Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

ReachTheTop

by coldman - Compo Entry

Theme: Growth

The goal is to reach the maximum floor you can get to.

For that purpose, find the liana (one per floor) and climb it to the next floor. At the end of each floor you'll get a shop with random items to enhances your character.

The more you go up, the more it is crowded with slims and nuts.
Those evil creatures are the consequences of a higher threat living at
the dungeons top and leaving lianas behind...

Controls: (Keyboard only)
Arrow keys to move
Space to attack
B to buy

Tip: Spam Space to kill the monsters ;)

Any feedbacks (good or bad) will help me improve a lot, so if you don't mind, please leave a comment.

Bug Fix 1 (14/12/15 20:27)
* The game doesn't crash anymore around floor 10 because of an array "out of bounds" error.
* Update the source zip.

Bug Fix 2 (14/12/15 23:24)
* The resolution was crappy for a standalone build target like Windows, Mac or Linux: fixed.
* Update the source zip.
* Add Win, Mac, Linux binaries.

Have Fun !

Nicolas Barray

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#459Humor2.41
#464Graphics3.12
#577Audio2.41
#658Overall3.03
#661Fun2.91
#694Mood2.66
#891Innovation2.24
#956Theme2.00

Comments

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Good idea. Wasn't sure how it met either theme. Took too long to get to the bad guys.

sergicollado says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:44pm

great idea but It crash :(

trexmix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:44pm

A really good framework for a BoI-like game! Thought the combat wasn't really a strong point but again, its a pretty ambitious game and a short time span.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Nothing to do with the themes, but nice little game. I liked the art.

coldman says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:48pm

Hey everyone, thank you for the feedback !
@sergicollado: Can you tell me on which "Downloads and Links" ?

TeamDromedare says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:51pm

When it comes to the music it would be nice if the melodies were more directed, also the sounds themselves didn't fit together all that nicely. Cute graphics though. Probably would've enjoyed it more if I got some better feedback when an enemy is hit, maybe with some sound and visual effect.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:58pm

Funny game! Level design was good! The game has potential to be very nice!

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:09am

The game's in the right direction but the combat needs some work.

cppchriscpp says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:19am

I'll agree that it was a good idea, and I liked that the levels changed each time I played. The sound was pretty solid as well. I think it was a good attempt. That said, it sounds like you want some honest feedback, so I will give a little.

I think the two main complaints I could raise might be around player/enemy movement. Not having the player sprite face a direction (or having some other indicator) made it hard to tell where my attack was going to go. I can remember what direction I last walked in, but it's a little unexpected to not have that visual aid. Additionally, it feels weird that enemies don't stop moving/slow down/change direction/do something when they're hit.

Please don't be discouraged; as I said, I still think it is a good entry.

As a last note, the theme is present, though maybe a little subtle. The plant growth links the levels together.

coldman says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:56am

@cppchriscpp: Thanks for the honest feedback. It does not discourage me. It's the opposite. I'm trying not to skip any comment you guys left her, take note, and I started working on a post-compo version ;)

WizzardMaker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:39pm

Nice game, I wish there would be feedback on if I hit the enemy or not. Nice Music

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:47am

Overall it was actually really good. The combat needed a little work but other than that it was great, exploring the world/levels and trying to get further up the tower. Great stuff overall!:)

justinooncx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:25pm

Too few enemies plus huge prices makes me sad.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:09pm

My hands were cramping after a while, even with the iron sword I had to hit monsters just a bit too long. I wasn't sure when I was hitting things as there's no feedback of a normal sword swing vs hit, but the little character is cute and the idea, though not awfully original, was well executed for a 2-day compo. Nicely done. Hope you'll continue it for a bit. Maybe reduce slime HP by 30% or so and add some new mobs!

coldman says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Hello @zenmumbler, thanks for the feedbacks :) Actually yes I'm working on a post-compo release and hope to show it soon. I made new graphics, sounds and a bit different than my compo entry. Your feedbacks are taken into account for it too !

Raius says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Really cool so far although there's plenty more you could improve on like feedback for hitting enemies or getting hit and maybe some different types of enemies.

But for what you have so far it's great! Keep it up!

CheesyRamen says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Even though it crashed sometimes when playing the windows build (I think when it tries to load the red tile set...), I really enjoyed playing this! With some post-compo polish, this can be really fun!

Geck0 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Interesting game

beetracks says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Confusing game. In my second try it froze on "Floor 1" screen. But in my playthrough, I think it wasn't clear what I was supposed to do. And the combat was hard, you can't hit the enemy unless you're in a specific distance, not near and not far. I think you could work on the music too. It'd give a big plus to the game. There's potential, but it's hard to achieve it in 48h. Anyway, good job finishing it!

Dec 25, 2015 @ 10:10am

Cool!
Obviously very limited, but I see you didn't have much time. Definitely a good start, don't give up on it!

Music could do with some work I think, and the theme connection is a bit weak..

But the art is really cool and the controls are smooth. Sound effects are good.

Dec 25, 2015 @ 10:11am

Actually, I see that you're climbing on these things which I suppose are growing. So that's cool!

anael says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:11am

Interesting, but I think some feedbacks are needed (when you hit a target specially). It took me some time to understand how to leave the shop, and that the rooms where random. Otherwise it's fun

KZdev says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 6:17am

Cute graphics. Game got a little frustrating when moving to a rooms with nuts, not sure if it happens every time but the two nuts I found unavoidably damaged me when I entered the room.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:01am

Cute, fun game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/r75qiAihqqk

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]