Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

A Firetree Tale

by aeveis - Compo Entry

A relaxing easy game about growing a tree-firework-dragon thing. Let me know your high score!

Tools used:
IDE: Flash Develop
Library: Haxeflixel
Art: Gimp
Sound/Music: OpenMPT

Controls:
Arrow Keys or AD to shoot branches

If you need it: [] for Cheats

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#40Theme4.36
#98Mood3.71
#170Innovation3.70
#184Graphics3.75
#193Overall3.63
#216Fun3.54
#317Audio3.00
#439Humor2.45

Comments

mattrified says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Nice visuals. The growing stuff is really cool.

jdoughty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:35am

Very interesting presentation. I liked how unique the movement/shooting felt. Made me have to think twice about each move getting the desired result I wanted. Very Nice!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:08am

Nice, relaxing, colorful, not only a game, a playing poetry !
And good use of both themes, very well done !

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:12pm

Very nice! I liked how the plants grew! Also very interesting "shooting" mechanic, that when you shoot you'll move the other way.
It would be nice if there was a bit more variation in gameplay and music.

Well done!
"Boner Simulator of the year 2015"

treslapin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:59am

This was great! I love the concept and how the fireworks multiply and branch out. Really great.

danidre14 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Beat it out a lot of times, but the colours just kept me playing! xD Nice game!

Starspell says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:31am

I think the game could use a bit of instruction at the beginning, especially with regard to your life and what to avoid. I love your growing effects for both the main tree and the green areas and the concept is really interesting. The one feature I find lacking though is a way of looking back over your tree once you are defeated to see the cool effects that you created!

eprincev says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:55am

nice

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:55am

Great growing game, polishing was well done.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:55am

The shooting is unique and I haven't seen this theme used before. Very cool, though it can get repetitive.

Dreyan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:20am

Really cute game, the controls were comfortable and easy to get the hang of!

rzuf says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:00am

Scored 91630 and the sky turned pink. :D Nice game, I loved the visuals, the branches created by explosions are great! Would love to be able to see the resulting tree after the game over, but then the single session would have to be much shorter so the tree could be actually displayed.
Oh, and the rocket-treetop thingie is a lil bit phallic. :D

xhunterko says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:10pm

This was a fun little game! Loved the cute style and the music! They really went well together! Solid fun!

KZdev says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Nice visual effects and a unique control scheme. This was pretty fun, I got to 41560.

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:01am

Ah cool! It took a little getting used to, but after that chaining together combos was a lot of fun! It also took me a while before I realized the green orbs weren't enemies - I got up to 35k, I need to step it up!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:35am

Very cute visuals and innovative gameplay! Had a blast playing it.

Skruffye says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:57am

Very cool! Took me a few moments to figure out what was going on, but after that the game was a fun experience.
The art and visual effects were highly appealing, as was the animation and the screen shake.
I enjoyed the music although it was perhaps not entirely in keeping with the rest of the game.
Other than that one minor niggle, very good job! ^^v

Blobo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Interesting game overall. i like the way you incorperated both themes.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:18am

80630, and it's not phallic at all. Fun and relaxing!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:25am

Cool graphics. Good use of both themes. Nice job.

lurils says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:43am

very weird but cute designs, and fun, nice game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]