Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Solar Fly Trap

by TreePunchers - Jam Entry

SOLAR FLY TRAP

Solar Fly Trap is the tragic tale of Icarus, the Venus Fly Trap wants to grow to the sun, which he loves for its provision of light and warmth. Play as Icarus to climb through space and grow all the way to the sun, eating flies, aliens and cute little sun sprites while avoiding things that would rek you.

Unfortunately, I was unable to submit this game to the compo due to circumstances in the last 5 or so hours. However, I did do this for the compo originally, and so has all my own art, sfx and music, and was done within 48 hours.

This was my first real experience with Unity, and I learned a lot.

Only Win32 and WebGL builds are tested. The Web build is what I would recommend, lowest filesize and tested working.

Engine: Unity with C#
SFX: Bfxr
Music: abundant-music
"Art": Adobe Photoshop CC

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#137Theme(Jam)4.13
#295Fun(Jam)3.44
#394Humor(Jam)2.86
#446Overall(Jam)3.39
#679Audio(Jam)2.35
#786Mood(Jam)2.81
#900Graphics(Jam)2.53
#915Innovation(Jam)2.44

Comments

gabriel_pnc says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:14am

Really fun and entertainment game, i love it and could play very times. great job!

timeshapers says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:55am

loved that you reach space.

Outbreak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:56am

Really well done!

Strike says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:30am

Haha, very funny game. Nice to play.

moltanem2000 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:32am

Wonderful game :) I really enjoyed all the polish you put in there, like the little messages and the different zones. I was really excited to see what was at the end.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:34am

Nice little game. I died 3 times near the sun! I guess I will never see the end then... :)
Sounds are a bit annoying though.

Donar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:59am

Nice and simple game. Not quite innovative but fits the theme pretty well.

2011petia says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Cool game, is realy nice

tantumgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Sound loud to me, but game os pretty nice.

OwT says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Funny game, I won it, or... I burnt. But had a nice time playing, cause of the changing environment and all, I like it c:

Gyfis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Reaching sun is cool :) Funny graphics and straightforward controls.

LeafThief says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:06pm

haha. that was fun. i did not expect the aliens :D

great litttle game!

zulman says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:01am

Space Flowers FTW!

Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Had fun! Good entry, thanks. I laughed when reaching space.

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:10am

A nice simple game with good use of both themes. While the visuals vary (there are three distinct stages), the gameplay doesn't really have a lot of depth. I would really like to see multiple types of enemies.

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:16am

perfect small game!

rodobodolfo says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:49am

Simple, fun and well made. I enjoyed this one!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]