Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Key Keeper

by manabreak - Compo Entry

My sixth ever Ludum Dare compo entry!

You control a mouse-slash-bat, and your aim is to collect all seven keys hidden in the castle. Once you find them all, return to the door near your starting point to complete the game. Oh, and beware, there might be spooooky ghosts!

Controls:

- Left / Right arrow keys: move left and right
- Space: Jump or flap
- X: Shapeshift

Hope you like it. :) Oh, and you need Java runtime libraries to run it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#42Audio3.88
#84Overall3.81
#126Graphics3.85
#152Mood3.44
#204Fun3.50
#250Theme3.69
#397Humor2.39
#515Innovation3.04
#1160Coolness49%

Comments

Crown Games says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 7:31pm

Wicked game! Definitely a keeper! And all in Java in only 2 days! Amazing!

QuexD says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:23am

Great game! Had some trouble with collisions but it did not detract from the experience. Good Job.

mf1214 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:16am

Nice game! Really liked the music.

shabam says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:16am

only complaint is that the audio is really loud

ConorOD says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:17am

Great graphics and music, and a lot of fun. Controls and collision a bit finicky at times, which lead me to some infuriating deaths, but overall, great work!

swellbastion says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:21am

this is incredibly smooth. the environment is really good

pathus22 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:12pm

nice game!!

Azumiar says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:22pm

Nice textures and gameplay mechanics

Max Amaden says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:41pm

This game is actually awesome. Keep up the good work!

KodingNights says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:57pm

Great stuff! Loved the 'feel' of the controls, you nailed it! Would really love to see this being developed further. Cool chiptune as well.

PyroSneak says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:01pm

Cool game, kept getting stuck in a corner by the ghosts (I'm probably jsut bad though tbh) and the collisions seemed a little odd, but great work!

Pietdagamer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:25pm

Nice graphics and cool audio

seitnerk says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:59am

Great game! Cool graphics and awesome audio :)

TheCain says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 12:14am

Some things about it were a bit weird, such as some of the collisions, and the lack of checkpoints, but overall pretty solid.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]