Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Magnetoids

by dj_pale - Compo Entry

Had very little time for LD34 - made a Pico-8 in a hurry :) Theme = growing.

* Navigate with [left]/[right]
* Shoot with action buttons [x] or [z]

The aim is to merge and grow the evil boxes in order to have one left - then it will collapse due to it's unbearable mass! (*erm*).

Whenever you hit a box it changes direction. The magnetic field is also activited and shown as a circle. When boxes have an active magnetic field and are close to eachother the bigger box will consume the smaller one.

In Pico-8 the source is embedded in the cart PNG image.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#223Innovation3.59
#424Fun3.23
#468Audio2.65
#517Mood2.91
#625Overall3.07
#690Humor1.63
#719Graphics2.62
#796Theme3.26

Comments

NuSan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:56am

The magnetic idea is great. I like how you need to keep some box around by shooting them to invert their velocity.

anissen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:22pm

Really nice take on the theme. I had some trouble understanding how the mechanic worked, so I was mostly playing asteroids :P It has a really awesome retro-feel. Good job!

Optimus6128 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:53pm

I got it the second time I played. I was just shooting stuff. You got attract them and make them absorb/grow. Plays very well when you get it.

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Really great twist on asteroids! Really good "feel" too it.

marod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:50pm

It's hard as hell, but it fits well with the teme. Nice game!

csanyk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:37am

Clever twist on Asteroids. I'm having some performance problems after playing for a few seconds in Chrome, so I can't really play it. But it seems like you can't move, only rotate? Makes it pretty difficult if you can't dodge.

dj_pale says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:32pm

@csanyk: Only rotation and shooting - that's right :) If you have performance problems, please check the BBS (http://www.lexaloffle.com/bbs/?pid=17772&tid=2898&autoplay=1#pp). Or if you have Pico-8, you can try the cart directly.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:48pm

I like the idea of putting the 'asteroids' back together, but in practice a bit difficult frustrating. Really wanted to fly the ship around a bit too!

anshulsinghxd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Nice one mate! We did something similar for the theme part! The magnet thing! You should check out our game too! :D
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=63655

justinooncx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:57am

Pretty difficult, but also pretty fun! Nice idea!

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Very nice minimalist game that blends perfectly two game types together to fit the theme. Love the retro art style.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Tricky gameplay, but nice. I like the sounds.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:48pm

I found it very challenging to hit the boxes exactly once to change their direction, it was very hard - it does inspire me to create some asteroids like games with non-standard ways of winning however (e.g. use tractor beam to rescue people while causing asteroids to reverse direction rather than destroying them, something like that).

Frenchie says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Nice - one of the more unique gameplay ideas I've seen this LD - even if it just "asteroids with a twist." You were able to make something pretty good despite claiming to only spend very little time :)

"Reinforcements have arrived" - pretty great :)

Dec 28, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Challenging, neat little game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/Fm6iQk47yZ0

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]