Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grow big or go home

by Jeroenimoo0 - Compo Entry

The only growth is in the title unfortunetly... But you can feel like super meat boy with just the 2 mouse buttons (and the mouse).

I would loved to add more than 3 levels and sound. Overall weird enough the control works good for me.

I will be releasing more levels for this, links will be posted here or on twitter.

Some people talked about the mouse being locked, I did this because testing with some friends and family showed that weird enough with the locked mouse you have more control. It takes some getting used to however.

--- Requirements ---
!!! Requires java 8 !!!
Linux & OS/X not tested, let me know if it works or not!

Having trouble running the jar? Use "java -jar GrowBigOrGoHome.jar" from the command line. Suggested by @batmanasb

--- tools ---
The game was written in Java using LWJGL 3, I also used Lombok & Guava. All in a maven project which you can import straight into your eclipse workspace.

--- My Records ---
Level 1 - 00:23:75
Level 2 - 00:39:74
Level 3 - 00:21:64

--- Updates ---
I released an updated version with 6 levels. You can find the download here http://bit.ly/1QKmOyw

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#116Overall3.78
#121Fun3.70
#339Graphics3.36
#484Mood2.95
#498Innovation3.13
#506Theme3.70
#1427Coolness48%

Comments

Os_Reboot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:58am

Incredible visuals. The particle effects are awesome. Controls are extremely smooth. Some sound would make this entry. Well done!

blohod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:10am

Really nice look, I am as bad at it as I am a super meat boy, so I couldn't get past level two, even some basic noises from bfxr would of been nice.

batmanasb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:58am

The mouse turning is a really clever idea, but sadly doesn't work well with low sensitivity... but still clever! On a side note, if anyone is wondering how to execute a .jar, type this in the terminal "java -jar GrowBigOrGoHome.jar"

wuppy29 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:34am

Fun to see Super Meat Boy with only mouse controls.
This game would have really benefited from a jump sound or two. I would recommend using bfxr, you can create jump sounds with that in minutes.
Great game overall, but very frustrating that you couldn't see the mouse, which results in the character randomly turns around at times.

Studiosaurus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Great controls! really satisfying to move.

yokcos700 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:06pm

What a novel control scheme. It's wakened a bit by the fact that I can't see my cursor, but the platforming is pretty solid, the difficulty curve is great and the length it delightful. It doesn't stick around long enough to get old and repetitive. Every level is a new challenge. Could do with a checkpoint on the final level, though.

sydan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:15pm

This is really good. I was pleasantly surprised by the fantastic placement of checkpoints. Really kept me playing. I wish I could see my mouse though...

2pae says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:16pm

Very good animation, i love it. Its funny.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:37pm

^Nice piece of gameplay. After a short time of learning how to control the char it was very nice to play this game. With some sounds the game would be much better. Never mind, it feels like a very fast paced arcade runner... leveldesign is very nice... but I didn't pass the 3rd level :D

Kakureta says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:48pm

fun little game. Controls are original and graphics are simple but nice.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Feels really smooth! The camera is a bit too shaky in my opinion though. Fun little game (: You can notice it's inspired by Super Meat Boy haha

Flip120 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Incredible effects! and easy to control it. Good job

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Control are very cool, the animation of the character is also nice. Well done!

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:45pm

This is IGAD!

bitdecaygames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Sadly, I could not run the jar. I'm on OSX. Here is my stack trace:

java -jar GrowBigOrGoHome.jar
Starting...
java.lang.NullPointerException
at net.jeroenimoo0.ld34.Game.main(Game.java:114)
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NullPointerException
at net.jeroenimoo0.ld34.Game.main(Game.java:122)

And just an FYI, my game.data file was completely empty.

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:53am

Got it working on Linux after some fiddling :)
Challenging and fun control scheme, good physics, nice graphics, good level design.
Not much not to like in this one, except for the lack of sound and music perhaps :)

Evannex says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:32am

Great game! Very addicting, level 3 is very frustrating without a checkpoint though. :D Would benefit greatly from sound, but overall an amazing entry. Well done!

euske says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:38pm

I thought Level 3 was evil but eventually I could run through it!

ninos says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:27am

Nice game, control is perfect just like the level design. Overall nice game

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]