Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Existence

by davisan - Jam Entry

An action platform game.
There are 3 endings... Can you find them? :D

Controls (configurable):
Left/Right Arrows - Move
X - Jump
C - Attack
TAB - Open Card Inventory
ESC - Pause

Sadly, I didn't have much time to do the audio (only 1 hour)...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#344Mood(Jam)3.35
#372Humor(Jam)2.76
#394Fun(Jam)3.30
#421Graphics(Jam)3.55
#479Overall(Jam)3.30
#738Innovation(Jam)2.82
#832Theme(Jam)2.91

Comments

calzep says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:46am

I loved the art and the sound of water is really soothing. It was really funny beating up the second girl who gives you a card and getting the card before even doing what she wanted. I had to go all the way back just to beat up the first girl.

LOSTALLOY says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:22pm

Beating up those monsters feels good, hahaha!

cudabear says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:32pm

Wow, I can't believe this game was made in only 72 hours! Everything seems so polished about it, from the gameplay to the art to the music. Everything fit together really nice and enjoyed playing through the entire game!

My only complaint is that the fighting felt a bit simple. I was able to just mash the attack key and win almost every fight. Even though, it felt really good to fight and beat up those stupid monsters.

Card system was a bit interesting but underutilized, I could see it being expanded into much more. Right now it's basically a way to disguise an otherwise linear progression system.

well done!

EstrelSteel says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:17pm

Don't punch Truth. Truth is OP.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:19pm

The art was so good! The gameplay is sometimes a little frustrating, but it's a nice work for 72 hours :)

Sir Magic says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:20pm

I really like this game, the graphics are amazing and the fighting is really good too. I really like the inventory system on this game. Amazing!

davisan says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:48am

Thanks for the feedback guys.

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:00pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description
p.p.s. very nice style ! I love this kind of pixel art !

davisan says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:29pm

@Freank: Thanks! Added to the website!

sndr says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:35pm

The art was very nice and the combat system feels very rewarding and well-balanced!! :)

crucknuk says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:28pm

Nice entry! Art is great and there is some cool visual effect. I just had a problem at some point because I killed the last monster in an area but the fire wall didn't disapear :/ Appart from that, good job ;)

psychonull says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:43pm

haha cool game!, abnegation didn't stop to killed me xD. nice graphics and audio, movement was fine, I think combos could be improved to give more action, great job!

lumscum says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:34pm

Really lovely art and water effects! The only problem I had with the game was some of the pacing towards the end. Fighting wave after wave of those dark worms got pretty tedious. It would have been nice if there was a platform section to mix things up!

davisan says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:54pm

Thanks guys! I agree about that. Noted for the next game :D

shapemorph says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:40pm

Nice job, the game is awesome!!
Beware of the fact that the background be confused with the platform at times

May 8, 2016 @ 6:12pm

Nice game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/sLxVMaXEMmg

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]