Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

noa noa

by Tony Coculuzzi - Jam Entry

A virtual pet simulator! Play games, buy things, and keep your pet alive. Yaaaay

I came up with the idea a few weeks ago. I really wanted to make a virtual pet sim, but held off. I knew Ludum Dare was around the corner, and figured I could put the idea on the backburner until then.

LD34 came around, and I voted yes on only two themes, "Growing" and "Two Button Controls" I figured if one of them was chosen, I'd make this game.

When the results came in, and I saw that they both tied, I figured I had to jam. This is the result, enjoy!

CREDITS:
Game by @tonycoculuzzi
Audio by @isyourguy

CONTROLS:
Z + X

Z acts like a 'confirm' button
X acts like a 'next' button

NOTE:
Your noa noa is persistent! If you leave the page or close the game, your data will be saved, allowing you to continue playing later!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#9Theme(Jam)4.60
#20Audio(Jam)4.30
#23Graphics(Jam)4.66
#29Overall(Jam)4.18
#41Mood(Jam)4.14
#108Humor(Jam)3.67
#271Innovation(Jam)3.47
#295Fun(Jam)3.44

Comments

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:38am

AWESOME submission. Simple gameplay, but everything is very polished. great graphics/audio

zlaine says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:46am

Awesome, though I still am just as terrible at these when I was a kid. I couldn't win the minigame. This was a lot of fun though. :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:48am

Wow. This is pretty awesome and well done. You had me grinning from the title screen. Not overly complex, and overflowing with polish and charm.

jasoncoan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:49am

Brought back some wonderful memories of neglecting my Tamagotchi. Great submission.

Frenchie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:50am

This is amazing! I can't believe you pulled this off in three days! Although I guess you've been thinking about it for a while. The level of polish in here is crazy - from the camera work in the intro to the Noa Noa shaking when you mash the buttons!

One suggestion: You should let people know that their Noa Noa is persistent. I sat around for a while before I took the leap of faith and refreshed the page :P

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:57am

@Frenchie: Good call! I'm going to add that to the description right now.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:40am

Super polished and authentic, it felt like the real thing. The camera work really added a lot to the visual effect.

roninfight says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Very cute. Love the authenticity (I used to have one), the music, the sound design and even the graphics. It works really well, congratulations!

fishtrek says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:49pm

super cute, i love this. kudos :)

alexrus07 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Amazing entry, very polished and professional. Had a lot of fun with it!

Big Cow says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Horray. Very cool! Love the expressions.

joekinglake says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Really well done on the look of it all. Good job on completing this!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:27pm

You guys rock, thanks for all the nice comments!

Big Cow says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Horray. Very cool! Love the expressions.

Nizar89 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Amazing production, very beautiful and polished, but even now i don't understand what you're supposed to do in this mini game.

ajmalr says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Wow, this is a great submission, love the art!

elliottd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Haha, that's a great entry. great music, sound, and visuals. very cute. I hate two button menus though!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:15am

Yeah, I think if I continue to work on it, I'll be adding in another button. It just makes sense. It was cool as a jam restriction, but not great for gameplay.

RevelBase says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:19am

Great visuals and cute animations :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:38pm

Ah this is adorable! I really like it, it is very well done and polished. Great work!

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Really nice to play. A very good idea !

mlepage says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Wow this is incredible. The polish is amazing. Great job Tony!

Pusty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:07pm

This looks to polished.. amazing! This brings back memories haha :D 5/5 Overall

OnionBlaze says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:07am

This is really cute! Love the graphics, the music; Everything!

gloim says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:12am

super cute and super fun! will keep this :)

FiSilva says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 12:33pm

Very cute and nice take on both themes

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]