Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Waku Waku Buffet

by JD557 - Compo Entry

Intro:

"Welcome to Waku Waku Buffet, the best all you can eat restaurant in town!
We have 3 lanes full of delicious food, just for you!"

You just bought a full dinner at Waku Waky buffet, and you want to make sure you make the best out of your money.

Make sure you eat the food you like (chicken, burgers and sushi) and avoid the food you dislike (brocolli and soup),
as that will only make you full.

If you start to get full, don't worry, just go to the bathroom and empty your bowels ;).

You accumulate points by eating, but they will only go to your score after you go to the bathroom.
The fuller you are when you go to the bathroom, the more points you will get.

If you get too full, however, it's game over. Watch out for your fullness bar.

Itadakimasu!

Keys:

A -> Move up
Z -> Move down

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#46Humor3.82
#107Audio3.61
#173Theme4.08
#219Graphics3.63
#233Overall3.57
#311Fun3.38
#329Mood3.19
#598Innovation2.96
#1391Coolness49%

Comments

SplittyDev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Omg I absolutely love this. I'm a big fan of japanese-themed stuff and this is just.. aww

velddev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Cute game!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:16pm

nice, very funny game

Carnivoris says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Game wouldn't accept input and none of the game's locomotion worked for me for some reason :/

chriiis88 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:27pm

Hilarious idea. The only negative point is that it becomes too difficult too fast. But otherwise really fun and funny.

JD557 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:40pm

@Carnivoris, that's odd...
Have you tried clicking on the game with your mouse? Maybe you had something else selected.

rockford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Yeahhhh nice, remind me tapper on arcade

Ildfuglen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Cute little game, although the gameplay was very generic.

@SamPotasz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Really enjoyed this! Simple concept and well-executed. Great tension between pooping and eating.

vegapomme27 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:30am

Nice ! The idea was well executed here. Graphics works well too. The toilet mechanic was cool too.
Nice work.

AlexLemminG says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Nice game, but what if i like brocolli)))

JD557 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:58pm

@AlexLemminG:
At first I was planning on having multiple characters with different tastes. That seemed like a nice way to implement a difficulty slider (eg. picking the vegetarian character would be playing in hard mode).

Unfortunately, as the code base grew that feature became harder to implement and I ran out of time.

krashja says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:31pm

いただきます!!! funny game ;)

refreshgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Doesn't work in Firefox, but works in Chrome, just in-case anyone else is having issues. Cute little game, banking points is a nice mechanic too.

JD557 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:59pm

@refreshgames:
Thanks for the heads up. This actually seems to be a known firefox issue firefox: https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1080646

Since that ticket is unassigned since 2014, I'll try to release an fix tomorrow (I need to check first if that doesn't break any rules).

JD557 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:07pm

OK, the game seems to run fine on Firefox now.

BeardyBard says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Aww, so cute voiceover ^_^
Your game made me hungry, haha

Blobo says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Really neat game! i love how the guy gets fat as you eat. pretty interesting concept too. it gets challenging pretty fast though.

kmakai says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 2:58pm

Really cute, fun twist on the "catch falling things" style of game. My only complaint is that the difficulty seems to increase really quickly, but that's kind of minor. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]