Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Element Smash

by midgard - Jam Entry

Element Smash is a mix between nintendo's megahit franchise Super Smash Bros and the good old Rock Paper Scissors, with an elemental theme. Choose your element every few seconds and try to kick your opponent out of the playfield.


Fire crushes Plant.
Plant crushes Water.
Water crushes Fire.

Created by @devMidgard & @sodap_ ~ Be sure to follow us if you like our work!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#104Graphics(Jam)4.25
#322Audio(Jam)3.29
#360Fun(Jam)3.34
#389Theme(Jam)3.53
#424Overall(Jam)3.36
#443Mood(Jam)3.23
#509Humor(Jam)2.50
#599Innovation(Jam)2.98

Comments

treegemmer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:12am

This won't run for me on a mac. Tried safari and chrome. Loading bar is green...

Asturk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:37am

I enjoyed the idea of this game of using pokemon + smash bros mechanics. I just think you could increment some more fight moves in the future for this game, to make the fighting mechanic more diverse and less simple. But this was a fun game in this jam and get the theme very well and in a creative way!

treegemmer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:55am

I got this sort of working in firefox, except most of the assets are not rendering (just black).

urfbound says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:27am

Cool combo of Joust, Super Smash Bros. and rock-paper-scissors! I love the graphics, really polished and having a wicked GBA vibe to me. I don't know whether it was the idea, but for some reason it reminded me a lot of Mega Man Battle Network (a very good thing :D). I think that the controls were tight and the addition of local multiplayer was a really stellar touch. I like the sound effects a lot too. Only complaint I had was that a bad rock-paper-scissors choice can leave you in the lurch pretty hard. It would be cool if a theoretical future iteration of this game had something that let you control both your shape and your opponent's shape between changes. One way I thought of might be to have items for each shape (green red, etc.) that you could consume to become that shape, or throw at your enemy, and if you hit change THEM to that shape instead. Overall and addictive, fun and hilarious to play with a friend, and overall great entry! Awesome work, hope you do great in the compo. Thanks for your submission! Had a blast playing.

Tharky says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:09pm

Graphics were so good! It wasn't well polished, like I was able to spawncamp for no-loss and jump without landing at all. But it was quite fun and new :) Never played smash bros though.

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:27pm

Pretty good smash bros style fighting game with rock-paper-scissors style strategy.
Had a bit of difficulty hitting my opponents though, I'd usually end up overlapping them and they would pummel me off the arena. Maybe you should add some collision that ensures that fighters cannot overlap.

Trickman says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:17am

Pretty neat concept and good retro-visuals. Controls are a bit clunky but it's playable.

davidkanc says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:39pm

Impressive art and good timing based gameplay. it was not clear if water defeat fire, fire defeat tree... at least not for me. Congratulations!

seveca95 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:35pm

Juegazo, el arte cojonudo. Like

Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:15pm

Nice graphics and audio, gameplay is kinda clunky but realy good idea.

orion_black says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:07pm

The mix between controls and audiovisual feedback have a really good feel.

Game design wise I think the elemental advantage is too strong and devolves into the player on the losing end turtling. BTW, you can infinite jump while under the air platform making the turtling even easier.

Anyways, for a jam game this is remarkable.

joaomosmann says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:34pm

The game has a good potential. Specially if it goes multiplayer. The graphics and the sounds match very well. But the game gets a little bit boring after a while, it could have some special abilities so you could stand a chance when facing your weakness element.

Solifuge says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:57pm

Nice graphics and soundtrack; really great feedback to the actions. Loved the use of color, and the particles in the background. The mechanics were simple, and the platforming was pretty well-done, if kinda floaty (I just spammed attack and floated for a while as the AI kept jumping into me). I didn't notice much difference at all between elemental types, and seemed to knock the opponent the same distance most of the time. It'd have been nice to have more variety of actions; for a LD, less time spent on graphics and more spent on creating gameplay goes a long way!

Roland M says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:07am

Awesome graphics man, really liked the idea of a Smash Bros game + Shapeshifting. =]

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:09am

I like your sprites. It would be nice if the individual characters were more unique and you could change mid game

RafaSKB says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:50am

Neat graphics! Really fun gameplay. Couldn't feel the theme in this game though, and the framerate was pretty slow for me.
Also the CPU's knockback was always insane compared to mine, so I would fall off the arena way more often.
Good game overall, great work :)

Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:18am

Divertido, bonito, solo le falta algun tipo de golpe más y perfecto.

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:51am

Great graphics and gameplay, although sometimes a bit repetitive, but overall nice game. Enhorabuena y buen trabajo! :)

Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:57am

Good idea! It just needs more feedback to know what's actually happening, how much damage you inflict or when do you win! the art is very nice :)

teamross says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:51pm

Art and gameplay are very nice! (music too)
It has a lot of potential.
Great entry!

BubsyPoochies says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:52pm

Wow, really nice and polished, well done. :D

JoseArias says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:44pm

Muy buen juego. Me parece muy buena idea lo de los elementos, darle una vuelta al tipico piedra papel tijera.
Con más movimientos puede ser algo muy interesante.

pogo says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:22pm

I didn't seem to have any advantage when I had a winning element, the only difference I saw was when the AI had a winning element they could knock me super fast horizontally. So it just boiled down to changing character every few seconds, and fighting super smash with a single move.
I enjoyed the art though, and the music was good.

DevelopTech says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:31pm

Cool graphics and audio and also great game feel in general.

I liked the simple but effective mechanic but in the end the most important thing is luck.

Great job!

sepharoth213 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 2:52pm

Fighting games are crazy hard to make for a ludum dare. Nice graphics.

AnaGF says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:37am

Mechanic idea is good, it is a nice take on the theme of the shapeshifting. I don't understand how you manage to kick the enemy out of the map, though, but you have a good base to work on. Keep it on!

FengeR says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 1:51am

That's a great little fighting game with really good graphics!
Be carefull, sometimes characters are stuck upon shapeshift (the fire one I think).
Anyway, it was fun to play it, unfortunately, I had no way to play with a friend but your IA is not stupid so I enjoyed it ^^
That's a really great game, keep doing stuff like that, that's just soooo cool! :D

Apr 29, 2016 @ 4:03am

80 is maximum points to get
Innovation: 7/10
Fun: 6/10
Theme: 5/10
Graphics: 8/10
Audio: 6/10
Humor: 0/10
Mood: 0/10
Coolness: 5/10
Overall: 37/80
Good Game

emielboven says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 10:34am

I love the graphics! Great color palette and is very easy on the eye with the bloom-effects. Well done!

Apr 29, 2016 @ 3:03pm

Very nice! needs some smoother movement and fighting but the graphics and concept is brilliant

Charzendat says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 4:59pm

Love it. Obviously would like to see more depth in the attacks you can do and the stage you fight on, but a great idea. I like the short rounds and the constant changing.

Riftpoint says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:02pm

Very nice entry, fun gameplay and nice art

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:25pm

Great, great, great and nice but the Ai is real badass ^^

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]