Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Riding on Cars!

by SuperPokeunicorn - Compo Entry

It is the distant future, 199X.

The Robot Apocalypse is upon us, and the robots have taken over Cityopolis.

You, Rad Brundy, must escape the the city (in style).

Ride your car past the legions of robo-lame-os to reach safety.

Are you bad enough?


CONTROLS:

Control the character with A and S (two buttons)

Hold A: speed up/fast fall
Release A: jump
Release A again in mid air to double jump
Hold A: rail grind

S: shoot
Hold S: charge shot

R: respawn/next level

You get scored at the end of each stage based on time and health.

Note: if you aren't getting audio, that's a bug. Just score audio as N/A if that's the case.


Tools:
Eclipse
Pait.net
bfxr.net
http://online.boscaceoil.net/
http://www.zamzar.com/convert/wav-to-mp3/
Autodesk SketchBook


Libraries:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/12/11/im-in-4374/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#87Humor3.55
#376Mood3.11
#461Audio2.67
#470Innovation3.17
#506Theme3.70
#509Graphics3.04
#570Overall3.13
#586Fun3.00
#1427Coolness48%

Comments

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:36am

Radtacular!

Kinda wished jumping didn't cause me to fall through the 'line' segments though :(

fiddenmar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:20am

I do not have any sounds, are there any?

ShadedVertex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:24am

I'm not hearing any sounds. Still, though, the graphics are pretty sweet. They look like the graphics from FNAF's minigames, which is a good thing. Thumbs up!

fede0d says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:09am

I like the pixel art style.
I think there should be a small tutorial before the game showing the controls.

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:15am

hah! When The character jumped out of the car I laughed. The game is not complete, but I can see it has some potential. The mechanic is very unintuitive and I think you could build some unique challenges out of it!

Khamekaze says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:49am

Riding on cars! *sweet guitar riffs*
5 on humor just for the reference ;)

Neoludo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:01am

Clever use of two buttons to control the game, though the controls weren't immediately obvious as to how to use them, after playing around a bit I did get used to them.
The graphics were solid, and the concept was clever. All up, a very nice entry.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:14am

Are the delayed controls intentional?

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:44am

@MoonlightBomber The controls aren't delayed, but rather jumping/shooting are based on when you release the button, since holding the button does something else.

cudabear says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:46am

I'm in a love-hate relationship with your controls. There's so much you can do with just one button it's hard to wrap your head around it, yet at the same time it feels rewarding when you do..

This game is pretty fun, if not a little to chaotic. I think it would be a little better a as an infinite runner type of deal rather than a stage-based one.

Well done!

Esjaji says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Quite a cool idea! My biggest real issue is that there seems to be a bit of control delay when jumping, but otherwise, it's a pretty sweet concept!

Jace239 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Thanks for leaving a rating and commenting on my game! I included your game in the second episode of my Let's Play Ludum Dare 34 series to show my gratitude! :D

Below is a link to the post with details, and you can find out my opinion of your game in the video as I play!
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/12/21/lets-play-ludum-dare-34-episode-02/

Jwatt says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:43pm

RIDING ON CARS

JUMP AND SHOOT

MEGAMAN MEGAMAN

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]