Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Another Dragon

by GeorgeBroussard - Compo Entry

On an alien planet you must fight the dragon that grows ever nearer.

--

CONTROLS: Left/Right arrows + Space

The game checkpoints at 3 places (start, mid point where it gets hard, and boss). There are only 7 screens to play through.

As always I wish I had more time for polish. It's not a deep or complex game but it has a lot of variety and is a complete thought. The game doesn't handhold you and I deliberately tried to keep interface and text off screen. It doesn't tell you to his Space to restart a level, for example, because I feel that's obvious and intuitive. Your controls change up slightly for the boss. Shouldn't be hard to discover.

I put about 27 hours of work into this (Fri (midnight-6am), Saturday (6pm-8am), Sun (2pm-8pm).

Obviously influenced by the great Eric Chahi and his seminal work, Another World (Out of this World).

Hope you enjoy it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#91Mood3.74
#95Graphics4.06
#248Audio3.15
#287Humor2.79
#292Overall3.48
#320Fun3.37
#752Innovation2.65
#939Theme2.38

Comments

madjackmcmad says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:31am

Beautiful homage to OoTW. Nailed the simple style too. And I love the heroic concept that even us folks with a little too much belly can still slay dragons.

eigenbom says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:41am

Tough, stylish and entertaining. :D

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:16am

Really nice homage to Another World. Definitely really nice looking, and the ground biters are certainly as tough as the original ones. The game is a bit frustrating tough, especially with the long distance between the checkpoints and the random boulders. Regardless of that, fine work for two days.

Also this went through my head after dying numerous times : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pwNaJAH_8-U. It's Heart of Darkness not Another World, but the games are similar.

Hjalte500 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:21am

FUUUUUU! Jumping is just like in the old days. Game feels amazingly whole and coherent. Also its beautiful! How did you make that screen effect?

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:21am

I wash checkpointing every level but it felt too easy. But I may revert it if people feel that way. really the 1st 4 levels are easy to get through (1st checkpoint). It can literally take 20 seconds. Levels 5/6 are tougher but are in their own checkpoint. And level 7 (boss) is his own checkpoint. So really, the boulders are too hard. Maybe I will slow them a tad more or something to help. Thanks for the feedback.

RadMcCool says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:35am

Really enjoyed that. Checkpoints were annoying a couple of times but i got into the flow of the game and got through to the end. :D

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:47am

@RadMcCool -glad you liked it. there's a thin line between challenge and annoyance :)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:36am

Wow that cave level is frustrating but the mood was spot on.

edriavw says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:02am

love the graphics, stuck on the boulders T_T

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:08am

re: Boulders...patience usually wins. It's 2 shorts levels. Once you make it past 2 of them you are checkpointed.

Thanks for sticking with it. I hope most ppl finish the game.

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:09am

You nailed the 'Another World' feel. Reminds me so much of that game, everything is spot on, the graphics, the challenge, the atmosphere. Perfect.

Short, but due to it's difficulty, I think it was a very good length.

Overall, this was the perfect little LudumDare game, I loved it, nice job!

sanojian says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:52am

The screen texture/shimmer is stunning. A really challenging game. Those little mouthalumps are unpredictable buggers.

Pikace says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:58am

Going throught the 1st checkpoint was challenging (not used to this kind of jump anymore :D), after that, finished it in one shot.
Nice hommage

esayitch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:35pm

Falling boulders are a massive spike in difficulty, but the game is gorgeous and an amazing throwback to a bygone era. Really excellent entry, could have maybe used a sombre background tune.

Good luck in the compo!

tanis says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Beautiful homage to Another World! :D
It's tough but it's definitely fun. It took me a while to understand where the main character was colliding though ;)
Well done!

rogual says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Beautiful. Couldn't get past the boulders/eat-you bugs screen, but I would have loved to see the rest of it.

Was expecting a similar control style to AW, but not really a bad thing that you diverged from it. controls work great as they are.

George says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Amazing graphics!

BuffaloPhil says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:48pm

6o's Trek meets Out of this World. Loved it

veverichka says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Nailed the graphics!

hexagore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:02pm

This is a really nice homage. Probably slightly depressing for Eric to think how much of Another World you implemented in 2 days in 2015 versus how long it took him to make that game :) Ridiculous really.

Shares the same brutal difficulty too. Love the visuals, sounds are spot on too.

dos says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:14pm

Fell in love with jumping animation <3

daveh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:54am

Really enjoyed it. It's very polished. I found the checkpointing to be fine. The first section was the hardest for me; took me a couple dozen tries. I managed the cavern on the first try, and the dragon in two tries. Loved the atmosphere; you managed to capture that AW feeling perfectly.

LandoSystems says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:07am

I like the style and the way it builds anticipation, its a clever use of the theme. I died a lot though, the forward velocity of the jump feels a little stunted and took a while to get used to. It was really satisfying to see the blob creatures get smashed by the rocks, because fuck those guys. The end fight was solid too. Great work overall!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:59am

very well done - love the vintage tv look - nice simple mini game

SteveSalmond says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:27am

Wow, you really nailed it this time George! Awesome work all round :D

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:34am

My favorite part is the retro visual style. Other than that difficulty of challenge is right. I think it could be longer though but I realize you had to polish it to look nice like this. Clean entry, I like it!

