Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

FETA FELES

by The Tophat Demon - Compo Entry

YOUR WORLD SEEMS TO HAVE DISAPPEARED ENTIRELY.
FELES IS YOUR ONLY COMPANION, NOW.
YOUR ABSOLUTION DEPENDS ON HER.
HOW FAR ARE YOU WILLING TO GO...?

Controls:
Enter: Skip dialog
WASD or Arrows: Move
Mouse: Aim
Left Mouse Button: "LOVE"
Hint: THE "FOOD" WILL NOT BE VERY FAR FROM THE CENTER OF THE ARENA.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#197Mood3.43
#443Graphics3.17
#564Audio2.46
#674Fun2.88
#716Overall2.96
#765Innovation2.63
#917Theme2.71
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

jward says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:42am

Nice classic feel to it.

Melusine says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Nice game but it would be nice if there was some music while you play tho :D

gallerdude says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:56pm

I love the graphics and sounds, and the gameplay is fun, tight, and inspired.

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:11pm

Love the ZX look to the game. I can't say I understood the plot or cosmology, but it kept me playing. Then once the crucifixes came into the picture I didn't know WHAT to think!

Some of the later spritework is wonderfully horrifying too. I'm thinking of the second-to-last dialog screen in particular.

I like this!

ruthiepee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:23pm

I won! I think. I don't understand the plot but the gameplay is definitely fun. The chaser enemies are surprisingly scary despite being super simple-looking. I like that you limited yourself to a specific color palette and music scheme. I could definitely imagine playing this in an arcade. Nice work!

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:25pm

Great classic feel, but there seems to be a lot of static in the background.

Peekotus says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:36am

Feles is so creepy....

PKCat says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Didn't expected to be this creepy, but the old-school shooting gameplay kept me till the end.

Big Cow says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:02pm

Retrotastic! Reminded me of good ol' c64 classics! decent move around and shootemup. Was really hard not sure the theme came across because I couldnt get very far!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]