Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Concrete Jungle

by Miltage - Compo Entry

Guide the plant to the sunlight above the buildings.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Theme4.72
Coolness71%
#4Innovation4.40
#12Overall4.24
#19Mood4.19
#47Graphics4.28
#57Fun3.88
#60Audio3.84
#239Humor2.91

Comments

JamerTheGamer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:28am

This was a super-fun game! I couldn't really figure out what to do at first, but after I did, it was pretty fun. Nice work implementing both the themes - and the small touch at the end of the game was great.
I also loved the simple vibe the music was giving off, and the timelapse idea was super-smart. And the level was even randomised each time!
Simply spectacular work, dude! :D

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:59am

Very nice and relaxing! The closest there is to the them(s).

Check out Digicross, playable in solo/multi/coop :
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=46758

tgrehawi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:05am

This is one of those games I've been waiting to play since I saw the first post of it and went "wow". Super simple and well polished. The timelapse effect is an amazing touch; perhaps a little too flickery but otherwise really well put together.

anael says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:07am

waw, amazing physics ! and I really like the graphics and animation, specially the feeling of time going fast, impressive.

esayitch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:08am

Brilliant use of the theme. Awesome art, great music! The only "complaint" I have is that it ends too soon and is a bit easy. Other than that, wonderful entry! Good luck :)

doitle says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:10am

That was such a cool mechanic. I wish I could give you 6 stars for innovation. I'd love it if you did a blog post on the main page about the technique behind how you did the vine growth and attachment to objects.

Gyfis says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:13am

Woo! Best game I've played so far, and I really really like it! The gameplay was super relaxing and very intuitive, and the final scenes were very nice :) Great job!

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:16am

Sweet! The vine engine works and feels amazing. All the rest is just sweet icing on the cake.

Teren says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:21am

Very nice. Bonus points for using both themes :)

johnnwfs says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:27am

Great job and fun little game. I like the vine mechanic.

ianh says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:28am

What a brilliant idea! All the elements of the game combined really well, from the gameplay mechanics to the music. I wasn't expecting an ending, so I was pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. I agree that the timelapse effect is a bit too flickery, though.

Boberro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:30am

Oh my deity, this timelapse. Awesome.

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:32am

I know this was going to be the first game I played, and it was so worth it. You did amazing.

cimbaman says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:32am

Loved the time lapse effect, it made the game much much better. Also the music is very interesting and goes excellent with the game.

psypol says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:36am

really liked it. in the begining its not obvious how to go up i ended doing rounds next to the trash ^^ nice choice with the "speed-up" of the world (birds/people in windows)

Andarilhoz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:38am

Haha Really really fun to play

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:41am

Dude how the feck did you make this, this is awesome. It's a shame there's no objective; but its fun to play as a toy anyway! Well done.. :D p.s.

the vine scares me a little bit

kmakai says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:45am

Awesome job utilizing the theme! I agree that more moody/atmospheric music might be an interesting addition, but I also like the track you used. The time-lapse effect is really smart, it really makes the visuals "click" even better for me.

If you continue working on this in the future, it would be cool to see more environments, maybe even a time- or score-based mode (though that might detract from how relaxing it is right now!)

Janacek says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:54am

Man, that was awesome !

Sheepolution says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:04pm

Man, that was pretty though. The length of the game was perfect, and it played really well. I think you should've left out the flickering in the timelapse, but you can turn it off so it's cool. Great job!

OddballDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Great entry. Fits the theme well. The time lapse and vine effects were excellent. The game was just the right length for the amount of content. SPOILER: When the vine flowered at the end I would have liked the camera to stop there, but that's a minor nit pick.

fractalbear says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:26pm

Absolutely amazing! Have no idea how you coded the vine to wrap around things like that, brilliant!

NuggetTeam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:28pm

I was hyped with this game since the first post. It's great, the idea is great, the graphics are great, the timelapse effect is amazing and you should feel great with yourself!

Pete_H says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:33pm

Stunning game! Loved the mechanics, aced the theme and great fun. Really gives the player a sense of accomplishment when you make a long "jump?" from one thing your climbing to the next.

donvermo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:38pm

Outstanding game, although the mechanics can be a little frustrating at times it's still a really well made game for only 48h.

