Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Sphaera

by J08nY - Compo Entry

Eat the smaller, weaker spheres and rise to conquer the mighty large red ones!
Grow!

Use A,D to rotate.
Spacebar/W/Shift/Enter to move forward.
Scroll to (un)-zoom.

1. Eat blue spheres.
2. Grow.
3. Win?

My first Ludum Dare game. Hope you enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#470Innovation3.17
#673Overall3.00
#731Fun2.78
#766Graphics2.50
#805Theme3.25

Comments

SvenFrankson says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:33am

Well that's... Hard, to say the least ^^' Is the speed framerate dependant ? Enjoyed the spherical gameplay, thanks !

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:38am

This one has a very interesting feel. Its disorienting until you get the hang of it. Then it gets harder :)

A.W. Apps says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:40am

This is a fun game, but the a/d spin goes so fast that it almost gives me motion sickness. Instead of rotating the player, try to use wasd control.

MaulUdder says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:49am

Quite hard :).

Mixer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:52am

Gee, this is fun, but very very difficult. It almost seemed like the blue ones should be big, not the red ones :D Really kind of reminded me of agar.io, atleast the gameplay mechanic of growing and avoiding. Neat game, and an interesting use of theme! I liked that although there was nearly no graphics (in terms of modeling) you still managed to make an appealing game.

swellbastion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:56am

i like the concept. difficult with my trackpad however

blohod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:01am

Hard, sometimes you spawn on top of a red and instantly die

Kortuga says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:10am

Damn, those little blue bastards are hard to catch at first.

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:28am

Fun game!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:58am

Pretty hard ;). I like it!

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:18am

Very hard, mostly because of the controls, but it is otherwise a very good game.

rosden shadow says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:24am

I won

gkxd says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:53am

The rotation was too sensitive for me, and I couldn't actually hit any blue spheres.

Interesting concept.

thecord says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Fun, but a bit too hard

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:09pm

the concept seems good, but it surprisingly hard, and i got disoriented fast

Ildfuglen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:12pm

That's really... really hard. But, I love the concept, it's great! And congratulations with your first entry into Ludum Dare!

The graphics are ofcourse sub-par primitives, it was a fun concept but the implementation wasn't too good. When it comes to the theme it fits as you're trying to grow, but I never managed to grow more than once.

With a couple of changes this would be an awesome game! :)

Darkflint says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Hard, harder, Sphaera? Fun and interesting concept, but really hard.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:52am

How did you manage to beat this? On Firefox 42, not sure if it's related to framerate or not, it's basically unplayable because it's so fast. I managed to get to 4.89 or so. I want to like it, but at least one of the following needs to happen I think:

1. Use about 25% of the current number of red balls.
2. Maybe avoid spawning red balls near the player. MANY times I died in less than a second of spawning.
3. Don't kill the player on red ball hits, instead just bounce off of red balls.
4. Slow down turning and movement speed by 50% at least.
5. Slow down red ball motion.

Any one of those could make it much more fun. :(

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Well made game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/p3nh2TkdCXs

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:18pm

My score is... 6.9770999742897....? Rather difficult game, though!

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:41pm

I managed to make black hole whee! (and also get motion sickness)
Good simple game :)

careless says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:23am

Very nice entry, never tried 3D in LibGDX so was great to see that!

Very tough to start but got the hang of it a little after some time.

Its a good concept and with some tweaking and maybe levels/progression would be quite addictive.

Great work!

crucknuk says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Nice compo. I think you should lower sphere speed or maybe put the camera less close because it is really hard to avoid ennemies. I tried several times, I think my best score is something like 7.5. But maybe I'm just bad ^^ Anyway, the concept is interesting and reminds me of agar.io. Good job ;)

cudabear says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:42pm

It's pretty hard. The perspective is pretty disorientating, as well. I wish it would start easier and become harder later on. A pretty unique entry, but not a whole lot to do.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]