Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Widget Workshop

by recursor - Compo Entry

Magna Systems Inc. is proud to welcome you into our family. You are now part of a very select group of individuals who are responsible for operations of the widget production machinery. Don't worry. We won't throw you into the deep end just yet ... we will at least wait until tomorrow.

Objective: Create the widgets shown in your quota bar by making use of the machinery in the factory that is available to you. Make it through all 8 days to earn a promotion and win the game!
Controls:

The mouse and its left ear (left-click) are your friend.
Escape: Brings up an in-game menu
Speed controls: Buttons arranged in the upper left corner of the screen allow you to slow down/speed up the action.

Machinery Activation: To activate most machinery, you must wait until a widget passes through its detector. The detector will then turn green indicating that you can activate that machine by left-clicking. Once a widget has been stamped with a machine, it will not be stamped again with it.

Detectors Colors:
Gray = No Widget detected
Green = Widget detected. Left click to activate associated machinery
Purple = Left click to activate. Widget detection is not required.
Blue = Auto activate. As soon as a widget passes into this detector, the detector will activate the associated machine as long as any required timeout has passed.

4/18/2016: Fixed a bug which caused the widget quotas to not be correctly reset, some in-game text typos, and an issue where stampers could get stuck and no longer stamp widgets. (Allowable via the LD rules found at http://ludumdare.com/compo/rules/)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#60Theme4.07
#110Innovation3.80
#164Overall3.63
#229Humor2.88
#252Fun3.43
#297Audio3.07
#380Mood3.04
#684Graphics2.61

Comments

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:07pm

Neat puzzle mechanic--I like the fact it's not just keeping up, but figuring out what order you need to create pieces. There's a lot of potential for more puzzles.

Oddly, I think it gets easier after a few levels because you can use the second level to juggle pieces you missed.

Levi D. Smith says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:33am

Really unique idea and fun game. I finished the eighth day and got a promotion (I think). I really like the ability to slow down the conveyor belt, otherwise it would be nearly impossible at some points. Although, the slowdown feature can be abused, so maybe it should have a it could be put on a limited use timer. I was really impressed with the sound effects, which sounded like a real factory!

studdert249 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:08pm

Quite a neat little game, with a lot of potential for more puzzles!

Populous90 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:15pm

The game looks REALLY, REALLY well, plays really well, feels well, and sounds well. The whole game is really good except that I got frustrated with the controls because they were challenging, but I think that's what you were going for and it worked. Overall good game.

Jin47 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:13pm

great interpretation of the theme. needs a good management of task to sort it out. Great game. Good job !!

arhpositive says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:21pm

Now this is how you interpret a theme. Great idea. Wonderful execution. Third row is a bit unforgiving, though. Before that you had a loop that you can use to take all the time you wanted. Third row significantly alters the difficulty and I believe without it the "slow-down" option wouldn't be necessary at all. Maybe you can also loop the third row to the beginning first row somehow.

Otherwise, top notch game. It is obvious that yuo know how to get things done. Good work.

rjhelms says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:42pm

Good take on the theme. Puzzle games of this ilk are always something I get a kick of seeing in Ludum Dare - it can be tough to balance them right, but when done well they really stand out.

nuuup says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:21pm

hmmmmm

Haighstrom says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:24pm

Thought this was pretty cool! I liked the look and feel of the factory, and the puzzles were quite fun. Really unique idea for the theme. It was excellent to know that for once I could make time run twice as fast, but age at the normal rate. And thank you for learning WebGL, I can actually play your game in my browser :)

Roland M says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:26pm

good puzzle, it is a good idea but it only need a good background music and its done , congrats!

Sir Magic says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:27pm

Really neat puzzle mechanic, I liked how you could bump everything through the whole process again in case you muck up.

tanjent says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:10pm

Awesome entry, really like the factory and the sound design. It was a bit frustrating w.a.i.t.i.n.g. for the pieces to come to the press and then miss it because you clicked before it turned green. Could be good to have some cheater power up so you can fire a press before, a bit if mental off loading ...

denycetm says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 5:56pm

Good puzzle concept. Sometimes it was too slow but then the double speed was too fast.

h2n0 says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 6:01pm

Grate little game to pass the time, at first I thought that it would be easy and that the x2 speed was too slow, but I was gravely mistaken. I found myself losing track of what I had made and found myself using the 0.5x speed constantly.
Very well done.

in3orn says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 6:17pm

Very nice, with original theme. I agree with others that some later levels are easier. Maybe some score / star rating could solve the problem with infinite cycles.

Great job! :)

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 6:43pm

Awesome game, I love the mechanics. Would love to have some sort of keyboard setup for controlling the factory. Brilliant effort though!

TheCain says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 8:04pm

This was very good. I wasn't expecting much from the screenshots, but i really enjoyed it.

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 8:46pm

good puzzle.

Apr 30, 2016 @ 12:37pm

Neat game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/1ovNEwCi_RI

Kuupu says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 6:29pm

Nice game!

The points I would change:
- Work a little more on graphics
- Turn the machines on and off, this way they would keep working on every piece that goes under they

awesome entry! :)

(could not play the webgl version)

in3orn says ...
Jun 8, 2016 @ 6:43pm

I know it's month after the event, but maybe you'll be happy to hear that you're in my top 10 LD35 summary list :)

http://krk-dev.com/2016/06/08/top-10-of-ld35/

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]