SojaBird says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:40pm

Wow this is so much fun!
Cool art, cool gameplay and relaxing fun soundtrack with it.

It's nice that there is no real score or anything, just a relaxing experience.
The gameplay itself is fun enough to stand on its own without goal or score or anything! Great job!

I really love the way you used the flashing birds and humans and such to reflect time <3

roninfight says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Pretty cool. Not a lot of gameplay but a very solid ambiance. Well done!

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:49pm

Wow this must be the best theme implementation this time around! super well executed :) gameplay is a bit stale and gimmicky, but that's understandable looking at the polish.

Ildfuglen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Very cool concept, the art style i great and I had a blast! Would love to see a post ludum dare version of this game!

Thanks for a great experience :)

Jod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Great work implementing the theme! Loved sound, gameplay and visuals. I had a few 'nooooo, little creeper, grow harder!'-moments.

A nice and smooth game to play during my post-jam hangover :).

sydan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:04pm

How brilliant! That vine growing mechanic is spot on and the whole game in general was very well made.

Moebius says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:40pm

Love the mechanic. Really good implementation of the themes. Also the time passing effect is quite cool!

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Lots of fun. Great overall, and very relaxing, until it got too hard for me, haha.

Ditto says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:18pm

winner

Deity says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Love it, nice music, graphics and soothing game.

MikeTsunami says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:19pm

I was waiting to play this! Love the art style and music!

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:18pm

The music and environment is very soothing,

mactinite says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:27pm

I love the timelapse effects! Awesome work!

kirilllosev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:37pm

wow. it's a cute little game and it makes me smile :)

wilsk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Great job, really loved the way the vine grew and the flickery / time lapsey images either side.

laFunk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Just amazing! Truly a piece of art

DivineOmega says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:11pm

I love the atmosphere of this game. It's really quite relaxing.

I didn't know if there were any particular objectives initially and wasn't entirely sure how my inputs were controlling the vine. I soon realised and found the game very enjoyable.

The physics are well done. The pixel art graphics are really nice, especially the time lapse effects which add to the urban style you seemed to be going for. The background music is completely appropriate for this style of casual gameplay.

I wanted to play this one as soon as I saw your 'tech demo' Tweet of the vine's growth. Overall awesome! :D

kevin_pauly says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:23am

Just nailed the growing plant feel! Also, a sublime ending!

AdamsMcCall says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:06am

Nice idea ! And the gameplay is well developped :D Too bad after a little while it starts to be boring as nothing really change. But still, thats awesome :D
One of the closest to theme I think :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:22am

This was so relaxing and intesting. You've done a great job with the game. The mood was perfect: nice and relaxed. I saw your first dev post while we were only just beginning, looked so cool. Good work!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:17am

Awesome!!!

Gabe_Fern says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:09am

Totally worth it! Thank you for this amazing game! All love for it!

Rufson says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:02am

Great!!!

ehgoodenough says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:56am

I love love the timelapse effect. :]

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:33am

Great vine mechanic. Really satisfying to move around. More of a prototype vs a game, as in no goal, but would love to see some game made out of this mechanic. It really is brilliant and nice theme usage.

jsmars says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:07am

Beautiful idea! It's nice in it's simplicity, but I'd like to see some type of more challenge in it to get a score or something :)

alek345 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:22pm

This game fit both themes perfectly. I really enjoyed the game. The music fits perfectly to the game, and the timelapse effects. The graphics were fantastic. Fantastic job!

Wakintosh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Great game, a simple idea well done. Excellent!

TheSteveIAm says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Very clever and well done!

local306 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Oh man! This is absolutely brilliant!

Meta-link says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Very, very good game :) The concept is amazing, the physic really cool, and the graphics and sounds perfect for the game !

Tuism says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Whoa! Fantastic entry! :D

I really enjoyed the aesthetic and the feel of the plant, it really feels alive, that is really fantastic stuff just there.

The time-lapse effect is SO GOOD! It fits the theme and the feel SO well. LOVE IT.

I kinda wish I knew more about what the plant is doing. When I started I kinda just bunched into a ball trying to get somewhere and not knowing how. I think some kind of cursor indicating where you are (the head, if you will) might be nice, if at least for the beginning bit.

