. Maybe some stuff on the ground or interesting landmark-billboard.
A minimap would also solve the issue for me. Unfortunately, a minimap can not be "mini" under the low rez jam constraints. Maybe make a post-jam version with slightly higher resolution?
Finding your way around is not as big an issue gameplay-wise, as there is no place you need to be. It was just disorienting for me. The turn speed felt too slow.

I will try again with more players later and maybe re-adjust the "Fun" category. It's always more fun with friends.

DeltaF1 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:12am

Really fun to play, I had a great time playing against you :)

The controls were definitely awkward, but it felt true to other games like Wolfenstein and Doom. It was nerve-wracking trying to figure out where I was in relation to Dracula, and there was a lot of running around on blind faith. Props for making a raycast engine, and double-props for satisfying two game jams with one game. This seems like it would be a fun game to make mods for. All in all, a really awesome game, well done :)

dcolgan says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:48am

I had to much trouble connecting to the server, but I was able to play on my own. It looked like it would have been good, I dig the Doom look.

HunGARE says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:01am

Cool idea and props on multiplayer integration. I can see this was inspired by Doom, and I think the art was pretty cool.

Hankenstien says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:45am

Well done! Audio is awesome and if you alternate right and left click you can stab extremely fast.

blob says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:33am

Impressive getting multiplayer done! I personally enjoyed the voices. Very cool concept!

DSSiege11 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:22am

This is really awesome! It played really well except at one point I respawned with a gun but couldn't shoot... Don't know if that was a bug or feature :P Fantastic job anyway!

Yakka says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:44pm

I had some difficulties to kill the different enemies, but I really loved how the arena is a kind of space flipper.

Yakka says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:48pm

Ooops, sorry, wrong comment on the wrong game ^^' Couldn't play the game since I had nobody to play with :-( but it looks very interesting!

VividReality says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:28pm

Impressive to make an online shooter in just 72 hours! I really enjoyed it!

dollarone says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:26am

Music is awesome and gives the game a dark mood. I was late to the party and thus didn't get to try multiplayer - but love the idea and think it's mighty impressive work for a 72h jam!

Good stuff!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]