Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Tormented Dungeon

by Snowdrama - Jam Entry

Tormented Dungeon is a Roguelike where you have to clear the dungeon of all the enemies

Controls:
Just click the buttons on the radial menu in the corner
Left Button - Rotate Menu
Right Button - Select Menu Option
Escape - Exit

This is my fourth Ludum Dare and I feel like it went as well as the last few, great for 2 days and then PANIC MODE for the last 24 hours, I did start late, and I did get sick again so I lost some time there but overall I think this is one of my more complicated games, its the first one that uses damage and a form of weaknesses. As well as having the largest number of sprites in any game ive made so far(most only had like 10 max, in fact one only had 3)

NOTE: Currently the player takes damage but the health bar is not displayed, This is not intended I'll have a patch for it as soon as I fix it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2115Coolness24%

Comments

Jebby says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:22am

Nice idea, but very tedious to play.

Snowdrama says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:34am

@Jebby Yeah I came up with the idea originally and thought it was great, after building it, it became apparent that it was tedious to play(Too late at that point to restart...) I think the controls could be awesome for a menu but movement needs to be moved to some other control like normal directional pad controls. If I hadn't had the 2 button restriction I would have considered it. I'll probably do it for the final post compo release version.

flukeshot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:40am

Unfortunately didn't work for me on Win 10

Snowdrama says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:23am

Weird, Did it leave a output_log.txt in the data folder? I have been building and testing on Windows 10 so I don't think OS is the issue.

jdoughty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:24am

Theres alot of solid ideas here, just not a great genre for two buttons.

beetracks says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:13am

The concept is interesting, but it became kinda boring very soon. To much sub actions to manage, even for a walk. It might became a good game with some thought on the game design.

Snowdrama says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:32pm

@jdoughty Yeah I realized that about 24 hours in, but I didn't have time to re-write the game at that point.

@beetracks Yeah I think it would make more sense for a game that you dont constantly need input, like a Tamagotchi type game, or using the menu solely as a combat system and not a movement system

pi_pi3 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:18pm

The concept itself is nice, but it would be a lot better on a smart device, where you can spin and pick the actions dynamically. It's too tedious to do so on a pc

Snowdrama says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:32pm

@pi_pi3 Yeah thought it was a cool idea at first, not so much a day or so in hahaha. There's a lot of changes I plan to make in the future.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]