Lovely stuff :)

uvwar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Really really cool! It could be interesting if there was a kind of day/night cycle or something where the really limited shaft of sunlight would move from one side to the other, giving your optimal growth if you were within the range.

blackbird806 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Wow It's awesome game Oo, I realy love it ,but the controls are difficults.congrats =)

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Oh! I love this! Everything about it! Perfect fit for the theme. Lovely art and music!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:42pm

That was very cute and fun to play. I really enjoyed the mood it set, great job!

StMatn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Very fun game. It was a bit hard to figure out the controls, but after that in was a nice experience!

Nice work :)

elliottd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:41pm

really great entry. I love the time lapse effect, especially the random tinting. and no score, it's just really pleasant

Kep says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:17pm

Great idea and the timescale shown with the birds and people is brilliant. Innovation 5/5.
I did hit a dead end on my first play, but managed to get to the top on try 2.
It's short and sweet so far, but has good potential for expansion with more varied levels. Well done!

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:35pm

That was a really good experience, I'm not sure what was more impressive, the vines with very robust and real looking physics or the background that had a timelapse to imply that much more time had passed than you realise. This was brilliant to play through!

qkerguelen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:58pm

This was really awesome! Nothing else to say, I loved it!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:49am

Pretty relaxing game that's actually rather fun to see in action! Especially love the timelapse effects!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:27am

Nice, kinda meditative game. Not much gameplay, but still nice experience!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:59pm

Perfect! This game is perfect! 5 stars, all categories, you win :D

Tapehead says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:24pm

this is a very cool idea and it has a nice ending. i also like the idea of time lapse

local minimum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:31pm

I took me some to get started but then I was off and away. Really great game and interesting mechanics. The visuals, with time passing as fast as it did, was really nice. It would have been interesting if stuff could interact with the vine. Like for example, birds. Or if day-night cycle was important. Weather. Etc. It got a bit repetitious while climbing alternating balconies, and after that it got dead hard. So maybe some more variation to about equal difficulty sections and then a slower progression towards the super tricky. I really enjoyed playing it, if there was a reasonable way of making the interactions for mobile and maybe add an elevation-score... it would be a very nice relaxing game for the commute to work.

lawendt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Beautiful!

emmes says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:02am

Nice idea, cool music, nice physics effects. Very fitting for the themes! Extremely polished, just a bit short, and not very demanding.
Actually more art than game. I mean this in the positive sense.

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:51am

What an amazing physics based game! I got to the top and it was an amazing climb :) Very well done.

cilerba says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:09am

Brilliant take on the theme! Personally I think it could have used a bit more interaction (perhaps some pulley systems that you have to latch onto to open the path upwards) but it is still amazing as is. :)

TRAB says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:09am

I see Concrete Jungle as less of a game, and more of an interactive work of pixel art. It feels absolutely incredible to play, between the perfect physics and the shuddering organicism of the vine itself as it grows. It also looks incredible, with detail and scale and colors all hitting just the right notes. The time-lapse effect puts the plant's perspective front and center. Again, not much of a game (in terms of accomplishing objectives), but sometimes the best games are made out of things without inherent objectives. Insanely good work here, man.

philipp says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:27pm

The most coherent game in this jam I've encountered so far.

I would have loved a bit of a challenge or a goal, but that is just personal preference.

Lullaby says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Really really great idea, so good and so satisfying well done! :p

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Pssst - You've been featured on today's Ludum Dare to Believe! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E44U-Zq5y_A

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:59pm

OMG IS This awesome or what :X
Huge fan of ur art idea music everything blends so well
Love it love it :D Great job

DragonXVI says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Neat! Pretty simple and music loop got a bit annoying but physics were nifty & like the idea!

Silvio says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:57pm

impressive!

VersatileBox says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:04pm

This game is just amazing. I loved it. 10/10

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Very very nice! That timelapse effect is neeeeeaaaaattt!! Music is super cool and the whole thing plays pretty good!

sputnik says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Really great!

andyman404 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Very cool use of of the theme. Nice work!

xhunterko says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Hitting that soundtrack good there! After a bit I gave up being precise due to tired fingers and just rapid hit the buttons which got the same results. Still fun though!

trexmix says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:39pm

Everything but the gameplay was very very calming, but I got a bit frustrated by the gameplay. Insanely polished though.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:47pm

I didnt expect that at all, and it was surprisingly fun !
A green poetry in that grey concrte jungle, very well done !

Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:19am

Just brilliant.

Leuthil says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:33am

Art.

Aumni says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:46am

Great game, really fit the 2 themes :)

Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:14am

Wow, superb use of both themes, and a fun game to boot. Excellent job.

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:15am

Definitely one of my favorites so far! I love just about everything about it - I just wish I could lean back and see the whole plant when I'm through. Amazing work!

Ancient_Pixel says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:33am

The feeling of the timelaps is spot on :)

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:08am

Very cool game! Really liked the physics and the graphics!

bitdecaygames says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:12am

Now that's something you don't see every day. Nice work -- a very zen experience.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:15am

Loved it! Awesome, awesome, idea. I love the whole timelapse idea, it's really cool. Some 5 star music too, great job!

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:32am

throwing my scrawny vine-body around, attaching to rails, missing a risky leap, plummeting to my death, realizing how hard it is to be a vine...

excellent job haha, very fun game! :)

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:01am

Absolutely beautiful game! The physics and the graphics were practically perfect. It's really inspiring, and matched both themes better than I've seen any other game so far. Love it, excellent work!! ;D

OnionBlaze says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:55am

I love how the music complements with the art and the gameplay, giving it a calming, fun atmosphere. It helped me keep on playing at the start, even though I can't reach the things sometimes, hahah. Great job with this. :D

SteveSalmond says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:56am

Lovely! What a little gem of a game.

Epicruins195 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:18am

This is one of my favourites so far. Very appealing art style, smooth and satisfying gameplay, nice music. The time lapse effects are an excellent touch.

dx0ne says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Ofc game is pure gold. Timelapse effect is Oscar worthy! Very catch tune that grows on you.

broknecho says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:54pm

All Star entry. Well done! The mood, controls, theme. Super awesome.

I'm at a loss though on where to take this game but what you have here now is pretty great.

Nicely done.

hoqjed says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Look no further. This game is the winner of the jam!

Wevel says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Really great game, seems a bit difficult at times but very satisfying to finally grow a bit higher

Donar says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:31pm

I made it to the top, yay. Had great fun with this one. Pretty simple idea but really well executed.

jigalx says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:39pm

This was lovely. Probably the best compo entry I've played so far!

tinyworlds says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:59pm

That was a wonderful game! The tiny plant exploring the city as a habitat ... guerilla-gardening as a game.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:26pm

...I'm at a loss of words for this. Not a very common thing, I must assure you. This is simply brilliant - despite how much that phrase does not encompass enough of it.

one small addition though: I managed to get an impossible level on the first run - grew an Amazon rainforest but could not proceed

thedashdude says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Really fun, I liked the time-lapse thing going on.

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:00pm

Great entry!

jeroenwimmers says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:05am

the perfect compo entry. simple, yet unique idea with a great execution.

I love the whole mood with the music and the city just doing its thing. and at the same time you're just doing your thing as nature growing around alongside. from start to finish, really well done. you get all the stars

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:27am

This was fun!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:02am

Great entry. Unique, and the controls are fun. You kept it small and made a complete mini-experience. I thought the time-lapse was an inspired touch. Keep it up!

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:30am

The best interpretation of the both themes from what I have seen so far! Just great game. Good luck ^_^

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:04am

5/5 for everything. The ending...almost cried. Those flowers...

fullmontis says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:27pm

Wow, I really like how you used the theme! I think you did a really good synergy of both themes. The gameplay is fun and not repetitive, although you need to fight with the controls most of the time.

wilbefast says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:13pm

Outstanding work, and there nicely on theme. I never imagined it could be such much fun to be a plant :P

thristhart says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:52pm

I love this a whole lot! We had a similar concept and this is so much better executed - it's fantastic + beautiful!

dvdfu says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:48pm

One of my favorite entries yet! Great take on both themes. The game is very polished and the visuals are charming. Great job!

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:33pm

I must say I'm amazed. It's definitely the best entry I played so far. Congratulation for your great work.

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:11pm

This is just great!

The core mechanic works really well and is nice and satisfying but all the little extra touches really make it special.

