Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Epic ooze escape

by speciesUnknown - Compo Entry

Escape the ooze, kill the boss - the ooze will slowly grow and creep toward you, don't stay on it too long, or get stabbed by an orc or goblin.

So far, I only know of one person who has reached the end - there are 3 solutions to defeat the boss that I can think of, one being to have all your hitpoints, all the best weapons, and be incredibly lucky. The other two are more subtle. Look at the wall structure around the boss.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#244Innovation3.55
#335Overall3.42
#344Fun3.33
#549Humor2.23
#571Mood2.83
#742Theme3.36
#782Graphics2.47

Comments

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:31pm

This was a neat little game and surprisingly fun. Kind of reminds me of a top down ascii version of risk of rain because you pit my natural desire to wanna collect loot against completing the level before getting overwhelmed. I thought for a moment that what would have put it over the edge innovation wise might be some unfolding mechanics (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ptk93AyICH0)-- a shop where the ooze isnt there and I could buy things or some light narrative elements. Also potion drops or something to heal you early on might be nice. Good job!

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:46am

Really cool game. It's a neat roguelike but I only wish there were better controls.

kmakai says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:34pm

This was a lot of fun! The encroaching ooze was a really smart way to give a simple game a lot more depth. The controls were a little cumbersome for me but I got used to it. Great job!

YinYin says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:37pm

I wish I could enjoy these ascii dungeon crawlers to play enough for a reasonable review. I've already tried a couple of times some days ago, but it always ends with me barely reaching the second screen and eventually quitting with a 'nope'. :c

Neil says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Always like me some roguelike, especially with scary growing ooze.

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Unique experience on rogue likes, I liked it!
Maybe there could also be some treasure chest etc. (if there were any I didnt notice em)
Wish other rogue likes would add this kind of gameplays :)

intXparts says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Awesome game, I really enjoyed it! Unfortunately I could never escape the ooze, but I went out like a boss: 0's = ooze
####################
000 $$ @ $ $ $ 00
####################

justinooncx says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Ooooh, an old school dungeon crawler! The growing ooze adds a whole new dimension to the gameplay, which is nice! Also, curse that minotaur...

luysse_l says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:25pm

nice idea, fun game :)

Xanjos says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Pretty simple but fun old school roguelike. I really like how the growing ooze adds a lot more depth in the game.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:30pm

What I really want to know is, did anybody beat the game? Other than myself of course, I think it may have been too hard.

lucentbeam says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Nice game! Very creative mechanic for a roguelike. As was stated, it would be nice to have touched up controls - going between keyboard and mouseclick for looting was a little cumbersome.

WakeOfLuna says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Not a big fan of roguelike crawlers unfortunately, but can definately see the appeal. Got whooped by a big bad creature in the end. Well created, just not my kind of thing

Chewie says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Controls aren't intuitive but otherwise it was fun to play

Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Its good to be getting so much feedback - I'll find out how the controls can be improved, I plan to do a lot more ascii roguelikes in future LD's and controls are the hardest part with a roguelike.

loxo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Nice idea, I like the ooze. Would be great if there were some audio and more to do in the game.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:19pm

I think this is the first proper roguelike I've seen in a Ludum Dare - nice.

Pretty simple idea, but it's very well executed here. I had a lot of fun with this.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:03am

rjhelms, im glad you agree with me that a "proper" roguelike is ascii art - theres nothing wrong with the modern variations but I wanted to get back to the roots.

Etag says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:03am

Cool game! I really dig the mechanics, you need to think about every move and where you might get stuck behind 5 orcs and slime!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:22pm

Thanks guys, I've seen a few games like this - particularly this one, which is also a "proper" roguelike in my eyes.

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=64696

Bring back proper roguelikes to LD!

Wevel says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:48am

Really fun game, took a while to figure out what each symbol means but after that it was very good

thynnmas says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:01pm

Very enjoyable, although it took me a far too long to realize > was the stairway.

Frenchie says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 9:43pm

I thought this was a great entry! I haven't seen someone do an ASCII dungeon crawler for LD yet :)

I had a lot of fun playing this, although I was unable to beat it. I think the biggest thing missing is some kind of feedback for the player. After a while, I got tired of reading the same text over again and would have liked some different visual cues if possible. Perhaps one thing you could do is cut down on excess text - like "A goblin moves towards you. A goblin moves towards you. A goblin moves towards you." Maybe change the color on text where you're taking damage and giving damage?

Anyways, nice entry, had fun playing it. Wasn't able to beat it though (died on screen 5 or so). Maybe add a way to heal or something? Seems like right now there's no incentive to fight enemies

Dec 31, 2015 @ 3:36pm

@Frenchy, thanks, some good ideas there - after I finish my current project I think this might be a good side project, I have a few ideas, mostly down to player communication

1) When monsters speak, draw a speech bubble, with onomatopoeia for humor
2) Colour the text when things happen
3) Display damage on screen near the creature that was damaged

jigalx says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:12pm

Nice, I liked it! Like rogue-like version of Creeper World!

Jan 2, 2016 @ 4:54am

@jigalx did you actually complete it? So far I've not heard anybody say they managed to complete the whole thing.

rzuf says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:52am

Roguelike! \:D/
I am also happy to announce that I menaged to complete the game. And it was fun! Actually I didn't kill the Minotaur (is this possible anyways?), just trapped him in the room and left him to dissolve in the ooze. Felt really good. :3 Oh, and I hade 1 HP left when I arrived on the last floor.
Controls were a bit... urgh. But I understand that incorporating mouse was prolly due to time constraints.
This is a turn-based game, but the labyrinth floor was actually stressful. Well done.
Great entry!

Jan 6, 2016 @ 1:24pm

@rzuf
Im glad to hear somebody finally report that they completed it - you found one of the solutions to defeat the minotaur, congratulations.

You may be the only person other than myself to complete the game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]