Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

King of Flubles

by lightspeedlucas - Jam Entry

‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿


✧・゚: *✧・゚:* You're a Fluble in the Flubles Kingdom. Please the King by shape-shifting into the most amazing and intricate shapes. *:・゚✧*:・゚✧


‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿︵‿

(◔ᴥ◔) Made in Unity, Blender and Photoshop. By @catharinix and @lightspeedlucas.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Graphics(Jam)4.78
Coolness51%
#26Mood(Jam)4.19
#28Innovation(Jam)4.19
#28Theme(Jam)4.26
#48Humor(Jam)3.88
#66Overall(Jam)3.96
#216Fun(Jam)3.52

Comments

gurkenlabs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:37am

Awesome concept! I found the movement to be a little too slow, however.

fb_holzbaum says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:38am

Very interesting and well made game. In my opinion it plays a bit too slow, taking a bit of the fun away.

calzep says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:24am

Very Very Cute. Love the art it's very nicely done. If it wasn't so difficult for me, I could play it all day.

mutonizer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:09am

Awesome concept and would have played tonsssss of it but...
..movement is wayy too slow which makes it VERY frustrating as a whole.

Best entry on concept alone though, would play this a lot if movements were much faster (or at least configurable or something).

Big kudos

PanicTheFirst says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:04am

Great idea and graphics. Gameplay could be a little bit faster.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:27pm

Very cute game, I just have an issue with the speed of the main char, in my opinion it needs to be faster, great entry by the way.

Reiv says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:49am

Love the art and the concept. But the movement is too slow for my taste.

medidog says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:51am

Wonderful, new gameplay, very funny and wonderful graphics. The game was very buggy for me though, made the second level impossible to play. Would love to see its fixed version, this game certainly has great potential.

Jungle says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:03am

The art and the game design is fantastic!!! Congratulations!!!! I like so much your game!

dusho says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:42am

this is brilliant
and done with amazing gfx and audio

Sabina Lis says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:55am

Lovely art, seems fun

blockdroppers says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:12am

Great presentation, and neat idea! Player moved a bit slow and delayed

juxipolo says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:49am

love the animation and all the little details, everything just oozes charm. I second what others said about player movement, though - I really wanted to move more quickly

PowerSpark says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:51am

Great game! So cool, just movement is a little slow.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:53am

Thank you all for the kind comments! It seems movement speed is a pretty indisputable flaw, haha. It's a shame, we actually love the squishy feeling.

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:55am

It is really adorable, I think this would be great on the app store as it has all the right touches for a mobile casual game, but faster speed (like if you could just move without much pause at all) would be nice. Love the graphics.

Husky says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:55am

Nice entry! This is literately cute, so lovely XD

Although the core is kind of shape puzzle games, but I like the different idea created by the limit (only moving and rotating), so I also need to find a path to combined all the shapes together, it's might be lame if we just put all of the shapes together by dragging the mouse or something, you choose another interesting but intuition way to let players making their strategy.

Good job :D

AnaGF says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:50am

The slow movement doesn't fit well. However, idea is cool and I think it is a good base to start developing more levels. And graphics are impecable.

tayl1r says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:32am

Nice! Lots of charm. Shame your characters moves so slow, though!

Freank says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:26pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:00pm

Very pleasent game ! Nice concept ! Good work ! :)

Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:38pm

An amazing game for the time you had. The art style and music are fantstic and the game mechanics are fun.

adsilcott says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 3:17pm

Fantastic game! I absolutely love the graphics, and the gameplay is an interesting idea. One of my favorites!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]