TeamEagle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:46pm

Another world much? Haha, it was a bit hard tho.

maunovaha says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:36pm

Well made game, I was a bit scared at first when I noticed that dying goes back to the start. But luckily it switched as the game progressed.. other than that, good mood/audio/graphics.. fighting the dragon was a bit easy, but fun. good job! :)

local306 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:11pm

Nice use of shaders to give it the retro feel. Controls could be a little more responsive though.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:04am

Really nice presentation! Controls are hard but you will get used to it after a while.
I don't know if this is intended to be a 100% homage to Another World, but the difficulty curve is too steap in my opinion. It might scare players off.

Great graphics, a bit too hard.

Well done!

Jesse Freeman says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:50am

Really love the graphics. Once you get used to the way the character jumps it's good but I died a lot. I really like the multi-screen approach, very nice!

salmonmoose says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:59am

Loved the original Another World, and this captured a lot of the style.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:49am

Not bad. I think the collision boxes can be reduced :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:35am

great retro-style game. Good feeling too it. But why kill the dragon? It didn't do anything :(

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:37am

@GoodwolfStudio...because it's there and for any video game to be good, something needs to die! :) I only regret I ran out of time to put in blood splatter.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Really tough but still fun to play, great graphics.

newbeings says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Awesome graphics - really nice. Made me think of Another world and Don't look Back. Loved the boss battle!

Split82 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:21pm

Awesome job. Really enjoyed your game. Nice game design!

Paul Sinnett says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:04am

Great work! I love the fuzzy TV effect!

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:16am

I finished it and it was really good. I did like the homage to AW(OoTW), one of my favorite games from back in the day. You really should create an extended version of this game and put it on steam for a couple of bucks. I really think your LD games are getting better and better with each LD. :D

andyman404 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:39am

Awesome pixelart. Great work for 27 hours!

blackmagic says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:06am

Yeah, i kill the dragon! Wouhou! Great hommage to Mr Chahi! The respawn was a good idea and the boss battle also! With better graphics and animations this game might have been a true roller coaster !

pjimmy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:49pm

awesome, the visuals are super, and you've emulated the spirit of Another World superbly, well done :)
however, the theme gets a little lost. I understand the concept of the dragon growing nearer, but still, I would have liked something less ethereal. I grew up playing your games, it's awesome you're still making them! keep it up ;)

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Gave 5/5 for almost everything! Had so much fun playing this, especially slaying the dragon. Thank you!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:00am

Absolutely great job!

ajopart says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:53am

Well made game. Nice graphics. Must be tired but I don't see the link with the theme "growing". Never mind, congrats

recursor says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:32pm

This is a very enjoyable game that is not too hard but not too easy. The old school graphics and screen look is great and everything goes together very nicely. Best thing I've played so far. Excellent work!

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:09pm

I really like the visuals. The filter over everything gave it a nice texture.

Clavus says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:11pm

Short, but polished. Didn't do much with the theme but it was pretty nice.

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:41pm

Brilliant tribute to Another World, great artstyle and clever strategy to beat the final boss! Great job!

Yakka says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Just awesome! Tintin x Another World, what could possibly go wrong? Not related to the themes, but who cares? :p

scorched says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:20am

Really reminded the Another World, well done!
Wish there was music and the dragon death animation was more vivid :-)

Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:42am

@scorched - Gotta save something for the sequel! :)

wilbefast says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:43pm

I slew the Dragon, yay ^^ Only died like a million times :P

Nice homage :) The graphical effect is nice too. I really think the rocks need to follow some sort of pattern though. Another World was super hard but you could learn it by rote eventually. I felt in the cave sections that I made it through mainly because I just got lucky with the random number generator. I did play it till the end though :)

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:00pm

I like the 80s screen effect and the retro movement was no problem for me as I'm old. Dem kids clamoring for more checkpoints just don't know...
Great mood and sound effects were great, how did you make the dragon squeal?

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:22pm

When I saw the pixelated dragons, hero, and monsters with hexagonal pixel filter, I felt intrigued. If you continue to develop this, on the Chrome with an older Windows AlienWare M11x, when the frame rate was choppy and I couldn't jump the second maw on the ground in the second screen after a dozen attempts, I felt discouraged.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Pssst - you are in today's LUDUM DARE TO BELIEVE! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KW3u_aFLXVA

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:06pm

The screen effect is great, I appreciate that there were checkpoints!

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Great look!

Smirnov48 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:35am

The end is epic! A lot of fun and humor! Good job!

Frenchie says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:05am

Game looks fantastic! I'm glad there were checkpoints or I'd be here all night!

davekalina says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:55pm

Super cool tribute to one of the all-time great adventure games; really nails the mood of the original.

FiSilva says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 10:58am

Nice game, I liked the different challenges and the mechanics for the boss fight. I think the difficulty was just right, not too hard, not too easy.
Also nice visuals.

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 11:59pm

Interestingly I didn't really like this game much at all. Dodging randomly appearing boulders and jumping over monster things didn't really seem very interesting.

And the theme?

Maybe I need to have played Another World to understand this game?

Docjekyll says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:47am

Nice, short experience. Very satisfying. :-D

Jeasonfire says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 7:57pm

The game looks very nice and seems quite polished, but the controls are a bit iffy. I imagine I'm missing some throwback to a very old game where the controls were clunky or something, but such are the woes of young people.

managore says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:55pm

Gorgeous homage to Another World with a nice variety of challenges and a challenging but rewarding difficulty! There is a heck of a lot of polish in this game and it was a joy to play!

ViKing Games says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:16am

Loved the graphics, especially the little details like the screen effects, enemies being squished by the boulders, and spears staying in the dragon. The sound effects were great, and for some reason I didn't mind the lack of music, not even noticing until I started typing this.

I haven't played Another World (unlike every other commenter here, haha), but I enjoyed it anyway. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]