Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

MONSTER KING

by rogberth - Compo Entry

NOTE: Probably doesn't work in chrome

You are a small green monster, that aspires to be the king of them all.
Help the little dude end with the other monsters and grow new parts by obtaining their souls, like, wings or glands (that's about it, yeah, I nailed the theme, I know)

Instructions:
Z- jump
X- Attack
Arrow keys to move.

PD: no sound, sorry : (

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#117Fun3.71
#293Humor2.78
#379Graphics3.29
#399Overall3.34
#511Mood2.92
#749Innovation2.66
#938Theme2.39

Comments

fede0d says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Very nicely done. Good graphics and it's super fun to play.
But I couldn't beat the bottom level (the snow level).

uthamon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Whole game with boss battles? Awesome. I had ton of fun with Your game. Each of the bosses has some unique attacks and envoirment hazards. I must tell it's difficult as hell in the beginning. I found out that the easiest boss to start with is that fire leather jacket guy. I was standing on the left side of upper-right platform, and from there it was possible to dodge all the fireballs and fires. When voting will end, I would love it if you would add sounds and maybe music even. It's a great game.

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:52pm

a nice game overall, though i had issues with not being able to see if my shot hit the boss or not. and during the (i think it was peppers) stage they knocked me out to the left, and i was stuck, and couldnt do anything. maybe add a bounds object there to keep the player in.

LMT says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:54pm

That was quite fun, but the presence of the theme was pretty weak (as you know :P). I would've liked sound, but the gameplay was great and the graphics were good too.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:56pm

Very well done! The controls are super responsive, and the graphics are great. It reminded me of old-school platformers.
It could have used some sound and music, but overall it is very good!

AlmightyTuna says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:56pm

Nice game, Very reminiscent of older PC adventure games, damage values seem a little skewed

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Well, I do love a challenge.

This game reminds me of an amazing little game called banana nababa. Could have really used some sounds or music, but this'll do. I agree with jcmonkey on the boss hit thing

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Seems like a competently executed platformer, but I couldn't find anything especially interesting about it. The down level was pretty trick 'cause I didn't realize until a few tries in there were ice spikes on the ground.

Allthebees says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:18pm

I love boss battles, this was great. All the bosses are so different and they all has such distinctive art. The game is not easy too which is great, although it would be nice maybe to have a boss health bar somewhere/ more feedback through audio?

ORECROS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:24am

Was really cute.
Could do with a flash effect on the bosses when you hit them
also, what's the point of my health bar having 8 ticks if it goes down 3 or 4 every time i get hit? It'd be nice to not feel like im made of glass.
The mario-style jumping is cool, but I do sometimes end up going higher than i intend

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:12am

I have liked a lot this game. The controls are good, the graphics are simple but funcional, and finally Its strenght is a fabulous game design to fight against the bosses. Good job!

marod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:18pm

It's a nice game with interesting enemy mechanics, but a bit difficult because the boss lifes and your attack damage.

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Very nice game! The gameplay is simple but very addictive. If the game had music, it will be fantastic. Anyway very good job!

Darkflint says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Nice game! But i am to weak, i couldnt beat a single boss *cry a river...*

YinYin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:38pm

It totally works in chrome.

The main character is adorable.

With the difficulty XZ controls were however really bad on a qwertz keyboard D:

Xanjos says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:37pm

Shame there's no sound (something generated from bfxr would have definitely suited this) but I like the MegaMan inspired gameplay of beating bosses and taking their powers.

midgard says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:36am

I really liked the controls on this one! Very good work, graphics also standed out.

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:48am

I find it interesting that the issue of growth is progress socially. Is good but the gameplay is very hard for me XD.

Sergioct says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Really nice game and difficult !!!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]