The time-lapse effects are a clever way of implying the growing time, the jaunty music is a great accompaniment and when I was about to stop to come rate the game, I found that it had an sweet ending that was the icing on the cake.

One of the best I've played this ludum dare, for sure. Excellent job! :)

Jwatt says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:14pm

This is a clever little game/toy. Big up for the timelapse aesthetic. Also that music is hilarious to me for some reason.

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Incredible. Such a cool concept so well executed.

Split82 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:49pm

Super cool!

Joror says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:26pm

Very nice feelgoods and mechanics (vine-dynamics?), but the difficulty seemed a bit too easy.

Flowers at the end was a good touch.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Really clever idea and it all works as you'd expect Timelapse effects are great. Pretty much perfect compo entry I would say, well done

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Great! It's good that it has an ending.

Dejvo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:43pm

really great game. a bit hard to get hold of the controls, but superb and minimalistic

Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:23am

Really impressive compo entry. Definitely one of the best I've seen. Though I suspect you didn't draw the banksy :)

Drauthius says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Very interesting concept, but it was way too easy. I could crawl up the left side until almost reaching the top. The people, cars and birds give the impression that a lot of time has passed, but I just feel that they are an annoyance. Would have been OK just to say that it was a super plant growing very fast, and keep the world moving at a regular pace.

Kerdelos says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Nice game. I particularly enjoyed the vine physics and the graphics but i feel like there is no challenge. It is more a relaxing game.

lurils says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:50am

really nice love the mood and the mechanic

Supr says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:07am

Very good! One of the best games for this Ludum Dare. Thank you.

Dayko says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:32am

Awesome !!

Dayko says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:33am

Also, timelapse is genius.
You could even try to add a day night cycle in timelapse :D

cameronpenner says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:02am

Beautiful! I love it.

psychonull says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:59am

So good!, nice music graphics and gameplay, I've enjoyed this little game. great work!

mukult says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:04am

Amazing game!!! Worth playing!! Thank you for this!! :)

Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:07pm

Waw, Amazing atmosphere! I love how time goes so fast as a plant, it just looks amazing!

mar3k says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:44pm

Nice game, love the music!

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:45pm

Man, I loved this one! I'll call it a piece of art, because it's amazing! I loved the art, the music, the physics, the gameplay, the time effect and everything else.
Great and relaxing game! You should consider making more levels and go mobile!

(also, at least for me, I think you should remove the game from the humor category).

Bensonance says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:46pm

This is excellent!

Love the controls of the the vine - satisfying to use! Love the little sprite flashes to communicate time passing - such an elegant way to do that while still keeping the game real-time. I also enjoy the brave design choice to have a definitive end to the game, rather than an 'endless-viner' or something.

Congrats on the great game again! <3

blackmagic says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Many clever tricks, a solid entry, I could have used less linear progression for a Perfect but Wow. Really clever.

Webravenz says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 3:52pm

amazing idea and physics !

Ludic says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 5:51am

Best compo entry!!! just amazing!!

Dec 26, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Very nice entry,
Both theme are well respected and combined to make a fun game. Well done.

flyingbear says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Wow! Games should be about giving you unique experiences and your game has done just that. Thank you!

Dec 27, 2015 @ 10:19pm

most innovative game i have played on a ludum dare. that was a really unique experience. great job!

EwChap says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:57am

Awesome. I wanted to try this one since you posted during the compo. Great entry. Love the style, the time-lapse really worked to set the pace of the growing vine. great work

Yakka says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 12:34pm

A Peaceful and clever game. One of my favorite!

Xanjos says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 6:25pm

Pretty nice and relaxing entry. Physics were well done, absolutely loved the music and the timelapse effects looked really cool.

Beavl says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:33pm

Great take on the theme. Nice use of physics too. Wow, we love this. Cheers from Argentina!

Nega Drive says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:38pm

Great take on the plant growing game. Certainly the most thematically interesting one, the contrast of nature in a manmade environment was cool. Love the timelapse style of the background. Awesome work overall.

MicroMacro says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:21pm

Very fun game! Awesome feel to the controls.

Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:40am

A quick tutorial would have been awesome. Great job with the animation and physics

youngertoti says ...
Jan 23, 2016 @ 3:29pm

Worth playing!Special controls!Feel happy after playing it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]