Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Growcoon

by alek345 - Compo Entry

I went for the theme Growing

So this is a game where the point is to grow rich on growing different plants.

Although the game is not as complete as i wanted it to be.
I only manged to make 4 different plants.

Keys:
v - Use shovel - Turn grass into dirt
c - Sell crops
b - Open your seeds catalog
x - Till your dirt
z - Rebuy the last bought seed

Audio was generated using Bfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2073Coolness26%

Comments

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:40pm

Pretty simple, but it's actually calming/relaxing to just grow a garden haha.

I'm definitely going to be having this in the background all day, slowly but surely growing my corn-empire, nice job!

Miltage says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Not incredibly clear what the tools are or what they do. Some tooltips or item names would help. Without your instructions I would have been forever lost. Also the mix of keyboard/mouse controls is a little awkward, I'd make the entire interface mouse driven.

Good work overall.

johntherobot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:47am

Not bad gameplay! The controls are a bit counter intuitive, which distracts from the overall experience. The core of the gameplay is there though. Good job!

retraffic says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:22pm

It's a nice little game. I like the idea of having to wait for your plants to grow. Feels relaxing after the stressful days of Ludum Dare. ;)
What I'd recommend is giving a bit of feedback on the controls. It's at no point really clear what does what, even if you already used it before. The symbols are just too similar.

Jesse Freeman says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Had a really hard time figuring out what to do. Could be a good concept but really needs more hand holding in the beginning so it's clear how to get started. Great work!

Alloyed says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Got a blank screen in Firefox. Worked fine in Chrome.
Without maintenance(watering, fallow etc) it doesn't feel like much of a game. There isn't a way to do better at it besides figuring out the cost/sale/time ratio of plants and exclusively planting the best one.

brainstorm says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:07pm

It have some charm, but controls felt a bit irresponsive (I haven't managed to buy nothing more from the seeds catalog) and it's not clear what tools make. Next time try to do something not ambitious as that. Remember that there are only 48-72 hours, and that sometimdes simple and innovative thing are better!

2/5

ninos says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 10:41am

Really liked it, it took me some time to figure out the controls but when i got them the game was really calming 10/10

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]